WPA Art Inventory Project

George Marinko was one of the founders of the surrealist style in the United States. He was born in Derby, Connecticut in 1908. His father was a brass worker. From 1925 to 1929, Marinko attended the Waterbury Art School, coming under the influence of Lewis York, a visiting art professor from Yale. Funded by wealthy persons in Waterbury, he was able to attend the Yale School of Fine Arts where York and Eugene Savage were teachers, and Marinko began experimenting with surrealism. However, his academic training ended that first year with the stock market collapse. He survived by taking odd jobs and painting traditional landscapes. He was an individualist and worked in the surrealist style before he knew what it was. From 1934-1942, he painted in the surrealist style and completed “regionalist landscapes.” In 1936 he was included in an exhibition of surrealist art at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. In the late 1930s he traveled to Europe and Mexico, and on his return, worked for the Public Works of Art Project and then for the WPA Federal Arts Project from 1938 to 1940. In an interesting departure from approved criteria, the Federal Arts Project accepted a couple surrealist paintings from among the seventeen he completed. One of his paintings not done under the WPA, Orpheus in Agony, was exhibited at the New York World’s Fair. Marinko taught at the Waterbury Art School and in 1950-1951 served as an assistant director of the Hudson River Museum in Yonkers, New York. According to one art dealer, Marinko’s earliest surrealist paintings were among the best by an American that he had seen, but Marinko never considered himself an equal with other surrealist artists. He was not well known outside of Waterbury or New Haven, where he spent the last thirty years of his life in a two room apartment. Visitors noted that there was very little furniture in his apartment, and that it contained numerous easels paintings that no one had ever seen. It was not until his later years that art historians and the public began to appreciate Marinko’s contributions to the development of American art through his surrealist paintings. He died in 1989.

Sources:  WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; AskART; Raymond W. Smith and Peter Hastings Falk, George Marinko 1908-1989; Pioneer American Surrealist, catalogue for an exhibit at the John Slade Ely House Center for Contemporary Art in New Haven 1989; “George Marinko, 1908-1989,” Waterbury Hall of Fame; Social Security Death Index; Who Was Who in American Art (1985), p. 385; Michael Fitzsousa, “Mattatuck Museum Exhibits Connecticut’s Surreal People” and Waterbury Surrealist Still Active at the Age of 80,”Waterbury Sunday Republican, November 27, 1988; “George Marinko Dies; Top Surrealist Painter,” Waterbury Republican, May 25, 1989; Maxine Olderman, “The Life and Times of George Marinko,” New Haven Register, June 4, 1989.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from George Marinko:

Very little is known about Floyd Martin. He worked for the WPA Federal Arts Project’s predecessor, the Public Works of Art Project. Under the WPA, he completed several oil murals for the Waterside School in Stamford, Connecticut and several others for the Burdick Jr. High School in Stamford. Martin’s dates of birth and death are unknown.

Source: WPA Allocation Card.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Floyd Martin:

Michel Martino was born on February 22, 1889, in Italy. He attended New Haven Public Schools and the Hopkins Grammar School. He studied for seven years in the Yale School of Fine Arts, focusing on sculpture. He also studied in Rome and Paris.  Like Karl Lang, Martino worked with Gutzon Borglum. He exhibited at the National Academy, the Architectural League, Ferargil Galleries, and the Galleries of American Artists. Among his sculptures were the Spanish American War and World War I memorials in New Haven, Connecticut; White Plains, New York; and Brooklyn, New York. Prior to the WPA Federal Arts Project he worked for the Public Works of Art Project. Under the WPA, he created ten three dimensional works that were allocated to the Roger Sherman School, Susan Sheridan Jr. High School, New Haven Board of Education, Yankee Division Veteran Association, Long Lane Farm, and the Children’s Building in New Haven. Martino died in 1969 in East Haven.

 Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; Social Security Death Index; AskART.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Michel Martino:

John Matulis was born in New Britain, Connecticut in 1911. He attended public schools and graduated from the Hartford Art School in 1933. He then worked for the WPA Federal Arts Project from 1936 to 1940. According to his obituary, Matulis completed 55 color plates for the Index of American Design, but his work card shows that he completed only 47 color plates and one oil painting. He also supervised other artists assigned to the Index project. Matulis was one of three Connecticut artists who had a plate exhibited at the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Library in Hyde Park. During World War II, 1942-1945, he served in the U. S. Army drawing topographic maps from aerial photographs. From 1945 to 1975 he was a technical illustrator for Pratt and Whitney. After Matulis retired, he served on the Connecticut Commission on Aging from 1975 t 1978 and taught drawing at the New Britain Senior Center. According to his obituary, he “designed posters for the National Institute of Senior Centers for the National Council on Aging” and covers for the AARP magazine. Matulis was a well known and respected local artist.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; AskART; Obituary, New Britain Herald, January 12, 2000; Matthew Hay Brown, “John G. Matulis, 89, Dies; “3 State Artists Have Work in Hyde park Show,” Hartford Courant, September 13, 1941; “Artist Painted Apples,” Hartford Courant, January 12, 2000; Edwin O. Christensen, The Index of American Design (National Gallery of Art, 1950), pp. 88, 154-155, 189, 205, 207.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from John Matulis:

William McCracken was born April 4, 1906 in Belfast, Ireland. Before working for the WPA Federal Arts Project, he painted for the Public Works of Art Project. He was a graduate from the Yale School of Fine Arts in 1931. He was an instructor at the Famous Artists School for nine years. In the book, In Pursuit of Paradise: History of the Town of Stratford, Connecticut, author Lewis G. Knapp wrote: “The community center worked hard during the depression years, teaching sewing, canning, and home budgeting to housewives….Bill McCracken’s art courses led to exhibits by emerging artists, among them Steven Dohanos, Norman Rockwell, and Kerr Erby….” He was also an art instructor with the Fairfield and Bridgeport adult education programs of the the public school system and was staff artist with the General Electric Company during World War II.  He also taught art at Sterling Community House in Stratford and was chairman of its Art Committee.

He began his work for the WPA on December 5, 1935. He completed eight murals and one easel painting that were allocated to the Bridgeport Normal School, the Council Room of Stratford Town Hall, the Children’s Room of the Bridgeport Public Library, Pleasure Beach Park, and the Newfield Branch of the Bridgeport Library. McCracken died April 1, 1962 at Griffin Hospital in Derby, Connecticut at the age of 55.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Allotment Card. Additional information and corrections were provided by William McCracken’s family.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from William McCracken:

Albert McCutcheon was born in Middletown, Connecticut on January 1, 1901. He attended the Durant School in Middletown. He also took private lessons in art, history, language, and music for four years. He went on to study at the Yale School of Fine Arts, continuing his studies at the Julian Academy in Paris in 1923. He married Hilde Anderson, an artist, in 1924. He studied abroad once again in 1928, and later from 1932 to 1935. For a period of several years McCutcheon worked as a free lance easel painter, mural painter, and interior designer. He was a colonial and ecclesiastical restorer. Prior to the WPA Federal Arts Project, he worked for the Public Works of Art Project. In 1936 he began work for the WPA. McCutcheon completed a series of murals entitled The Epic of Middletown for the Woodrow Wilson High School in Middletown in 1938. He also painted a mural for the Durant School Kindergarten and 15 easel pictures that were allocated to Woodrow Wilson High School, Fort Wright, Undercliff Sanatorium, the Municipal Air Terminus [Brainard Field] in Hartford, and the Hindley School in Darien. His style of painting was described by the WPA officials as “at once modern and individual.” They went on to note that his pictures “unlike many of the modern school, are predominantly gay, airy, and harmonious.” McCutcheon died in 1990 in Middletown.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; “Middletown Man’s Fine Murals Halted by Recent Ruling of WPA Officials,”Hartford Courant, January 3, 1937; “Free Art Gallery At Marlborough Open for Summer,” Hartford Courant, July 27, 1938; “Aviation Board Invites Corrigan To Visit Airport,” Hartford Courant, August 9, 1938; [Obituary], Hartford Courant, April 9, 1990.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Albert McCutcheon:

There is little known about this artist except that in 1936 she completed the mural The Six White Swans for the WPA Federal Arts Project. It consisted of four panels, each four feet by four feet, and was allocated to the Hindley School in Darien, Connecticut in 1939. McFarland’s date of birth and death are unknown. 

Source: WPA Artist’s Work Card.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Mae McFarland:

William McKillop was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1878. He began his art studies in 1904 at the St. Louis Art School. He later studied in Paris at the Academy Julian under Jean Paul Laurens and at the Academy of Beaux Arts under Edward Laurent. Several of his paintings were exhibited at the Paris Salon. In 1913 he returned to the United States and established a studio. McKillop exhibited at the National Academy, the Chicago Institute, the Society of Independent Artists, the Allied Artists Exhibitions, and the Panama Pacific Exhibition in San Francisco where he won a silver medal. In 1927 he moved to Kent, Connecticut. Under the WPA Federal Arts Project, he painted a series of interiors of old houses and several landscapes which were allocated to the Lincoln School, Kent High School, the Board of Education, Weston Public Library, and the Kent Memorial Library. His WPA Biography called him “an internationally known painter of considerable distinction.” McKillop died in 1937 at his home in Kent “after a long illness.”

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; AskART; Who Was Who in American Art (1985), p. 409; Robert Michael Austin, Artists of the Litchfield Hills, pp. 76, 118; [Obituary], New York Times, December 22, 1937.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from William McKillop:

All that is known about Christopher McLaughlin is that he worked for the Connecticut FAP completing a mural entitled Nursery Tales at Undercliff Sanatorium and three panels of a mural entitled Raggedy Ann Storiesallocated to the Tuttle School in East Haven.

Sources:  WPA Artist’s Work Card

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Christopher McLaughlin:

Gregory McLoughlin completed a mural for the Westport Library. It is unknown whether it was painted under the WPA Federal Arts Project. There is evidence that he worked for the Public Works of Art Project, the predecessor to the more ambitious WPA. The dates of McLoughlin’s birth and death are unknown.

Source: WPA Allocation Card

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Gregory McLoughlin:

James Goodwin McManus was born in Hartford, Connecticut on February 5, 1882. He studied art under W.G. Bunce, Montague Flagg, Robert B. Brandegee, and Walter Griffin. He would become one of the most influential local artists in Connecticut. In 1910 he helped found the Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts and was its president from 1935 until 1938. He was also president of the Hartford Salmagundians. McManus was a member of the Springfield Art League, Lyme Art Association, Salmagundi Club, New Haven Paint and Clay Club, and the Connecticut Art Association. He won the Alice C. Dunham and popular prize in 1923, the Cooper prize in 1929, and the Connecticut Academy of Fine Art’s Bunce prize in 1930 and 1933. He was an instructor at Hartford Public High School and the Connecticut League of Art Students. He began working for the WPA Federal Arts Project in April 1936, but received no salary working as a “non-relief” artist until July 1940, when he left the project. McManus completed 32 easel works that were allocated to the Children’s Community Center in New Haven, Danbury Normal School, Undercliff Sanatorium, Center School in Windham, Pequot School in Southport, Board of Park Commissioners, Hartford Park Department, Hamden High School, Cedarcrest Sanatorium, the Teacher’s Club in Manchester, Rocky Hill Soldiers’ Home, Beach Park School in West Hartford, the State Teacher’s College in New Haven, and the Hartford Adult School. In 1954 the Wadsworth Athenaeum held a one man show of his work. McManus died on September 5, 1958, and is buried in St. Patrick’s Cemetery, Hartford.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; AskART; WPA Art Project Bulletin, July 1940; [Photo Standalone], Hartford Courant, August 16, 1925; “Carl Ringius Painted by J. G. McManus,” Hartford Courant, June 16, 1932; “McManus’s Brush Paid High Tribute,”Hartford Courant, March 15, 1936; [Photo Standalone], Hartford Courant, May 24, 1935;”Art Teacher Long With Adult School,”Hartford Courant, September 25, 1947; John A. Maher, “Memoirs of the Connecticut Art League,” Hartford Courant, April 25, 1948; “Young Bohemian,” Hartford Courant, March 26, 1954; “Local Artist Honored by [Wadsworth] Atheneum,” Hartford Courant, April 4, 1954; “McManus’s Art Sums Up His Heritage,” Hartford Courant, April 23, 1954; “James G. MacManus Dies; Nationally Known Artist,” Hartford Courant, September 6, 1958.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from James McManus:

Clifton Meek was born on January 22, 1888, in Fremont, Ohio. He learned telegraphy at an early age and by the time he was 17, was working for a railroad company. Looking for a better career, he attended a Cleveland school of art and became a cartoonist for the Scripps-McRae Syndicate first in Cleveland and then in San Francisco. In the latter, he drew a four panel comic strip entitled, “Johnny Mouse,” and Walt Disney claimed that “Johnny” was an inspiration for “Mickey Mouse.” In 1912 John Gruelle of Norwalk, creator of the “Raggedy Ann” books, invited him to move east. Meek settled in Silvermine and was one of the earliest members of the Silvermine Guild of Artists. He drew comic strips for the New York World andNew York Evening Journal. His mouse cartoons appeared in Life Magazine. However, he grew disenchanted with cartooning. At an auction he purchased a portable forge, and for the remainder of his life he created ironwork, much of which was used in the region. He began working for the WPA Federal Arts Project in November 1935 and completed 28 bronze and wrought iron signs allocated to Benjamin Franklin Junior High School, Broad River School, Washington School, and New Canaan Town Hall. Reproductions of his This is Silvermine signs can be seen throughout Norwalk. Meek died in Norwalk, Connecticut in 1973.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Allotment Card; “Cartoonist Meek Held in Auto Death,” Hartford Courant, May 24, 1923; Obituary, Norwalk Hour, July 31, 1973;“Clifton Meek,” Lambiek.netwww.lambiek.net/artists/m/meek_clifton.htm; Social Security Death Index

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Clifton Meek:

Little is known about Harold Merriam. He worked for the WPA Federal Arts Project starting on February 28, 1936, creating 23 works for the Index of American Design. He may have lived in Westbrook, Connecticut from 1936-June 1938 and in Lyme from 1939-40. His residence in Westbrook was damaged by the 1938 hurricane. On May 10, 1959, the New York Timesreported in an article about gallery exhibitions that his works were being exhibited at Mond’Art Galleries. In his mother’s obituary on May 17, 1970, theHartford Courant reported that her son, Harold, was in California. The dates of Merriam’s birth and death are unknown. Of interest is the entry for Harold A. Merriam in the Social Security Death Index. It shows that he received his Social Security Card in Connecticut. He was born on May 15, 1910, and died on September 10, 2002. His last residence was Carson City, Nevada.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Allocation Card; “Galleries Here Plan Busy Week,’ New York Times, May 10, 1959; Deaths – Rose D. Merriam,Hartford Courant, May 17, 1970; WPA Federal Arts Project Newsletter, September 1938, October 1938; Erwin O. Christensen, The Index of American Design, (New York, 1959), pp. 124, 203; Social Security Death Index.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Harold Merriam:

Guido Metelli lived in Hartford, Connecticut and worked for the Federal Arts Project on the Index of American Design from 1938-1939 under the supervision of John Matulis. His dates of birth and death are unknown.

Sources WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Federal Arts Project Newsletter, September 1938.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Guido Metelli:

Casimir Michalczyk was born in Indian Orchard, Massachusetts in 1914. He attended Classical High School and after, worked on a mural for the Springfield Museum of Natural History. He enrolled in the Rhode Island School of Design and graduated in 1938. While attending he painted in Provincetown with John Frazier and apprenticed in stone carving in the American colonial style at the oldest such shop in the country, John Steven’s in Newport. Michalczyk attended the Yale School of Fine Arts and studied sculpting, receiving a BACHELOR OF FINE ARTS in 1940. He married another sculptor he had met at the school. In 1941 Michalczyk worked for the Federal Arts Project completing 15 watercolors. He and his wife traveled to Ames, Iowa where he headed the Iowa State University Sculpture Department but the onset of war ended that employment. Michalczyk returned to Connecticut and worked for the Pratt, Read and Co. in Ivorytown during the war. From making piano keys from ivory during peacetime, the company switched to making glider planes during the war. He worked as a technical illustrator bringing perspective to line workers who had trouble reading blueprints and other plans. Michalczyk later said that he “had to be able to draw every single part of the airplane” in perspective. In 1946 he began a 25 year job as an industrial sculptor at Pratt and Whitney Aircraft in East Hartford. He worked with design engineers to make “precise replicas of engine parts in plaster and plastic.” He made over 1,000 wind tunnel models while at the company, including some for Apollo I. In 1971 Michalczyk had a heart attack and later was laid off by Pratt and Whitney. He again began to work as an artist. A stone carver, he made his own tools and gave them away to art schools and friends. He made inscriptions in slate and medallions for public and private institutions throughout New England. In 1979, Michalczyk made a plastic replica of the statue, Justice, which as a wooden model was taken down after 149 years atop the Old Statehouse dome. Perhaps the project that garnered him the most publicity was his refurbishing of the Genius of Connecticut in 1972-1973. The model now stands on the first floor of the State Capitol. In 2002 he received the Governor’s Arts Award. In 2005 Michalczyk died in Hartford at the age of 90.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; Hartford Courant: “24-Hour Alert Ordered for Fire Departments, September 11, 1954; “Most of Court Cases Involve Auto Violations,” September 14, 1954; “Symphony Fund Workers To Hear Rena Greenwald,” January 1, 1956; “County Art Association Is Holding 13^th Fall Exhibition,” October 20, 1959; Photo Standalone 32, July 2, 1961; “Camps King, Together Open for 70 Children,” July 8, 1968; “Junior Women Have Dime Day to Help Restore Capitol Statue,” November 12, 1972; “Rearming,” Photo Standalone 6, January 27, 1973; “Loose Model Getting Backbone,” February 12, 1973; “Sculptor Making Memorial to First Coast Guardsman,” March 2, 1975; “Bicentennial Medallion Shown,” Photo Standalone 20, March 24, 1976; “Playing Fields of U of H Will Have Arabic Signs,” September 20, 1977; “Sperm Whale Plague Dedicated at Museum,” October 28, 1978; “The Anonymous Sculptor,” June 1, 1980; “His Sure Hands Carve Out a Career in an Almost-Forgotten Art Form,” April 1, 1984; “Some Balance for Palestinian Troupe’s Production,” May 30, 2002; Obituary for Katharine Michalczyk,” October 22, 2003; Obituary for Casimer Michalczyk, April 23, 2005; “Those Who Made a Difference,” New York Times, January 1, 2006. The records for the Commission on Preservation and Restoration of Connecticut State Capitol, 1972-1973 are in the State Archives of the Connecticut State Library. It was under this commission that Michalczyk refurbished the model for the statue Genius of Connecticut. For the finding aid, go towww.cslib.org/archives/Finding_Aids/RG084.html.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Casimer Michalczyk:

Little is known about Raymond Milici. He was born in 1914 in New Haven, Connecticut and was a brother of Salvatore Milici. While working in the National Youth Administration, he was assigned to the Federal Arts Project for a few months. He worked with clay. Milici died in New Haven in 1998.

Sources: WPA time card; Social Security Death Index; Obituary, New Haven Register, September 4, 1998.

Salvatore Milici was born on May 30, 1907, in New Haven, Connecticut where he attended public schools. Before working for the project he had worked as a carpenter, a landscape artist, an interior decorator, and a sign painter. He won the Beaux Arts Competition in 1928. In 1932 he graduated from the Yale Art School. He worked for the predecessor to the WPA Federal Arts Project the Public Works of Art Project. Under the WPA, he created five sculptures and reliefs. They were allocated to the 102^nd Regiment State Armory. Salvatore died May 8, 1982, at St. Mary’s Hospital in Waterbury, Connecticut.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; Obituary, Cheshire Herald, May 13, 1982

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Salvatore Milici: 

In 1934 A. Reid Mimsey completed a mural for the Atwater Training School in New Haven, Connecticut. It was executed in egg tempera and titled His Book. Mimsey started under the direction of the FERA and the Public Works of Art Project. It is unknown if he was transferred to the WPA Federal Arts Project. The dates of Mimsey’s birth and death are unknown.

Source: WPA Allocation Card.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from A. Mimsey:

Theodore Monaghan was born in Zurich, Switzerland on March 30, 1890. His parents were Irish. Monaghan was orphaned when both of his parents died in Hamburg, Germany. He was brought up in Germany, attending public schools in Hamburg. From a young age he could draw and model in clay. He began his formal art education with four years at the Hamburg Art School and went on to spend a short time at the Berlin Academy. In 1919 he married Frida Lehfeldt and had one son. He visited San Antonio, Texas in 1928 and liked the U.S. so much that he stayed. He moved to Hartford, Connecticut in 1932 and became a naturalized citizen in 1937. Before the WPA Federal Arts Project, he worked for the Public Works for Art Program. He then worked for the WPA starting in 1935 and completed 16 works. One of his most notable achievements is the design and modeling of 22 life size figures for the Nativity Set in Bushnell Park first displayed in December 1938. His other work was allocated to the Hartford County Courthouse, the Hartford Park Department, the Hartford Superior Court Bar Library, East Hartford Town Hall, West Hartford Board of Education, Edward Morley School in West Hartford, Undercliff Sanatorium, and the Lawrence Street School in Hartford.

Sources: WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; Social Security Death Index; Elizabeth W. Wolcott, “Nativity at Bethlehem; A Traditional Biblical Scene is refitted for Bushnell Park,” Hartford Courant, December 12, 1954.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Theodore Monaghan:

Edith Dale Monson was born on August 26, 1875, in New Haven, Connecticut. She was descended from Dr. Aeneas Monson, a Revolutionary surgeon who removed musket balls from wounded soldiers on the patriot side and participated in the Battle of Yorktown. She attended public schools in New Haven and two years at Miss Johnstone’s Private School. She taught in public schools and then attended and graduated from Smith College in the Class of 1900. After her father died in 1917, Monson and her mother moved to Hartford. Her mother needed constant care, and Monson lived with her in a Hartford apartment. She studied in Paris and in New York City at the Art Students League with Robert Henri, the founder of the Ashcan School of Art that stressed realism. She was one of the most important female artists in the history of the Hartford Art Colony. Monson was a member of the Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts, the New Haven Paint and Clay Club which she co-founded, the Society of Independent Artists, and the Hartford Society of Women Painters and Sculptors. She also served as an officer in most of these organizations. Monson was a reformer for women’s causes, marching with the suffragettes and actively participating in the Connecticut League of Women Voters and in the Connecticut Consumers’ League against sweatshops. She often signed her paintings as “Dale Monson,” because she believed that men had less difficulty in selling their art. In 1932 she opened a studio on Main Street in Hartford and for many years gave lessons in painting and drawing. She exhibited widely and won awards. She was devoted to teaching, and several students went on to exhibit their works. Monson joined the Federal Arts Project and completed sixty easel paintings from 1938-1940. Most of her paintings were allocated throughout the state, and her WPA Federal Arts Project art was exhibited. She continued to teach and paint after World War II. Monson lived to be 102 and died on October 2, 1977. Her nephew, Shepherd Holcomb, gathered the contents of her studio after she died and placed them in his home. Recently the University of Hartford held an exhibition of her works from this collection entitled, Edith Dale Monson: Hartford’s American Realist. 

Sources:  WPA Artist’s Work Card; WPA Biography; AskART; Letter and enclosures from Shepherd Holcomb, 12/07/2005; “Edith Dale Monson,” Special Collections University of Hartford Libraries, Archives and Special Collections; Obituary for Stella Shepherd Monson, Hartford Courant, August 10, 1929; “Feminine Topics,” Hartford Courant, April 4, 1932; “Women Voters Study Proposed Legislation,” Hartford Courant, December 3, 1931; “Sweat Shops Protest Aim of Gathering,” Hartford Courant, December 2, 1932; “Hartford Society Women Painters Will Open Exhibit,” Hartford Courant, January 23, 1944; “Federal College Has 50 Summer Students,” Hartford Courant, July 10, 1937; “Mrs. Lewis Rose Opens Lecture Series Monday,” Hartford Courant, October 6, 1946; “Yachting Exhibition Will Open Wednesday With Reception at Avery,”Hartford Courant, April 9, 1950; “Paintings Attract Much Attention At Public Library, Hartford Courant, December 3, 1950; “Paintings on Display At Branch Library,” Hartford Courant, October 18, 1954; “With a Twinkling Eye She Marks 100^th Year,” West Hartford News, August 28, 1975; “Ethel Holcombe Dies; Former GOP Official,”Hartford Courant, July 17, 1976; “Edith Monson, Local Artist, Dies at 102,” Hartford Courant, October 3, 1977.

Works of Art Listed in CT Archives’ database from Edith Monson: