CT State Library | Federal Library Funding in Connecticut

Updates | May 6, 2025

Last night, the CT State Library received notification from the IMLS that its LSTA Grants to States Grant for FY2024 was reinstated. The State Library was also notified that a FY2025 award notice, in line with what other states have already received, will arrive shortly.

There was no reason given for this reinstatement, just as no reason was given for the grant’s initial termination. While the State Library notes this reinstatement, the IMLS remains slated to be fully zeroed out in the proposed FY2026 federal budget. Currently, there are multiple lawsuits pertaining to protecting the future of IMLS.

In the interim the CT State Library continues to work with Connecticut leadership at the state level to support state statutory programs, and with the state's federal delegation for the preservation of IMLS. The CT State Library continues to collaborate with other states and state library agencies in these efforts.

Below is a link to the full CT State Library Press Release.

Updates | April 4, 2025

Federal funds granted through the Institute of Museum and Library Services Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) Grants to States Program supports much of the statutorily mandated statewide library infrastructure, programs, resources, and services that enable information and education access to the people of Connecticut. 

In 2024, CT received $2,164,184 through the LSTA Grants to States program for a period ending September 30, 2025. 

As of April 1, 2025, the CT State Library’s LSTA Grants to States Grant was terminated mid-fiscal year, along with only two other states, WA and CA. 

Federal funds support 13 staff members in the Division of Library Development and numerous statewide library services provided to all libraries, outlined in detail below. Federal funds do not directly support public libraries who are funded locally by their municipalities, however, local impact would be felt by the loss of programs and support across all CT communities. 

• The 13 Division of Library Development staff that support CT statutory statewide service, are supported with LSTA funds, many staff supporting multiple projects.
• Programs, services, and resources associated with these mandatory projects are funded by LSTA.

Below is the CT State Library Press Release followed by a snapshot of LSTA support projects, which include consulting, collections, training, programs, digital resources and much more. 

E-Rate Program

• The E-Rate Program provides funds for schools and libraries to improve their broadband access, saving 76 CT libraries $497,221 in FY24.
• This service is supported by 1 LSTA funded staff member.

Professional Development

• LSTA funds provided $133, 530 (free of charge to libraries) for 106 Professional Development webinars attended by 1,300 librarians.
• Professional Development is supported by 2 LSTA supported staff.

Summer Reading

• Libraries ran 8,827 Summer Reading programs (Sec. 11-1a. Programs of state-wide library service) and activities, with 229,470 kids, teens, and families participating.
• Twelve public libraries received Summer Enrichment Grants totaling $21,210.98 in FY24.
• Summer Reading and Early Literacy is supported by 2 LSTA funded staff.

LSTA Subgrants to Libraries

• LSTA Subgrants totaling $57,000 were given to 18 libraries to improve summer reading and family engagement.

 CT Library for Accessible Books (CT LAB)

• CT Library for Accessible Books (Sec. 11-1a. Programs of state-wide library service) circulated 164,232 audio and braille books to 5,000+ active patrons including 316 veterans.
• Staff conducted 27 outreach sessions, reaching over 650 individuals. 
• Nine CT libraries now serve as hub libraries, helping to expand CTLAB’s impact.
• CTLAB is supported by 3 LSTA funded staff.

Middletown Library Service Center (MLSC)

• Middletown Library Service Center (Sec 11-1 and Sec-11-23a states that the State Library Board shall maintain a library service center in Middlesex County to serve the public libraries and public schools in each of said areas).
• The MLSC core function is serving as a library for 270 public and school libraries, promoting resource sharing and supporting collections for children and young adults as well as professional development and programming for librarians.
• MLSC Service Center is supported by 3 LSTA funded staff and provided service resulting in:
  • Library Accounts include:
    • 509 school accounts (including 24 home schools)
    • 210 public library accounts
    • 14 special library accounts
    • 34 academic library accounts
    • 28 other accounts (including pre-school & daycare organizations)
  • Circulation in FY2024:
    • 21,327 total items circulated
    • 6,802- discussion sets
    • 401 kits (STEM, Storytime, instruments, etc.)
    • 1,777 items circulated on average per month
  • User Testimonial:
    • "Last school year our 8th grade teachers wanted to do book clubs for one of their units, and the MLSC came in clutch for helping us find and use a variety of materials. Students attended a book tasting in the library to figure out what they were most interested in and borrowed the books for the unit. The school was thankful for saving a good amount of money, the students loved their books, and this librarian loved the whole process!"

Statewide Delivery

• Statewide delivery, deliverIT CT, drivers delivered 1.5 million library items to 215 public and academic libraries in FY24.
• DeliverIT CT is supported by 5 LSTA funded staff.

Digital Equity Pilot Program

• Funded by an IMLS National Leadership Grant of $249,948 to the CT State Library, the Digital Equity Pilot Program provides digital navigators to assist CT residents with technology questions and tasks at seven public libraries across the state:
  • Bridgeport Public Library
  • Derby Neck Public Library
  • Hamden Public Library
  • Howard Whittemore Memorial Library (Naugatuck)
  • New Haven Free Public Library
  • West Haven Public Library
  • Woodbridge Town Library.
• Now in its second year, the pilot program is designed to create a replicable Regional Digital Navigator sharing model and toolkit for libraries across the country.

Statewide eBook and Audiobook Platform

• The statewide eBook and audiobook platform eGO CT (Sec. 11-1a. Programs of state-wide library service), using the Palace Project app, provides eBook and audiobook access to a collection of 50,000 books with 43,395 checkouts across the state.
• Public libraries and academic sites connect to the Connecticut State Library collection using the Palace App.
• CT residents have access to their local libraries' digital collections and the CT State Library's collection through Palace, doubling their access.
• The eGO CT Community Sharing Program is open to all K12 sites in Connecticut, connecting them with the CT State Library’s ebook collection.
• Collection development of eBooks and digital services is supported by 1 LSTA funded staff.
• User Testimonial:
  • “I speak for all of the library media specialists in Coventry when I say that the CT State Library is absolutely vital to the high expectations, we demand of ourselves to provide the best possible library resources to our students and staff. The CT State Library is well-deserving of the necessary funding to maintain its mission and meet the needs of the entire educational ecosystem of the state of Connecticut.”

Federal funds granted through the Institute of Museum and Library Services Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) Grants to States Program support much of the statutorily mandated statewide library infrastructure, support, and services that enable information and education access to the people of Connecticut. In 2024, CT received $2,164,184 through the LSTA Grants to States program.

Federal funds do not directly support public libraries who are funded locally by their municipalities.

LSTA Grants to States funding allows for the following:

• Accessibility
  • Adult Services | Accessibility
  • Connecticut Library for Accessible Books (CTLAB) 
  • Veterans and Military Families
• Digital Connectivity
  • E-Rate and Internet Connectivity 
  • Regional Digital Navigation
• Division of Library Development Resources
  • Early Literacy 
  • Middletown Library Service Center (MLSC) 
  • Professional Consultants 
  • Professional Development
  • Summer Reading and Enrichment
  • Visiting, Collections, and Equipment
• Statewide Digital Resources
  • State Archives | National Digital Newspaper Program
  • Statewide Digital Library 
  • Statewide eBook and eAudio Platform
  • Statewide Resource Sharing 
  • Workforce Development

This project is made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Connecticut State Library.