Apportionment Redistricting - Census - Decennial - LibGuides Home at Connecticut State Library.

Apportionment - Connecticut

2021 Redistricting Project (CGA)
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) Reapportionment Committee page.
more...less...
Links to 2011 archived pages.

Legal Challenges to Redistricting Plans - OLR Report 2021-R-0012
Call Number: Online access through our library catalog.
Publication Date: [2021]
Office of Legislative Research (OLR) Report. Summarizes court decisions concerning challenges to Connecticut redistricting plans. Updates a 2011 report.

Changing Connecticut's Redistricting Process - OLR Report 2018-R-0329
Online access through our library catalog.
Office of Legislative Research (OLR) report. Discusses Connecticut's current redistricting process, including who is responsible for redrawing the district lines, and whether the state could change this process before redistricting occurs after the 2020 census.

2020 Census Redistricting Data Program - OLR 2016-R-0250
Call Number: Online access through our library catalog
Publication Date: [2016]
Office of Legislative Research (OLR) report.
Discusses the 2020 Census Redistricting Data Program
Connecticut's Redistricting Procedures and Deadlines - OLR Report 2016-R-0268
Call Number: Online access through our library catalog
Publication Date: [2016]
Office of Legislative Research (OLR) Report. Discusses Connecticuts redistricting procedures and deadlines.

Constitution of the State of Connecticut. 1965
The Constitution of 1965 and its subsequent amendments comprise the current Connecticut Constititution.
Maximum Permissible Deviation - Attorney General's Opinion
Discusses "the maximum permissible deviation from strict mathematical equality courts have allowed in reapportionment plans." Attorney General's Opinion, Attorney General, Richard Blumenthal, January 26, 2001.
OLR Report 2012-R-0015 - 2011 Redistricting Plan and Municipal Voting Districts
Online through our library catalog
Office of Legislative Research (OLR) report Discusses whether there are any steps a municipality can take to change the 2011 Plan of Redistricting for the State Senate or State House of Representatives after the Reapportionment Commission approves it.
Connecticut General Assembly Redistricting Project 2011
This is the page, from the CGA site, is about Connecticut redistricting and includes archive of Connecticut 2000 also.
more...less...
Links to: maps; legal authority; court cases; reports; archives; and much more
State Legislative Districts (Census)
Census Bureau: "Each tab contains information specific to the year these state legislative districts were first in effect. Typically, new products are generated only for state legislative districts with changes."
Redistricting Commissions: State Legislative Plans (NCSL)
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) site: "The information on this webpage refers only to commissions used to draw state legislative maps."
2020 Census Redistricting Data and Change Since 2010 Census
From DataHaven: "This is an Excel file created by DataHaven with an overview of 2020 Census data for the state, counties, and Connecticut towns (from the U.S. Census Bureau 2020 Census Redistricting File released August 12, 2021) and DataHaven's calculations of changes in population within each group since the 2010 Census."
2020 Town Population Changes
Quick map of basic population change, created by one of our librarians.

Apportionment - U.S. Census

Map of apportionment of U.S. House based on 2010 Census

Apportionment of the U.S. House of Representative…

based on the 2010 Census

Apportionment

According to U.S. Census Bureau "Apportionment is one of the most important functions of the decennial census. Apportionment measures the population so that seats in the U.S. House of Representatives can be correctly apportioned among the states. Until the middle of the twentieth century, Congress enacted new apportionment legislation following almost every census."

The 1960 U.S. Census resulted in reapportionment of Connecticut's State legislature. In 2001, the Reapportionment Commission created five Congressional districts due to national population shifts identified in the 2000 census.

2020 Census : What is Apportionment?
Census Bureau site: "This video explains how apportionment works — the process of distributing the 435 memberships, or seats, in the U.S. House of Representatives among the 50 states based on the apportionment population counts from the 2020 Census." With links to additional information.
2020 Census : Apportionment Results
Decennial Census P.L. 94-171 Redistricting Data
Census Bureau page with information on redistricting based on 2020 Decennial Census.
Congressional Apportionment
U.S. Census Bureau.
Includes links to visualize historical apportionment data.
Apportionment - U.S. Census Bureau
Census Bureau. Site description: Includes "a collection of legislation dealing with apportionment, as well as an explanation of the methods of apportionment that have been used to allocate seats in the U.S. House of Representatives."
Methods of Apportionment
U.S. Census Bureau. "Following each decennial census, the seats of the House of Representatives are reapportioned among the states according to their population. There are several different methods of apportionment, listed below, each of which allocates seats in a slightly different way."
Computing Apportionment
U.S. Census Bureau explanation of how apportionment is computed.
My Congressional District
Site description: "My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP)."
more...less...
Site: "The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level. My Congressional District is powered by ACS and CBP data through the Census Application Programming Interface (API)."
Historical Apportionment Data (1910-2020)
Apportionment is the process of dividing the 435 memberships, or seats, in the House of Representatives among the 50 states based on the population figures collected during the decennial census.
109th - 112th Congressional District Maps
Census Bureau: "The congressional district boundaries are the same for the 112th, 111th, 110th and 109th Congress of the United States except for Georgia and Texas which changed between the 109th and 110th Congresses. New maps for the 110th Congress (2007-2009) were created only for the states with congressional district boundary changes."
Historical Apportionment Data Map
Census site: "This interactive tool enables users to view more than 10 decades of apportionment and population data."
Redistricting Data Program Management
Census Bureau: "Required by law, the Redistricting Data Program provides states the opportunity to specify the small geographic areas for which they wish to receive decennial population totals for the purpose of reapportionment and redistricting....These tabs provide information, by decennial, about the materials and processes for participation by the state appointed non-partisan liaisons to the program."
more...less...
Census Bureau: "Under the provisions of Title 13, Section 141(c) of the United States Code (U.S.C.), the Secretary of Commerce (Secretary) is required to provide the ‘‘officers or public bodies having initial responsibility for the legislative apportionment or districting of each state ...’’ with the opportunity to specify geographic areas (e.g., blocks, voting districts) for which they wish to receive decennial census population counts for the purpose of reapportionment or redistricting. By April 1 of the year following the decennial census, the Secretary is required to furnish the state officials or their designees with population counts for American Indian areas, counties, cities, census blocks, and state-specified congressional, legislative, and voting districts."
Redistricting Data Program
Census Bureau
2020 Census : DATA GEMS: How to Access and Visualize 2020 Census Apportionment Results
Census tutorial video. Site: "The U.S. Census Bureau released the 2020 Census resident population count and apportionment results. This Data Gem will teach you how to access and visualize these data, along with historical census counts from 1910 to 2020, using the Historical Apportionment Map."

Other Institutions

Apportionment and Redistricting Process for the U.S. House of Representatives. October 10, 2019. CRS Report R45951
Congressional Research Service (CRS) report.
2020 Census : Apportionment and Redistricting Following the 2020 Census. Updated April 27, 2021. CRS Insight IN11360
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Insight article.
Integrated 2020 Redistricting Data (PL94-171)
From Cornell Center for Social Sciences: "On August 12, 2021, the Census Bureau released the Public Law 94-171 data, also known as Redistricting Data, in four (4) parts per state. Users who want to have the complete redistricting dataset for a state in one file have to integrate these four parts of the Census Bureau files."
"We've integrated the four parts and made them available in convenient ready-to-use formats -- SAS, SPSS, STATA, and CSV. We've also made available SAS, STATA, and SPSS programs to read the CSV files, label the variables, and assign variables their correct type (as per the data dictionary)."
Constitutionality of Excluding Aliens from the Census for Apportionment and Redistricting Purposes. January 20, 2010 – April 13, 2012 CRS Report R41048
Congressional Research Service (CRS) report.
Webinar - Redistricting 101 (NCSL)
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) video : "Redistricting is the process of redrawing state legislative and congressional district boundaries every 10 years following the decennial U.S. Census. To help gear up for the upcoming redistricting cycle, we will be offering a redistricting 101 webinar on the five W’s of redistricting: What is redistricting? Why do states draw lines? When do states draw lines? Who draws the lines? And How do states draw lines?"
All About Redistricting
From Loyola Law School site: "All About Redistricting is Professor Justin Levitt‘s guide to drawing electoral district lines: a one-stop shop for information about statewide redistricting, for state and federal office. It reviews the substantive considerations that go into redistricting, the various entities and institutions involved in the process, and the rules, progress and litigation in each state."

Historic

A Bill for an Apportionment of Representatives Among the Several States, According to the First Enumeration; and Making Provision for another Enumeration, and an Apportionment of Representatives Thereon, to Compose, the House of Representatives
Library of Congress