The Connecticut State Library holds an extensive collection of historic Connecticut court records in State Archives Record Group 003, Judicial Records. In a partnership with FamilySearch, some of these valuable and unique records have been digitized and are available through the links below. Library staff have also created or scanned indexes to many court records held in the State Archives. You will find links to these from the Court Record Indexes tab. For more information about the court records we hold, please the Guide to the Records of the Judicial Department pdf.
Before the Coroner's Office was established in 1883, sudden or suspicious deaths were investigated by the Courts. These were known as Inquests into Deaths. If you are researching a pre-1883 death, library staff has created an index to the files from the Papers by Subject, Inquests category for each County and Superior court. See the Court Records Index tab.
Many divorces in Connecticut were processed by the Superior Court located near where the parties lived. At the State Library, these records can be found in State Archives Record Group 003, Judicial Records. However, very old divorces (pre-1850) could have been heard at the County Court level, or even by the General Assembly. The Divorce Records linked below are Superior Court Records. If you are interested in an early Divorce, be sure to see our main guide to Divorce Records for Genealogy Research.
This page contains links to databases of indexed Connecticut Court Record Collections.
Court Papers, Crimes and Misdemeanors & Private Controversies are Series of the Connecticut Archives, 1629-1820. For additional indexes see our Guide to the Connecticut Archives below.
Digitized Connecticut Court records in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA), mainly from the Uncovering New Haven Court Record Project.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
