Census - Decennial

Special federal census schedules can provide valuable information for historians and genealogists. They include:

• Industrial (manufacturing) schedules, which include information on name of owner, location, number of employees, type and quantity of equipment, articles manufactured, and production figures
• Agriculture schedules, which can be used to document land holdings of individuals
• Social statistics schedules, which include brief histories and statistical information for churches, societies, clubs, and other groups as well as names and locations of cemeteries
• Mortality schedules, which list deaths for the twelve months preceding the date of the census
• "Defective, dependent, and delinquent" schedules which include information on "deaf-mutes", "blind", "insane", "idiots", "homeless children", "inhabitants in prison", and "pauper and indigent inhabitants"

The following special federal census schedules for Connecticut are available for use at the State Library. Researchers wishing to consult original volumes that have not been microfilmed should consult the Rules and Procedures for Researchers Using Archival Records and Secured Collections Materials. A list of Professional Genealogists Familiar with Connecticut State Library Collections is available should you be unable to visit the library personally. 

	Industry	Agriculture	Social Statistics	Mortality
1810	None located at CSL	Not taken
1820 Microfilm	Mfilm 317.46 C76c 4i Roll 4
Original Volumes	None located at CSL	Not taken
1830	Not taken	Not taken
1840	None Located at CSL	None Located at CSL
1850 Microfilm	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 7i	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 7a		Mfilm 317.46 M841m Reel 1
Original Volumes	317.46 fC76c 7i Vault 11	317.46 C76c 7th/a Vault 11	317.46 fc76c 7th/s Vault 11	317.46 fC76c 7th/m 1850 Vault 11
1860 Microfilm	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 8thi	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 8a		Mfilm 317.46 M841m Reel 1
Original Volumes	317.46 fC76c 8th i Vault 11	317.46 fC76c 8th a Vol 1*/Vol 2** Vault 11	317.46 8th-9th s 1860-1870 Vault 11	317.46 8th m Vault 11

* Volume 1 contains all counties except Windham and Tolland
** Volume 2 contains Windham and Tolland counties

	Industry	Agriculture	Social Statistics	Mortality
1870 Microfilm	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 9th i			Mfilm 317.46 M841m Reel 1
Original	317.46 fC76c 9th i Vault 11	317.46 fC76c 9th/a vol1*/vol2* Vault 11	317.46 fC76c 8th-9th/s 1869-1870 Vault 11***	317.46 fC76c 9th m Vault 11

* Volume 1 contains towns A-N
** Volume 2 contains towns O-W
*** 1870 Social Statistics schedules show only summaries at county level

1880	Industry	Agriculture	Defective, Dependent & Delinquent	Mortality
Microfilm	Mfilm 317.46 fC76c 10 ma			Mfilm 317.46 M841m Reel 2
Original Volumes *	No call-number Vault 11	No call-number Vault 11	No call-number Vault 11	No call-number Vault 11

* Volume 1 contains Fairfield and Hartford Counties; Volume 2 contains Litchfield, Middlesex, and New Haven Counties; and Volume 3 contains Tolland and Windham Counties.

Town and Private Censuses

Military Census