The Middletown Library Service Center (MLSC) is part of the Connecticut State Library's Division of Library Development and supports librarians and libraries across the state of Connecticut.
The MLSC collection supports and supplements the collections of academic, public, school, and special libraries throughout Connecticut. The collection includes books, book discussion sets, book props, puppets, large print books, STEM Kits, and a professional collection. Learn more about our collections on the circulating collections page.
Library staff may borrow MLSC items by placing an online request or by visiting MLSC in-person. Both options are explained below.
Search the Primo online catalog to request books and puppets online. Request materials using your institution's Primo account. For detailed information about books and puppets, please visit the circulating collections page.
Use the MLSC Equipment catalog to browse for and reserve book discussion sets, book bundles, Storytime kits, and STEM kits.
Items reserved online will automatically be sent via the deliverIT CT service unless otherwise requested.
The MLSC is open 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday. During business hours, visitors may browse the collection, pick up requested items, or drop off materials checked out to your library.
In February 2022, the Connecticut Library for Accessible Books (CT LAB), formerly known as the Connecticut State Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, joined its Division of Library Development colleagues at the MLSC. The CT LAB offices are open to visitors by appointment only at this time. Contact CT LAB staff by phone at (860) 704-2220 or (800) 842-4516 or email CT LAB.
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, kits, puppets and more! On the search results page, narrow your search to MLSC.
Not sure how to use Primo? Follow the directions below.
The embedded video below provides a quick introduction to the MLSC and its resources.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.