History & Genealogy Court Indexes

New Haven County, County Court Record Indexes, 1666-1837; 1841-1855  

The Connecticut State Library has within the Connecticut State Archives a unique and extensive collection of original Connecticut court materials which have been stored and preserved within a specific archival record group (RG) #003, Records of the Judicial Department.   

This collection of judicial records covers the years 1636 to 1991 and includes over 5,000 cubic feet of primary source documentation detailing Connecticut’s rich judicial history from the colonial time period, to the end of the twentieth century.  These materials cover a wide range of court systems and court activities both civil and criminal in nature; for a detailed listing of this collection please see our on-line Guide to Judicial Record Collections.

Patrons may visit the Connecticut State Library to conduct research within the Connecticut Court records collections by following the Rules & Procedures for Using Archival Materials and requesting the desired materials.   

Though there are many types of recorded records found within the various court systems over the past 375+ years, in general there are two formats of documentation found within a court system of interest to the historical researcher: court files which are the working papers of a court case, and court record volumes which is the official record and judgment of a court case.   

Below are listed scanned images of these indexes found at the beginning of each volume of the New Haven County, County Court records.  The listing consists of 26 volumes of the New Haven County, County Court records dating from 1666-1837 and 1841-1855.  The index for volume #24 which covers the years circa 1837-1841 is missing, thus there is a gap in the index sequence.   

Please be aware that patrons may visit the Connecticut State Library to view and access these original records by following the Rules & Procedures for using Archival Materials or if a record of interest is found in any of the below New Haven County, County  Court Record indexes, and a reproduction of the original record is desired, you may submit a request via E-mail or by contacting the History & Genealogy Unit of the Connecticut State Library at (860) 757-6580.  Please include the court name, along with the volume and page the case is found, along with the case name as it may extend beyond the page indexed.  

Reproduction formats and fees available, are as follows: 

• Photocopy: black & white copy, 8 1/2 X 11″ or 11 X 14″ sized paper, 25 cents; 11 X 17″, 50 cents per photocopied page, plus a $3.00 handling fee and first-class postage charges.
• Photocopy: color copy 8 1/2 X 11″ or 11 X 14″ sized paper, $1.00 per photocopied page, 11 X 17″, $1.25 per photocopied page plus a $3.00 handling fee and first-class postage charges.
• Digital images (low or high resolution): PDF, JEG, TIFF, or DNG images, 25 cents per image, plus a $3.00 handling fee.  Digital file may be delivered via internet for no additional cost.

Pre-payment is not needed as a bill will accompany the finished product, either in the mail with photocopies or with the digital images.