Skip to main content
This guide lists selected electronic and print resources for biographical research of the Connecticut legal community. This is not a complete list of our biographical research materials. Please search our catalog or contact a librarian for assistance with locating additional resources.
Law & Legislative Reference Services
The reading room is open during the library's regular hours.
The Law Reference Desk is staffed :
Tuesday, 9-12 and 2-4
Wednesday - Friday, 10-12 and 2-4
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Selected Connecticut State Library Resources
The Bench and Bar of Litchfield County, Connecticut 1709-1909
Call Number: F102.L6 K3
Publication Date: 1909
This book includes numerous illustrations and biographical information for the bench and bar of Litchfield County, including lawyers, judges, signers of the Declaration of Independence, and scholars at the Litchfield Law School.
CBIA Connecticut General Assembly Directory
Call Number: JK3330 .C38
Publication Date: 1969 - present
This directory is produced by the Connecticut Business & Industry Association. In addition to directory information, it includes photographs of state senators and state representatives for a given year, as well as photographs and biographies for the current constitutional officers. A set of these directories is kept in the Law & Legislative Reference vault. Please see a law librarian for access.
Connecticut Judicial Branch Directory
Call Number: Ju150 s
Publication Date: 1982 - present
This annual directory includes contact information for all Connecticut Judicial Branch offices, as well as lists of all justices, judges, state referees, and family support magistrates in a given year. A set of these directories are kept in the Law & Legislative Reference vault. Please see a law librarian for access. 2009 - present are also available electronically at the link above.
Connecticut Legislative Guide
Call Number: Conn Doc G25 co
Publication Date: 1979 - present
This annual guide includes alphabetic and numeric rolls for the House of Representatives and the Senate, legislative committee membership information, rules of the General Assembly, and contact information for various Legislative offices. A set of these guides is kept in the Law & Legislative Reference vault. Please see a law librarian for access. 1998 - present are also available electronically at the link above.
Connecticut Legislative History and Souvenir
Call Number: JK3331 .T24
Publication Date: 1897 - 1912
Taylor's Legislative History and Souvenir of Connecticut includes portraits and biographical sketches of state officers, senators, representatives, clerks, chaplains, etc. It has member lists and group photos of legislative committees. These books are located on the second level of the library stacks. Selected years are available electronically at the link above.
Connecticut State Register and Manual
This annual publication of the Secretary of the State includes biographies and photographs of the U. S. President, Connecticut Elected State Officers, U. S. Senators & Representatives from Connecticut, Connecticut General Assembly Leaders, Connecticut Supreme Court Justices, Connecticut Appellate Court Judges, and much more. They are shelved with Connecticut Documents on the fifth floor of the library stacks. Early years are in the State Archives. Selected years are available electronically at the link above.
The Judicial and Civil History of Connecticut
Call Number: F93 .L86 1895 (available in print and online)
Publication Date: 1895
Chapter IX, Executive Officers, lists Connecticut governors, deputy and lieutenant-governors, secretaries, treasurers, and comptrollers from 1639-1895. Chapter X, Higher Courts, lists superior court judges from 1711-1894. A Register of King’s and State’s Attorneys (1705-1894) begins on page 160. The Biographical Register of the Bench and Bar begins on page 199.
Pocket Manual: Roll, Committees, and Rules of the General Assembly of Connecticut
Call Number: Conn Doc R259
These manuals preceded the current Connecticut Legislative Guide and include lists of senators and representatives, seating charts, committee information, and the rules of the General Assembly. Pocket manuals from 1889 - 1981 (missing 1891 & 1951) are kept in the Law & Legislative Reference vault. Please see a law librarian for access.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478