Regional Planning in Connecticut

A guide to finding information about Regional Planning Organizations in Connecticut

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services


Geographic Planning Regions

The Planning Regions are the logical geographic areas defined and named by the Office of Policy and Management (OPM), as per statutes:

As of January 1, 2015, Connecticut has nine geographic regional planning areas. Municipalities may petition OPM for a change in their geographic region, as was done during the process to reduce the 15 geographic planning regions into 9 geographic planning regions.

OPM has the authority to define or redefine the "logical regional planning areas", which were originally defined by the Connecticut Development Commission (CDC ). The goal is to group municipalities with common interest and problems based on numerous geographic, economic and social factors. Detailed studies were originally conducted with subsequent research over the years. The state-defined logical regional planning areas may include the federally-defined metropolitan planning area for transportation planning.

The table below, or the page with maps, may be used to see previous boundaries for the geographic regional planning areas. The focus is on the state-defined geographic region, not voluntary membership in planning organizations.

The Nine Planning Regions

Current 9 Regions
Capitol Andover, Avon, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bolton, Canton, Columbia, Coventry, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington, Enfield, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Hartford, Hebron, Manchester, Mansfield, Marlborough, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, Somers, South Windsor, Southington, Stafford, Suffield, Tolland, Vernon, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Willington, Windsor, Windsor Locks
Greater Bridgeport (Metropolitan) Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford, Trumbull
Lower CT River Valley Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland, Westbrook
Naugatuck Valley Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Bristol, Cheshire, Derby, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott, Woodbury


Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Sterling, Thompson, Union, Voluntown, Woodstock
Northwest Hills Barkhamsted, Burlington, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington, Winchester
South Central Bethany, Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Meriden, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven, Woodbridge
Southeastern Bozrah, Colchester, East Lyme, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Preston, Salem, Sprague, Stonington, Waterford, Windham
Western Bethel, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Danbury, Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Norwalk, Redding, Ridgefield, Sherman, Stamford, Weston, Westport, Wilton


Map of Regional Councils of Government in Connecticut


Selected Resources on Geographic Boundaries

These are only a few selected items. See also the page of Works Cited for this research guide.

For additional resources, please search:

Selected items:

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.