Skip to main content

researchIT CT - Information: Help - OneSearch

What does OneSearch Search?

What does OneSearch for Public Libraries search?

What does OneSearch for Public Libraries search?

OneSearch for Public Libraries searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to residents of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content. That content includes:

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Biography Reference Bank

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank covers over 600,000 people with links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals and over 35,000 images.

Biography Reference Center

Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Connecticut Digital Collections

Connecticut Digital Collections presents historical photographs, maps, manuscripts, oral histories and more from Connecticut libraries, museums, and historical societies.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

MainFILE

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MasterFILE Premier (includes Consumer Reports)

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Middle Search Plus

Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

OneClickdigital audio books & eBooks (Recorded Books) (requires public library card)

Over 2600 nonfiction and fiction audio books and more than 700 eBooks that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for your iPhone, iPad, Android or Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkout require a valid CT public library card number.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Referencia Latina

A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

TOPICsearch

Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

It also includes separate search results for the following:

National Newspapers

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988 – present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 – present)
  • New York Times (1985 – present) (via a custom link)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984 – present)
  • Washington Post (1987 – present)

Hartford Courant (1992 – present)

Historical Hartford Courant (1764 – 1922)

What does OneSearch for Elementary Schools search?

OneSearch for elementary schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to elementary schools in Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content. That content includes:

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

What does OneSearch for Middle Schools search?

OneSearch for middle schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to middle school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content. That content includes:

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank covers over 600,000 people with links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals and over 35,000 images.

Biography Reference Center

Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Connecticut Digital Collections

Connecticut Digital Collections presents historical photographs, maps, manuscripts, oral histories and more from Connecticut libraries, museums, and historical societies.

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

MainFILE

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Middle Search Plus

Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

OneClickdigital audio books & eBooks (Recorded Books) (requires public library card)

Over 2600 nonfiction and fiction audio books and more than 700 eBooks that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for your iPhone, iPad, Android or Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkout require a valid CT public library card number.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

TOPICsearch

Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

It also includes separate search results for the following:

National Newspapers

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988 – present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 – present)
  • New York Times (1985 – present) (via a custom link)
  • Washington Post (1987 – present)

Hartford Courant (1992 – present)

Historical Hartford Courant (1764 – 1922)

What does OneSearch for High Schools search?

OneSearch for high schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to secondary school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content. That content includes:

Academic Search Premier

Provides an elaborate array of titles to cornerstone academia. Comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank covers over 600,000 people with links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals and over 35,000 images.

Biography Reference Center

Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Connecticut Digital Collections

Connecticut Digital Collections presents historical photographs, maps, manuscripts, oral histories and more from Connecticut libraries, museums, and historical societies.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video

Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

MainFILE

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MasterFILE Premier (includes Consumer Reports)

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Middle Search Plus

Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

OneClickdigital audio books & eBooks (Recorded Books) (requires public library card)

Over 2600 nonfiction and fiction audio books and more than 700 eBooks that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for your iPhone, iPad, Android or Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkout require a valid CT public library card number.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Referencia Latina

A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

TOPICsearch

Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

It also includes separate search results for the following:

National Newspapers

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988 – present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 – present)
  • New York Times (1985 – present) (via a custom link)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984 – present)
  • Washington Post (1987 – present)

Hartford Courant (1992 – present)

Historical Hartford Courant (1764 – 1922)

What does OneSearch for Colleges & Universities search?

OneSearch for colleges & universities searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to colleges and universities of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content. That content includes:

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank covers over 600,000 people with links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals and over 35,000 images.

Biography Reference Center

Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

CINAHL with Full Text

Nursing and allied health database.

Connecticut Digital Collections

Connecticut Digital Collections presents historical photographs, maps, manuscripts, oral histories and more from Connecticut libraries, museums, and historical societies.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

MainFILE

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

MAS Ultra

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MasterFile Premier (includes Consumer Reports)

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

OneClickdigital audio books (Recorded Books) (requires public library card)

Over 2100 nonfiction and fiction audio books that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for your iPhone, iPad, Android or Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkout require a valid CT public library card number.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

PsycINFO

Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Referencia Latina

A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

TOPICSearch

Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

It also includes separate search results for the following:

National Newspapers

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988 – present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 – present)
  • New York Times (1985 – present) (via a custom link)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984 – present)
  • Washington Post (1987 – present)

Hartford Courant (1992 – present)

Historical Hartford Courant (1764 – 1922)

Loading ...

What is the difference between OneSearch and EBSCOhost?

What is the difference between OneSearch and EBSCOhost?

OneSearch is the simplest and most comprehensive search facility that researchIT CT offers, as described above in "What is searched in OneSearch?" EBSCOhost, on the other hand, provides a much richer, advanced search facility to enable very precise searches but the scope of its search is limited to searching just EBSCO databases (see EBSCO Resources in researchIT CT/EBSCOhost by Audience below). Although the advanced search facility of OneSearch is more limited, its search results page provides many ways to further refine the search results.  Here is a tutorial on EBSCOhost's advanced search facility: http://support.ebsco.com/training/flash_videos/adv_guided/adv_guided.html.

Back to top

After doing a search, how do I return to my starting point?

After doing a search, how do I return to my starting point?

  1. To do a new search, click on "New Search" in the top menu bar [see figure 1 below], or hit your browser's Back button.

  2. To return to the researchIT CT landing page [see figure 2 below], click on "To researchITCT.org" in the top menu bar, or the researchIT CT logo near the upper left hand corner of the window [see figure 1 below].

  3. To return to the researchIT CT resources page [see figure 3 below], click on "Select researchIT CT Resource" in the top menu bar [see figure 1 below].


 
Figure 1. OneSearch menu bar

 researchIT CT Landing Page

Figure 2. researchIT CT Landing Page

Figure 3. researchIT CT Public Resources Page

Back to top

How can I determine if researchIT CT has a particular magazine title?

How can I determine if researchIT CT has a particular magazine title?

 The best and easiest way is to use researchIT CT's E-Journal Finder to search for the title.  There are two E-Journal Finders:

Back to top

How do the resources provided by EBSCO correspond with the resources I am familiar with that were provided by Cengage Gale?

How do the resources provided by EBSCO correspond with the resources I am familiar with that were provided by Cengage Gale?

Although there is not an exact one-to-one correspondence between the new and previous resources, we prepared a cross-reference guide (in Excel format) to help situate the new resources.

Back to top

The "Search Options" and "Advanced Search" screens allow the user to limit searches by "Lexile Reading Level" or "Lexile Reading Score" for certain databases. What do these limiters mean?

 The “Search Options” and “Advanced Search” screens allow the user to limit searches by “Lexile Reading Level” or “Lexile Reading Score” for certain databases. What do these limiters mean?

Lexile levels or scores are based on a rating system – called the Lexile Framework for Reading, developed by MetaMetrics, Inc. - designed to measure the reading difficulty of the content based on word frequency and sentence length. The scores range from 200 (easiest to read) to 1300+ (the most complex). When limiting a search by a specific Lexile Reading Score rather than a range, the system will display results which have a Lexile Reading Score of -100 to +50 outside the score you specify. More detailed information about how EBSCO uses Lexile scores in its databases can be found here.  References to analysis of text complexity can also be found in Common Core State Standards For English Language Arts & Literacy In History/Social Studies, Science, And Technical Subjects.

Back to top

What is the purpose of the Integrated Search links and how do they work?

What is the purpose of the Integrated Search links and how do they work?

OneSearch Integrated Search

The EBSCO Discovery Service link above is actually OneSearch, which is powered by the EBSCO Discovery Service.  It is checked by default because OneSearch is the default search engine. The other links represent resources whose content is not contained in OneSearch. National Newspapers (ProQuest) includes:

  • Christian Science Monitor (1988 – present)
  • Los Angeles Times (1985 – present)
  • New York Times (1985 – present)
  • Wall Street Journal (1984 – present)
  • Washington Post (1987 – present)

Clicking on any of these links will display the search results for just that resource. If you check any of the checkboxes next to the links, and then click the Update button, the search results for the resources you checked will be integrated with the search results for OneSearch.

You should be aware that the “Limit to Peer Reviewed” limiter in the left column of the search results screen will not produce search results in the Integrated Search links because these links do not support this limiter function.

Back to top

How do I obtain an audiobook after receiving the search results?

 How do I obtain an audiobook after receiving the search results?

There are two ways you can obtain an audiobook.  The quickest way is by clicking on the “Online Access” link displayed in the initial set of search results:

Screenshot of the results list with Online Access link highlighted

You can also click on the “Online Access” link at the end of the full record:

Screenshot of a full record with Online Access link highlighted

Back to top

Do you offer Consumer Reports?

Do you offer Consumer Reports?

Yes, Consumer Reports is among the 1000s of magazines that are searched in iCONN OneSearch.  You can also find direct links to Consumer Reports and many other popular titles here:

For Public Libraries: http://researchitct.org/popularmagazinespublic/
For High Schools: http://researchitct.org/popularmagazineshighschool/
For Middle Schools: http://researchitct.org/popularmagazinesmiddleschool/
For Elementary Schools: http://researchitct.org/popularmagazineselementaryschool/

There is a direct link to the Popular Magazines page listed above from each audience-specific landing page (see Figure 2 above) and each audience-specific classic menu page (see Figure 3 above). 

Back to top

Are there any special settings for my browser?

Are there any special settings for my browser?

Your browser is the software that you use to access the Internet and the most common browsers include Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Chrome. If a feature in researchIT CT isn't working, you can reivew the Browser Support and Configuration guide.

Back to top

Where can I find more information about how to use these databases?

Where can I find more information about how to use these databases?

We also encourage you to discuss your information needs with your public, school or college librarian who can help you get the most out of these databases.  Contact information for all public libraries in CT is here.

Back to top

Why do I have to log in to search researchIT CT?

Why do I have to log in to search researchIT CT?

researchIT CT’s license agreements with vendors require us to verify that only authorized users can access the resources.  The log-in procedure ensures adherence to our license agreements.  License agreements typically base their costs on the number of potential users.  If there were no login procedure, access would be completely open and the cost to Connecticut would be astronomical.

Back to top

Contact

This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | researchIT CT | Phone: 860-704-2223 | Contact Us

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.