Skip to main content
Introduction and Goals
Are you or your patrons looking for information about the global spread of the Corona Virus disease (COVID-19)? You can find quality information with these researchIT databases.
List of Free Online Educational Resources
- For educators and students looking to find open and free access to e-resources, use this link from the Connecticut State Library.
- The Internet Archive has made available a National Emergency Library: a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
- EBSCO has provided links for those without a library card to allow for remote access. If geoauthentication fails, users will be prompted for a user name and password which can be found on the No Library Card Needed document.
- CASL Resources-COVID-19 Page: a place for you to get everything that you need, including professional development, information about the #trythisonMonday meetings, virtual literacy events,and reopening information.
- MoMath, the National Museum of Mathematics began online math activities sessions this week and will continue into next week as well. Sessions are offered by grade level and there are various times throughout the day where some of the sessions are noted as free.
- National Science Teacher Association (NSTA) provides free access to their Interactive eBooks+ during school closures.
- Abdo Digital offers the Online Digital Libary Free Bookshelf Now free through June 30th.
- Sebco Books provides free access to over 700 muti-user books.
- ProQuest's Research Companion is Open to all Students and Educators Through June 30. All schools, colleges and universities can temporarily access key components in Research Companion, a multimedia resource that helps students develop information literacy and critical-thinking skills.
- EPIC! Free access to 40,000 books, learning videos, quizzes and more for teachers and parents.
- Ancestry provides free at-home resources and access to new 500 million National Archive record and at-home history lesson plans.
- DigitalLearn.org is PLA’s online hub for digital literacy support and training. Included in DigitalLearn.org is a collection of self-directed, video-based tutorials for end-users to increase their digital literacy skills.
- All content on Booklist Online is freely available until further notice. You can start reading the newest issue of Booklist and Book Links digitally today.
- Microsoft offers Build Digital Skills. A Digital literacy Course provides foundational skills needed to understand and safely use digital devices, software, and the internet. Participate Safely Online - get tips for protecting your privacy, using the internet safely and combating online bullying and harassment. Learn How to Code - give kids a hands-on experience with coding with Minecraft Hour of Code tutorials. Sharpen Technical Skills - whether you're just starting or an experienced tech professional, these technical hands-on learning modules can help you arrive at your goals faster, with more confidence and at your own pace.
- Beginning on March 23rd, the full version of Reader Zone is free for schools and libraries, regardless of the number of readers in your program.
- Families looking for at-home learning opportunities might want to try Skypeascientist.com The site connects teachers and families with scientists from many disciplines. Children can learn more about a field of study, or what it's like to be a scientist.
- Connecticut Commission for Educational Technology: Remote Learning Resources
- Virtual Learning and Engagement Resources for Educators and Parents from We Are Bookish.
- CLC Clearinghouse of Resources for all age groups
- Open and free content is being provided by JSTOR.
- Enfield Public Library compiled an Educational and Cultural Resources from Home list.
- Sacred Heart University Professor Rhea Paul has written a story for children ages 3-8 about coronavirus: Don't Bug Me: Everything Young Kids Need to Know about Coronavirus--In Verse!
- Exploring Secondary Books and Authors. A collection of videos about favorite books and authors put together by Silas Deane Middle School.
- TumbleBooks is inviting libraries across America to email firstname.lastname@example.org with subject line Free TumbleBooks in order to receive free links to all five of its databases so they can be shared and accessed by their patrons from the comfort and safety of their homes. TumbleBooklibrary ([www.tumblebooklibrary.com]www.tumblebooklibrary.com) is a collection of animated talking picture books, read-alongs, books, quizzes, lesson plans, and educational games.
- SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. SYNC 2020 will use Sora, the student reading app from OverDrive.
- Gale Reference Databases open for students.
- For Kanopy subscribers: Kanopy has put together a collection of films that your community can watch at no cost to your library for the next 30 days.
- Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project which includes resources for teachers.
- World Book is providing all of their valued educators with access to additional Pre-K to grade 12 learning resources through April 20, 2020.
- Publishers provide scholarly content free on Project Muse during COVID-19 Crisis.
- Access free e-books from Project Gutenberg.
- HathiTrust Digital Library preserves and provides lawful access to 17 million digitized items.
- BiblioBoard offers a free, Open Access platform that you can promote to your patrons today, no subscription needed! This platform includes an assortment of rich historical and carefully curated multimedia content, as well as high-quality open access journals, textbooks, and other open educational resources
- EBSCO Announces free access to resources for Academic Libraries- Working together with our information partners, EBSCO would like to alleviate the impact of COVID-19 on your library by extending free and expanded access to academic content.
- Museum Computer Network's Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, e-Learning, and Online Collections
- A new book aimed at children 6-11 years of age explains how children can protect themselves, their families and friends from the novel Coronavirus that causes COVID-19. "My Hero is You, Kids Can Fight COVID-19!" uses a fantasy creature to help children manage difficult emotions caused by the rapidly changing reality we now live in. It is available in multiple languages.
- Time For Kids: Register at this LINK to get Time for Kids FREE for the rest of the school year!
- Audible Stories Help Program: For as long as schools are closed kids everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids.
Paratext is offering access to U.S. Documents Masterfile™ to all academic, public, and special libraries through June 2020. Establishing access: If you have already worked with Paratext, send a note to email@example.com and they can confirm your existing authentication details. If you haven’t worked with Paratext , submit a request via their trial page and include your IPs (remote access IP addresses as well). They will send along access information once confirmed.
researchIT CT is part of the Connecticut Education Network. It provides all students, faculty and residents with online access to essential library and information resources. It is administered by the Connecticut State Library in conjunction with your local library. Through researchIT CT, a core level of information resources including secured access to licensed databases is available to every citizen in Connecticut. In addition, specialized research information is available to college students and faculty.
The Goals of researchIT CT are:
- To ensure universal access to a core level of library and information resources for every resident of Connecticut through their public library, school, college, and from home.
- To help provide necessary information resources to every school in Connecticut so that all students are prepared to function in an information society.
- To provide information resources to the increasing number of students taking advantage of on-line courses at Connecticut's colleges and universities.
- To support the information needs of all Connecticut citizens.
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | researchIT CT | Phone: 860-704-2206 | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478