LibGuides Home: Federal Legislative History: Compiled Legislative History Resources

Contact Us

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

HeinOnline
The U.S. Federal Legislative History Library contains selected comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. Government Printing Office and private publishers; also contains a Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database to help locate other published histories.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview

Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet: Free Sources
This is part of the LLSDC's Legislative Source Book and includes selected legislative histories by popular name and by public law number.

ProQuest Congressional
Includes CIS Index legislative histories from 1969 - present. Some legislative histories are abbreviated and should be consulted with other resources. Please see ProQuest information icons for additional coverage information.
User help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp
Westlaw
Contains multiple legislative history resources, including the U.S. GAO Federal Legislative Histories database which provides compiled histories for most public laws enacted between 1921 and 1995.

CIS Annual Legislative History Volumes, KF49 .C62
Legislative histories of U.S. Public Laws; 1970 - 2000.
Federal Legislative Histories: An Annotated Bibliography and Index to Officially Published Sources, KF42.2 1994
Annotated bibliography of published sources containing selected compiled legislative histories; available in print 1862 - 1990 (37th - 101st Congress).
Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books, 1st-113th Congress, KF42.2 .S68 2014
A bibliography of sources containing selected compiled legislative histories; available in print 1789 - present (1st Congress - present) and through HeinOnline 1789 - present (1st Congress - present).
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN), KF48 .W45
Contains public laws, legislative history, proclamations, executive messages and orders, administrative regulations, lists of committees, indexes & tables for each session of Congress; contains full text of selected committee reports. Available in print from 1944 - present (78th Congress to present) and through Westlaw from 1948 - present (80th Congress - present).