One of the most striking collections housed in the Connecticut State Library is a small group of five boxes of photographs found in the Connecticut War Records Department collection of records. These photographs, which also includes some newspaper clippings, letters, and memorials, depict over 700 images of military service personnel who served primarily in World War II but include some later images of those who fought in the Korean conflict as well. These images range in style from official studio portraits of men in crisp military uniforms, to civilian snapshots including recent graduation pictures taken in happier times.
 |
 |
| John Joseph Pardus of Torrington, CT (RG 012, Connecticut State Library, War Records Department, Box 277) |
James J. Shields, Hartford, CT Killed in action, Normandy, France, June 9, 1944 (RG 012, Connecticut State Library, War Records Department, Box 278) |
Many of these photographs contain detailed information about the service person on the back of the image such as the following for Ensign Burton T. Oberg:
 |
 |
Burton Thelin Oberg of Cromwell, CT.
Killed in action, Nov. 13, 1944, Manila Bay, Philippines
(RG 012, Connecticut State Library, War Records Department, Box 278)
While other images in this collection reflect the ultimate sacrifice that was given in the conflict in which these Connecticut sons served.
 |
 |
Paul E. Michalko of Torrington, CT
Army, Private First Class. Killed in action, November 5, 1944, France.
(RG 012, Connecticut State Library, War Records Department, Box 277)
The Connecticut Military Service Personnel Photograph Collection Index, (circa 1938-1953) was created by Connecticut State Library staff to highlight and better utilize these unique archival photographs and honor those who served in the military.
Great effort was made to identify the individuals depicted using information provided with the photograph. Please keep in mind however that names, geographic locations, or other information may be misspelled or in error as a result.
Branch of service, rank, military unit, residence, and other notations were included in the index to assist the researcher or family member to determine if there is an image for a specific individual. Please be aware that prior to 1947 the United Sates Air Force was a branch of the United States Army and as a result, images may be listed as Army Air Corps.
Please keep in mind that names and locations may be misspelled as a result.
You may conduct a search in any of the columns, or any combination of columns to limit your search.
If a name of an individual of interest is found in the below Connecticut Military Service Personnel Photograph Collection Index, and a reproduction of the original record is desired, you may submit a request via E-mail or by contacting the History & Genealogy Unit of the Connecticut State Library at (860) 757-6580.
Reproduction formats and fees available, are as follows:
Pre-payment is not needed as a bill will accompany the finished product, either in the mail with photocopies or with the digital images.
Please include the military service person’s name and the box number location in requesting a copy of the image.
Please be aware that this index may not open and function properly when using Firefox, but may be accessed using either the Chrome or IE browsers.
NOTICE: All Connecticut State Library indexes have been migrated to Connecticut Open Data; the previous indexes will no longer be available.
Searching works a little differently on the new site, but is just as powerful and customizable.
How to search by column in Connecticut Open Data:
1. Find the column you want to search, and mouse over the header. An icon with three parallel lines will appear on the right.
2. Click this icon to see more options, and then choose the filter icon.
3. Begin typing in your search term. The column will update automatically.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
