LibGuides Home: Self-Help Legal Resources by Nolo: Nolo Books in Print

Contact Us

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Selected Electronic Resources in Law

Fastcase Includes primary law from all 50 states as well as treatise libraries on elder law, employment law, estate planning, evidence law, family law, insurance law, personal injury law, real estate law, remedies, and more.
User help at https://www.fastcase.com/support/#documentation
HeinOnline Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview
Legal Information Reference Center **Starting from Friday, July 26, 2024, and for the following 10 days, there will be a pause in the availability of new or updated content for EBSCO products.** Provides online full text of top consumer legal reference books addressing a wide-range of legal issues including business & corporations, family affairs & divorce, immigration & travel, money & financial planning, patents, copyrights & trademarks, property & real estate, rights & disputes, and wills & estate planning. Many of these titles are published by Nolo, an established provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Westlaw Thomson Reuters Westlaw (formerly WestlawNext) offers current and historical state and federal statutes, case law materials, periodicals, law reviews, and other legal resources. Coverage: 50 States; District of Columbia; U.S. Supreme Court; U.S. Courts of Appeal; Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

View more...
Click to see a list of all law databases.

Selected Nolo Books in Print at the Connecticut State Library

This list highlights selected Nolo publications located in the Law Reference Area.

For additional books, please see our catalog search box and/or instructions for online access using your library card.

Every Landlord's Legal Guide by Marcia Stewart, Janet Portman, and Ralph Warner
Call Number: KF9900 .E84
Publication Date: 2006, 8th edition
This guide addresses legal issues that confront residential landlords, including rent, discrimination, landlord liability, tenants, privacy rights, security deposits, etc. Sample leases and rental agreements are included. The most current edition is available online.
Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business by Fred S. Steingold
Call Number: KF9900 .L44
Publication Date: 2006, 9th edition
This legal guide answers questions that continually come up in running a small business including the start-up process, negotiating a lease, representing yourself in small claims court, etc. The most current edition is available online.
Neighbor Law by Emily Doskow and Cora Jordan
Call Number: KF9900 .N45
Publication Date: 2011, 7th edition
This easy-to-read guide discusses laws about common neighbor disputes including noise, view obstructions, fences, trees, boundaries, water runoff, and many more. The most current edition is available online.
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability by David A. Morton III
Call Number: KF9900 .S63
Publication Date: 2014, 7th edition
This guide, written by a former Chief Medical Consultant for the Social Security Administration, is for both first-time applicants and existing recipients of Social Security disability. The most current edition is available online.
Represent Yourself in Court by Paul Bergman and Sara Berman
Call Number: KF9900 .R47
Publication Date: 2013, 8th edition
Learn about acting as your own lawyer in this guide that discusses court filings, depositions, interrogatories, courtroom procedures, evidence, witnesses, and many other topics. The most current edition is available online.
U. S. Immigration Made Easy by Ilona Bray
Call Number: KF9900 .U88
Publication Date: 2011, 15th edition
This book discusses ways to legally enter and live in the United States. It explains how the immigration system works, and addresses qualifications for visas and citizenship. It also includes information about official forms.
Your Rights in the Workplace by Barbara Kate Repa with the editors of Nolo Press
Call Number: KF9900 .Y68
Publication Date: 2010, 9th edition
This handbook for employers and employees discusses workplace laws for all 50 states. It covers general rules for hiring through loss of employment and many topics in between. The most current edition is available online.