LibGuides Home: Connecticut Municipal Governments: Other Resources

Other Resources - Local Municipal Government

Connecticut State Library

Connecticut Place Names by Hughes & Allen may be helpful when you have a name other than the municipality's name. Call number: Reference F92 .H83
The Connecticut State Library collects annual town reports (Connecticut General Statutes 7-148a and 7-110).

Towns, Cities, and Boroughs of Connecticut
Basic guide, with links to more detailed guides on specific topics relating to CT towns.
Local Government Finding Aids Index
A wide variety of municipal government records from some 133 of Connecticut’s 169 cities and towns. The finding aids listed here include only records that are part of RG 062, Town and Borough Governments. Additional town records can be found among the Classified Archives. Researchers should check the card catalog in the History and Genealogy reading room.
Also included here are various records of the county governments abolished in Connecticut effective October 1, 1960.
Municipal Records Management Program
Regional Planning in Connecticut
Connecticut State Register & Manual
Page with links to freely available copies of the Register & Manual through the CT State Library Digital Collections, and through resources outside of the CT State Library (HathiTrust, Internet Archive, etc.).
more...less...
From our Register & Manual Guide
https://libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/girs/register
Newspaper Resources
The most comprehensive collection of Connecticut newspapers known to exist.
Census - Decennial
Statistical and demographic information from U.S. Decennial Censuses, with a focus on Connecticut. This does not include information on individuals found in the U.S. Census Schedules
Census Records & City Directories
Research guide on using the History & Genealogy Unit's resources
Forms of Town and City Government in Connecticut
Location: Conn Doc Ag83m ft 1978
There are also earlier editions.
Units of Local Government in Connecticut. (Year)
Location: CSL Conn Doc Ag83m/un (yr)
Also available through Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/009133408
Units of Local Government in Connecticut. 1959
1959 Rev edition freely available in Hathi Trust.
Outline of the Structural Organization of the State and Local Government of Connecticut, A Work Book
Location: CSL Stacks JK3331 .I6 1939
Also online in Hathi Trust at https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001143795
more...less...
Full title: Outline of the structural organization of the state and local government of Connecticut, a work book ; prepared by WPA Project 2132, Division of Women's and Professional Projects ; Supervised by the Institute of Women's Professional Relations, Research Headquarters, Connecticut College.
The Office of First Selectman in Connecticut Local Government
Dowling, Edward T. . Storrs]: Institute of Public Service, University of Connecticut, 1976.
Call Number: Conn Doc Ag83m do
Connecticut Municipal Government
University of Connecticut. Institute of Public Service. [Storrs, Conn.]: Institute, 1997.
Call number: Conn Doc Ag83m comu
County Government in Connecticut, Its History and Demise : The Development, Decline, and Abolition of Connecticut's 294-year-old County Governments and the Transfer of Their Functions, Property, and Employees to the State
Levenson, Rosaline., and University of Connecticut. Institute of Public Service. Storrs, Conn.: Institute of Public Service, Continuing Education Services, University of Connecticut, 1966.
Call Number: GIRS Ref Conn Doc Ag83m cg

Summary of Charter Provisions in Connecticut Local Government : An Outline of Provisions Pertaining to Form of Government in Forty-one Council-manager and Mayor-council Communities. Stuart, Patricia, and University of Connecticut. Institute of Public Service. Storrs, Conn.: Institute of Public Service, Continuing Education Services, the University of Connecticut, several years. Call Number: Conn Doc Ag83m su (yr)

An Outline Of Government In Connecticut
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc P960 1973
Publication Date: 1973
Home Rule in Connecticut
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc G251air horu
Publication Date: 1987

State of Connecticut

Section VII: Local Government - in Connecticut State Register and Manual
Links to the section of the Connecticut Register & Manual that includes current officers for each municipality, as well as other municipal government information.
Categories: Local Government - CT Data
Browse data sets in the CT Data Open Data Portal that have been assigned to the category of Local Government
Forms of Municipal Goverment
From CT Data site: "A listing of each of Connecticut's 169 municipalities indicating both the form of local government (such as Mayor-Council) and the Term in years for the Cheif Elected Official"
Mill Rates
The Office of Policy & Management (OPM) explanation of mill rate with links to previous Grand Lists.

To find out whether there is a Municipal Historian for a Connecticut town, check the website for the town or the Secretary of State’s annual Register & Manual. Municipal Historians, as well as other Town Offices are listed in the Towns, Cities, and Boroughs Section. The Register and Manual is updated periodically from information provided by Town Clerks.

Additional

Connecticut Conference of Municipalities
CCM offers training and tools for engaging the community.
Municipal Resources - Connecticut Information
From Connecticut Council of Small Towns (COST) - links to resources
Census of Governments
Census.gov: "The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment."
U.S. Census - State, County, Town QuickFacts
Site: "QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more."
more...less...
Enter state, county, city, town, or zip code into search box.
Annual Survey of State and Local Government Finances
Census Bureau: "This survey provides local government data on debt and assets as well as revenues and expenditures by governmental function (i.e., police protection, fire protection, financial administration, central staff services, judicial and legal, highways, public welfare, solid waste management, sewerage, parks and recreation, health, hospitals, water supply, electric power, gas supply, transit, natural resources, correction, libraries, air transportation, water transport and terminals, and housing and community development) of counties, cities, township governments, special districts and dependent agencies."