The Connecticut State Library has within the Connecticut State Archives a unique and extensive collection of original Connecticut court materials which have been stored and preserved within a specific archival record group (RG) #003, Records of the Judicial Department.
This collection of judicial records covers the years 1636 to 1991 and includes over 5,000 cubic feet of primary source documentation detailing Connecticut’s rich judicial history from the colonial time period, to the end of the twentieth century. These materials cover a wide range of court systems and court activities both civil and criminal in nature; for a detailed listing of this collection please see our on-line Guide to Judicial Record Collections. Patrons may visit the Connecticut State Library to conduct research within the Connecticut Court records collections by following the Rules & Procedures for Using Archival Materials and requesting the desired materials.
Though there are many types of recorded records found within the various court systems over the past 375+ years, in general there are two formats of documentation found within a court system of interest to the historical researcher: court files which are the working papers of a court case, and court record volumes which is the official record and judgment of a court case.
Below are listed scanned images of these indexes found at the beginning of each volume of the Fairfield County, Superior Court records if one existed. The listing includes two series of court volumes. The First Series of the Fairfield County Superior Court Records consists of 13 volumes (1798-1877) of which only volumes #4-13 (1841-1877) have indexes as found below. The Second Series of the Fairfield County Superior Court Records consists of 48 volumes (1877-1939) of which only volumes #1-31 (1877-1932) contain full or partial indexes as found below. Unfortunately, as a result of these two series, there are duplicate volume numbers attributed to the first 13 volumes of each series.
Please be aware that patrons may visit the Connecticut State Library to view and access these original records by following the Rules & Procedures for using archival materials or to search the non-indexed Fairfield Superior Court Records volumes #1-3 First Series, 1798-1840 & volumes #32-48 Second Series, 1932-39.
If a record of interest is found in any of the below Fairfield County Superior Court Record indexes, and a reproduction of the original record is desired, you may submit a request via E-mail or by contacting the History & Genealogy Unit of the Connecticut State Library at (860) 757-6580. Please include the court name, along with the volume and page the case is found, along with the case name as it may extend beyond the page indexed.
Reproduction formats and fees available, are as follows:
Pre-payment is not needed as a bill will accompany the finished product, either in the mail with photocopies or with the digital images.
*Volume numbering starts over
**No volume 28
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
