Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census by
LibGuides: "Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census represents a unique and definitive collaboration among more than 80 leading experts on all aspects of the U.S. Census. Drawing from academia, government, and the private sector, CQ Press and the editorial board have commissioned more than 100 concise, definitive articles on the decennial census and related topics. Subjects covered include: Content of the census. What the census tracks, and when it began to ask specific questions; how questions are formulated, and factors that affect which questions are asked; other types of censuses (housing, economic, and agricultural). Procedure. How the census is planned, advertised, and conducted; state and local involvement; how results are tabulated and stored. Uses of the census. Publications, databases, and electronic products that provide census information for statistical and demographic research; archiving of census records and genealogical use of census schedules. Census history. Census taking in America from colonial times to the present and at each census; population trends over time, including changes in family composition; racial and ethnic groups; and the social, economic, and educational status of the population. Politics of the census. Effect of census data on congressional districts and funding of federal programs; controversies: from slavery and the three-fifths compromise in 1790, to the use of statistical sampling in 2000. Other features include a 16-page photo collection that visually shows the census evolution, and an extensive glossary of terms. An appendix of useful information and a detailed index round out the volume. Most articles include references for further reading; many also point the reader to online resources for census information."
Indexes (or indices) list what information may be found within a certain resource.
While many are full text, many are not full text and require the additional step of looking up information listed within the resource(s).
Dubester's U. S. Census Bibliography with Sudocs Class Numbers and Indexes
Supplemental entries and three indexes to Henry J. Dubester's standard bibliography of historical U.S. census publications, Catalog of United States census publications, 1790-1945.
Includes indexes.
See also the Library of Congress (LOC) guide:
The Connecticut State Library does not subscribe to all the commercial databases listed on other libraries' research guides, so our patrons may not have access. Links to these guides are for additional research.