Government Information
Reference Services
These are a few suggested databases - many of which will require a card specifically from the Connecticut State Library (CSL) (they will have an icon of a blue library card). See also our complete list of databases.
Click the info icon (black circle with an "i") for a description of the database. Contact us if you need help with databases - best to get your CSL card first.
Biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, tribes and culture areas. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
With more than 900 unique titles and 900,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Milestone Documents in American History : exploring the primary sources that shaped America
by
Tip:
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.