LibGuides Home: Divorce Records for Genealogy Research: Divorce Indexes

Divorce Indexes

Breaking News! FamilySearch recently digitized original records for Fairfield, 1868-1941, Hartford, 1864-1953, and New London, 1857-1974, held in the CT State Archives. You will find links to these records on the Digitized CT State Archives Divorce Records tab.

You will also find links to digitized divorces through the Divorce Records by County Tab. These are divorces that were previously microfilmed from the CT State Archives.

State-wide indexes

Connecticut Divorce Index, 1968-1997
Searchable for free through the FamilySearch website. Contact the Court for a copy of the record.
Divorce Records Entered in Early Connecticut Superior Court Record Books, 1716-1798
A General Index to the Private Laws and Special Acts of the State of Connecticut
Many pre-1900 divorces were granted by the CT Legislature by a Special Act. Use the index to search for a name.
Lotteries & divorces, 1st series, 1755-1789
Part of the "Connecticut Archives" Series, this subject Includes divorces that were granted by petition to the General Assembly.
Lotteries & divorces, 2nd series, 1750-1820

Indexes by County

Connecticut Divorces : Superior Court Records for the Counties of Litchfield, 1752-1922 and Hartford, 1740-1849
Contains an index to and abstracts of divorces held in the Papers By Subject Collection of Litchfield and Hartford Superior Courts. Please call or email us and we can check for a name.
Connecticut Divorces : Superior Court Records for the Counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910
Contains an index to and abstracts of divorces held in the Papers By Subject Collection of New London, Tolland and Windham Superior Courts. Please call or email us and we can check for a name.
Fairfield. Index for 1798-1808 & 1825-77 Divorce Judgments found in Fairfield County, Superior Court Records
Downloading the file is the easiest way to view the information in the index.
Fairfield. Index for 1868-1941 Divorces found in Fairfield County, Connecticut Superior Court Divorce Record Volumes
Downloading the file is the easiest way to view the information in the index.
Hartford. Index for 1798-1890 Divorce Judgments found in Hartford County, Superior Court Civil Case Records
Hartford County Superior Court Divorce Index, 1864-1929
Compiled by Mel E. Smith. 33 volumes.
Hartford County Superior Court Divorce Indexes, 1929-1953
Scanned pdf indexes. Arranged chronologically.
Litchfield, Tolland & Windham Divorce Index, 1899-1927
Middlesex. Index for 1786-1904 divorces found in Middlesex County, Connecticut, Superior Court
New Haven County Superior Court Divorce Index, 1712-1900
New Haven County Superior Court Divorce Index, 1900-1944
New London County Superior Court Divorce Indexes, 1857-1974
Scanned pdf indexes. Arranged chronologically.