Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Documents Research Guide
The Connecticut State Library participates in the Federal Depository Library Program. Through the program we receive, at no charge, all the documents issued by federal agencies and published by the Superintendent of Documents. Additionally, we include links in our catalog to online federal documents. Our collection of federal material dates back to 1789 and contains over 1.5 million documents in print, microform and electronic formats.
Selected Electronic Resources in Federal Government Information
American State Papers, 1789-1838 United States legislative and executive documents. Coverage: 1st through 25th Congresses, 1789-1838, American State Papers Vols. 1-38.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 A finding aid for all publications of the United States government, including those of the Congress and all executive departments, dating from 1895 to 1976.
ProQuest Congressional Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
U.S. Congressional Documents A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional
U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for studying American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, and much more. The Serial Set began publication in 1817 with the 15th Congress, 1st session.
U.S. House and Senate Journals, 1789-1817 Journals of the House of Representatives and Senate for the first 14 Congresses of the United States. Coverage: 1st Congress - 14th Congress, 1798-1817.
Click to see a list of all government information databases.
Federal Depository Library Program
The Program (FDLP) is governed by USC Title 44 and is administered by the Superintendent of Documents of the Government Printing Office. The program is over 100 years old and we are part of a network of hundreds of libraries across the United States dedicated to local no-fee access to federal government information.
The Federal Depository Library Directory includes contact information to the twenty-seven libraries in Connecticut and Rhode Island that serve as depository libraries. The Connecticut State Library was designated the Regional Library for Connecticut in 1962 and for Rhode Island in 1982. As the Regional Library, we receive and permanently retain all the publications issued through the FDLP, and visit and consult with the other depository libraries regarding compliance with FDLP procedures. All the other depository libraries may receive documents based on individual library needs and are only required to retain documents for 5 years. Each depository must make their federal documents collections available to the public.
Regional Documents Coordinator is Kris Abery.
Finding Federal Documents
Finding Federal Documents at the Library
- Locations of documents published since 1976, including links to online versions, are included in our catalog
- Locations of documents issued before 1976 may not be in our catalog, so we'll be happy to assist you: 860-757-6500
Frequently Requested Topics:
- Information on the Presidency
Government Information Research Guides
Additional Guides by Subject
Federal Government Resources
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Provides access to legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
GPO created guides on a wide range of topics including Art, Architecture, Military and Veterans Resources and World War I.
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Official web portal of the U.S. federal government.
U.S. Government Manual
Provides information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
Local Depository Libraries