Saratoga

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Battlefield

Saratoga National Historical Park, New York. edition: Rev. 1959 by United States. National Park Service. ; Snell, Charles W. ; Wilshin, Francis.
Call Number: online and Federal Documents I 29.58:4/3 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1959
Saratoga National Historical Park, New York by United States. National Park Service Cartographer
Call Number: Federal Documents I 29.88/6:SA 7/2018

Publication Date: 2018

Library catalog: "Map. Includes text, descriptive index to points of interest, and color illustrations. Text, 3 maps of troop movements in 1777, and color illustrations on verso."

Saratoga - Books, etc

Books, Documents, etc.

These are only a few examples. Please check our catalog and archives finding aids for more sources.

The 1777 Journal of Robert Treat of Orange, Connecticut by Treat, Robert, 1758-1825. ; Mason, Richard A.
Call Number: Stacks E241.S2 T74 1994 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1994
Old Saratoga and the Burgoyne Campaign : A Brief Sketch of the Early History of the Famous Hunting Grounds and the Campaign Which Ended in the Surrender of the British Army at Saratoga, October 17, 1777 : With Concise Descriptions of the Principal Places by Ostrander, William S.
Call Number: Stacks E233 .O87 1996 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1996

5th ed.
Orderly Book and Journals Kept by Connecticut Men While Taking Part in the American Revolution. 1775-1778. by Connecticut Historical Society, et al
Call Number: Stacks F91 .C7 v.7 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: [1899]

also online in Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001643175
Internet Archives: "Orderly book of Capt. William Coit's company at siege of Boston, 1775.--Journal of Ensign Nathaniel Morgan at siege of Boston, 1775.--Journal of Simeon Lyman of Sharon, 1775.--Benjamin Trumbull's Journal of the expedition against Canada, 1775.--Benjamin Trumbull's Journal of the campaign around New York, 1776-77.--Roll of Benjamin Trumbull's company, 1777.--Journal of Oliver Boardman of Middletown, in the Burgoyne campaign, 1777.--Journal of Bayze Wells of Farmington, in the Canada expedition, 1775-77.--Journal of Joseph Joslin, Jr., of South Killingly, a teamster in Western Connecticut, 1777-78"
Report of the Saratoga Battle Monument Dedication Commission. : Transmitted to the Legislature May 1, 1913. by New York (State). Saratoga Battle Monument Dedication Commission. ; Manning, William (William H.)
Call Number: Online and Stacks E241.S2 N5 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1913

New York State document online in Internet Archive.
Also available online in Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/009593266.
Hadden's Journal and Orderly Books : A Journal Kept in Canada and Upon Burgoyne's Campaign in 1776 and 1777 by Hadden, James Murray, ; Rogers, Horatio, ; Dorchester, Guy Carleton, Baron, ; Burgoyne, ; Phillips, William,
Call Number: Online and Stacks E233 .H12 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1884

Online in Hathi Trust - scroll down their page for access
Visits to the Saratoga Battle-grounds, 1780-1880. With an Introduction and Notes. by Stone, William L. (William Leete)
Call Number: Online and Stacks E241 .S2 S88 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1895

Library catalog: "Available online. A collection of narratives by various writers."
Also in HathiTrust : https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/2216041.html
Battles of Saratoga, 1777; the Saratoga Monument Association, 1856-1891 by Walworth, Ellen H. (Ellen Hardin)
Call Number: Stacks E241.S2 W2 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: [1891]

Also online at Internet Archive "https://archive.org/details/cihm_25505/page/n12
Saratoga National Historical Park, New York. edition: Rev. 1959 by United States. National Park Service. ; Snell, Charles W. ; Wilshin, Francis.
Call Number: online and Federal Documents I 29.58:4/3 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1959
Saratoga National Historical Park, New York by United States. National Park Service Cartographer
Call Number: Federal Documents I 29.88/6:SA 7/2018

Publication Date: 2018

Library catalog: "Map. Includes text, descriptive index to points of interest, and color illustrations. Text, 3 maps of troop movements in 1777, and color illustrations on verso."
Advance and Retreat to Saratoga in the American Revolution ... by Bennett, Clarence E.
Call Number: Stacks E233 .B47 v.1 & v.2 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: [c1927]

Online in Hathi Trust - scroll down their page for access
Memoir of the Centennial Celebration of Burgoyne's Surrender, Held at Schuylerville, N. Y., Under the Auspices of the Saratoga Monument Association, on the 17th of October, 1877. by Stone, William L. (William Leete), 1835-1908. ; Saratoga Monument Association.
Call Number: Online and Stacks E241.S2 S8 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1878

Online through our catalog record.
Also online through HathiTrust
ttps://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/2178546.html
Five Straws Gathered from Revolutionary Fields by Weeks, William, ; Bingham, Hiram,
Call Number: Online Stacks E275 .W39 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1901

Online through our library catalog. Also https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/5364415.html
Library catalog: "Five letters written by William Weeks, 1777-1778. The letters relate principally to the Saratoga campaign and experiences at Valley Forge."
An Original, Compiled, and Corrected Account of Burgoyne's Campaign, and the Memorable Battles of Bemis's Heights, Sept. 19, and October 7, 1777 by Neilson, Charles
Call Number: Online in HathiTrust and CSL Special Collections E233 .N41

Publication Date: 1844

Special Collections are a restricted collection. It is suggested you contact the History & Genealogy (H&G) unit in advance of your visit.
The Turning Point of the Revolution; or, Burgoyne in America by Nickerson, Hoffman
Call Number: Stacks E233 .N63 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1928
The Campaign of Lieut. Gen. John Burgoyne : and the Expedition of Lieut. Col. Barry St. Leger by Stone, William L. (William Leete)
Call Number: Stacks E233 .S88 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: 1877

Online through our library catalog. Also in HathiTrust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/2064937.html
The Women and Children of Poultney, Rutland County, Vermont, Fleeing Burgoyne's Forces, 6 July, 1777 by Jenks, Margaret R.
Call Number: Stacks F59.P8 J56 2005 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: c2005

Not online
Baroness von Riedesel and the American Revolution; journal and correspondence of a tour of duty, 1776-1783. by Riedesel, Friederike Charlotte Luise, Freifrau von, ; Riedesel, Friedrich Adolf, Freiherr von, ; Brown, Marvin L., Jr., ; Huth, Marta. ; Institute of Early American History and Culture (Williamsburg, Va.)
Call Number: Stacks E268 .R523 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

Publication Date: [1965]
George Pausch's Journal and Reports of the Campaign in America by Bruce E. Burgoyne
Call Number: Stacks E268 .P38 1996 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.

ISBN: 0788405314

Publication Date: 1996
Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships by Mooney, James L. ; United States. Naval History Division. ; Naval Historical Center (U.S.)
Call Number: Some online and Federal Documents D 207.10:

Publication Date: 1959-1981

Multi-volume. for additional links to online versions, search the Internet Archive, HathiTrust and other digital collections.

Saratoga - Web Sites

Web Sites

Saratoga - National Historical Park
National Park Service (NPS) page for the Saratoga National Historical Park.
Surrender of General Burgoyne
Architect of the Capitol's page on the painting with the image and information bout the painting.
Historic Sites - State of Vermont
Site: "The Vermont State Historic Sites Program encourages the discovery and appreciation of the state’s rich heritage through the stewardship and interpretation of historic sites that evoke an authentic sense of time and place."
Library of Congress (LOC) search for Saratoga Battle
Link to a search in LOC for items on Saratoga Battle. Run search again with your own parameters. Results include links to maps of battle plans.

more... less...

Maps can also be found at https://www.loc.gov/maps/?q=saratoga+campaign+1777
Victory at Saratoga (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Today in History - September 19 Blog post.
Major John André and Brigadier General Benedict Arnold (LOC)
Scroll down the page for article.
Library of Congress (LOC) blog Today in History - October 2

Saratoga - Other Libraries

Other Libraries

These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library may have many of federal documents listed. It is highly unlikely to have access to any of the subscription resources listed.

Military Instruction - Saratoga
Archived West Point Military Library research guide in the WayBack Machine

Saratoga - Additional Resources

Additional Resources

The Battle Of Saratoga - Sept & Oct 1777
From Saratoga.com website
Spy Techniques of the Revolutionary War
From Mount Vernon website.
Includes links to other articles on spy craft and techniques.