As 2023 winds down to a close, we are pleased to show our appreciation for the people who help make the Uncovering New Haven project possible. In this post, we highlight the wonderful work of three recent student interns and volunteers.
Also check out these previous profiles!
Gina unfolds a case from the New Haven County Court papers by subject category Executions and smooths out the creases with a bone folder.
Educational background:
What drew you to seek an internship with the Uncovering New Haven project and the Connecticut State Archives?
I fostered an intimate respect for the preservation of artifacts and their power to give life to the past and challenge our understanding of history while I was researching for my undergraduate history thesis. I am particularly grateful to Hollins librarian Luke Vilelle, who advocated for Hollins’ first-ever funding decision in support of an open access initiative, the very one that gave me access to the digital collection which contained nearly all the primary sources used in my thesis. Learners of all ages need quality resources, and digitization is critical for making documents accessible to researchers.
I was drawn to volunteer and pursue an internship with the Uncovering New Haven project and the Connecticut State Archives due to the project’s compelling mission to make historical court records, especially those involving Black and Indigenous people in the state, publicly accessible. The decision to prioritize digitization of documents involving underrepresented groups reflects a deliberate effort to amplify voices that may have been marginalized or overlooked in traditional historical narratives. This approach aligns with a broader societal shift towards acknowledging and rectifying historical imbalances, ensuring that the experiences of minorities, women, and other underrepresented groups are brought to the forefront.
This inclusive approach not only fosters a deeper understanding of the past but also promotes more equitable access to historical records, contributing to a more informed and engaged public. The Uncovering New Haven project’s commitment to accessibility and inclusivity resonates with my own values, and I am very proud to be involved in this meaningful initiative.
Describe a normal day in the archives for you:
A typical day for me in the archives involved settling into an independent work station to process court records, specifically writs of execution of the New Haven County Court from 1800-1809. When I encountered misfiled documents in the case, I set them aside to be sorted. The oldest misfile I found in the 1800-1809 cases was from 1786.
The archivists supplied me with several resources: the anatomy of a case, an article on the long S (commonly found in colonial American script), a cursive guide, a list of common Black and African American names, a list of prominent people, and a noncomprehensive list of various first names and surnames of English and other European-descended persons who appear in the New Haven County Court records from 1666-1855. I gently unfolded the handwritten documents and examined them for the defendant and plaintiff’s names. I documented this on a separate piece of paper, and then laid the article flat within a folder identifying the metadata. As I went through the case, I set aside any documents that I believed met the criteria for digitization, as well as any documents I believed needed immediate attention. If I was stumped by a document, I would consult with the archivists and visiting genealogists who were assisting with the project.
When I was done for the day, I laid a large flat weight on top of the unfolded documents. The archivist will eventually examine them with my notes and move forward with digitization and preservation methods to contain the existing damage on deteriorating documents. This preservation mostly consists of encasing certain documents in Mylar so that the pieces of a document can be kept together.
What is the most interesting, memorable, surprising, and/or bizarre thing(s) you’ve found while processing the court records?
I processed a case of “executions,” which the archivist made sure to emphasize are not documents about capital punishment. After a court enters a judgment in a civil case, it is up to the prevailing party to execute that judgment. This requires a writ of execution, which is a form of legal process issued by a court that directs the court officer to seize the assets of the losing party to satisfy the judgment debt.
One of the most interesting aspects of my experience was discovering court cases related to the maintenance of colonial roads. I was surprised to find documents where individuals sought and secured means to repair local roads through the court, shedding light on the challenges of maintaining roads during that period. I was confronted with many Puritan-era names that looked alien to my 21st-century eyes, as well as the prevalence of family disputes and debts settled through the court system. This phenomenon was particularly bizarre from my 21st-century perspective, but ultimately helped me understand the different context of their financial realities.
What aspects of working on this project did you enjoy the most, and why? What aspects did you enjoy the least, and why?
The most enjoyable aspects of working on this project included gaining confidence in reading and interpreting historical documents as I progressed through the stack of executions from 1800 to 1809. The opportunity to draw connections and make observations about recurring names and family dynamics was fascinating. The documents all shared the same basic structure, so it was not difficult to locate the names of the plaintiff and defendant. Deciphering the script to determine the spelling of those names took most of my time. However, the sheer volume of documents and the time-consuming nature of deciphering script was at times daunting.
While most documents I handled were intact, some batches of documents were much more delicate or damaged than others. When I encountered documents that had been sewn or pasted together, I indicated that they needed preservation attention on a sticky note and attached it to the paper on which I recorded the document’s metadata. This paper was folded in half and used to cradle and protect the document. I did come across some documents that were too fragile to try to unfold to read, that seemed ready to disintegrate in my hands. These I set aside in a priority pile to be repaired before they were analyzed for metadata.
What have you learned about court records, history, or in general over the course of working on the Uncovering New Haven project?
During this internship I learned that every rule in the archive has an exception, and archivists must consider the unique needs and context of each object in the collection.
Through my engagement with the Uncovering New Haven project, I gained a profound understanding of court records as more than just legal documents—they are portals into the lives of individuals who navigated the complexities of their time. These records transcend the legal realm, offering glimpses into the personal stories, challenges, and aspirations of those who found themselves entwined in the court's proceedings.
Working with historical court records has allowed me to humanize people from our past. Beyond being names on faded paper, these individuals become characters in a narrative, each with a unique set of circumstances. Moreover, the process of deciphering handwritten scripts and interpreting the intentions behind legal actions has deepened my connection to history. It’s not merely about cataloging events; it’s about recognizing the shared humanity that resonates through time. Each name on these documents represents someone who faced challenges, sought justice, or simply navigated the complexities of life in a bygone era.
The Uncovering New Haven project has allowed me to humanize history by acknowledging the individuals behind the legal transactions. This project goes beyond dates and judgments, and invites us to empathize with the individuals who shaped the past and contributed to the rich tapestry of New Haven’s history.
Is there anything else that you would like to share about your internship experience?
This internship has impressed on me that how we engage with our past continues to shape our present. I have nothing but respect for the CT State Library after witnessing the meticulous work of archivists, who are not just concerned with the preservation of the physical documents but also the integrity of the information conveyed by them.
At one point in my internship I had the opportunity to watch archivist Sarah Morin puzzle over a particularly illegible signature which had been previously transcribed in archival records as “Philipia?” as a best guess. Although she struggled to make out the signature herself, she told me she was sure that Philipia was incorrect. After searching through old family records, she was able to confidently determine the name of the divorcee in question was “Hilpa.” I was moved by the effort taken to preserve the identity of this woman in our state records.
I deeply value the opportunity to contribute to the archive’s mission to make historical Connecticut records publicly accessible and promote awareness of the digitized court documents available online.
Writ and bond from Zeno Asher and Asahel Hathaway vs. David J. Fisher, 1805. Asher and Hathaway sued Fisher for payment of a $300 debt.
Abby writes a label for a divorce case from the New Haven County Superior Court.
Educational background:
What drew you to seek an internship with the Uncovering New Haven project and the Connecticut State Archives?
I needed an internship to graduate college and contacted a family friend who works at the State Library to ask if they knew about any good opportunities. They’re the one who recommended the Uncovering New Haven project to me. I’m very grateful that they did, because it’s been a very fun experience learning new skills and building on my education.
Describe a normal day in the archives for you:
I usually commute to Hartford in the morning and spend most of my time continuing whatever I’m currently helping with. This started with court cases from 1817, then moved to executions (no, not that kind) from the mid to late 1700s, and I’m now processing divorce petitions from the early 1800s. Mostly for the sake of my sanity, I started making an index when I came across documents that didn’t have one. I am now digitizing this index and will send the finished version to the project for future use. If it can be helpful to anyone, then I’m happy to do it.
What is the most interesting, memorable, surprising, and/or bizarre thing(s) you’ve found while processing the court records?
One of my favorite aspects of reading the court documents is remembering that while life was very different in the past, it was still being lived by real people. It can be very easy to forget this when studying history since it’s a topic that is frequently condensed and limited to “notable people.” The things that remind me of this are the little spelling mistakes, signatures, writing styles, and marks that are left on the papers. By far my favorite is a small doodle of a man’s head that I found on one document, which I’ve only seen once. I enjoy wondering about who drew it there—maybe a constable or clerk who was bored or had extra time. It helps bridge the gap between the time these were written and today when I’m looking at them.
What aspects of working on this project did you enjoy the most, and why? What aspects did you enjoy the least, and why?
I most enjoy seeing how different the daily lives of ordinary people were during these periods of time. While some documents provide more insight into this than others, each one still contributes. It can be as small as the names of the people involved, ranging from recognizable in the modern day to something I’ve never heard of. Rather than the grand, ideological sagas immortalized in popular history, I get to see a hint of the lives and relationships of everyday people.
My least favorite part is also one of my other favorite parts, and that is the fact that all the documents include some amount of handwriting. While I was already vaguely familiar with modern cursive when I started the internship, it’s a very different experience from historical cursive. Learning how to simply read it was one of the biggest challenges, and even now I sometimes struggle with some of the handwriting. Even so, it’s a fun challenge that I usually enjoy.
What have you learned about court records, history, or in general over the course of working on the Uncovering New Haven project?
I’ve learned how social norms can change over time. Things like animals and land were extremely important to people since they were their transportation and livelihood. Receiving a horse that wasn’t as healthy as promised was equivalent to receiving a car that can’t function properly. And while divorce wasn’t nearly as prominent as it is today, it certainly did happen. It was more often initiated by women, and usually caused by desertion and/or adultery (which was considered a crime). Women actually played a more active role than one might expect, since they could be executors of their husbands’ wills or primary guardians of minors. On rare occasions, they acted as legal counsel to their husbands.
Is there anything else that you would like to share about your internship and volunteer experience?
I’d like to share that while having new experiences is something I’m not the most comfortable with, I’m very glad I’m doing this. It reminds me of why I chose to study what I did and why I feel passionately about it. While I’m still uncertain about all the details of my future, I’ll be going into it with a bit more confidence than before.
Divorce petition of James Croft vs. Mary Croft (née Turner), 1827. When James came to Waterbury from Great Britain, Mary refused to leave their home country and did not go with him. He filed for divorce under grounds of desertion, and his petition was granted.
Natasha’s well-ordered workspace.
Educational background:
What drew you to seek an internship with the Uncovering New Haven project and the Connecticut State Archives?
Since my goal is to work in an archive, I chose this internship because it provided the best opportunity for a hands-on experience.
Describe a normal day in the archives for you:
I worked Monday through Thursday from 9am to 3pm. My role involved processing and labeling court records. While working in the archives I completed records from 1813, 1814, and 1816, along with executions from 1730-1750.
What is the most interesting, memorable, surprising, and/or bizarre thing(s) you’ve found while processing the court records?
The most interesting case I encountered was a state prosecution filed against a man who was charged with kidnapping an eight-year-old Black boy (see photo below).
What aspects of working on this project did you enjoy the most, and why? What aspects did you enjoy the least, and why?
I enjoyed encountering interesting cases and learning about obscure historical occurrences. I learned so much working on this project and it encouraged me to do research on topics I knew little about. The least enjoyable aspect of this project was how repetitive it could be. This was a minor inconvenience, however, as I still really enjoyed the work and the repetitive nature of the project helped make interesting cases stand out more.
What have you learned about court records, history, or in general over the course of working on the Uncovering New Haven project?
I learned a lot about how puritanical ideals influenced the justice system and how much value was placed on a person’s reputation during this period. One bad rumor could ruin someone’s livelihood and impact their social standing.
Is there anything else that you would like to share about your internship experience?
I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to work on this project and to have met with talented individuals who are passionate about preserving and improving access to valuable historical resources. I hope that I have the chance to work with these wonderful individuals again.
Writ from State of Connecticut vs. Nicholas Morgan Lance, 1814. Lance was prosecuted for kidnapping George, “a negro boy of the age of eight years, a servant late of Catherine Brooks of Middletown in the County of Middlesex, who is entitled to freedom at the age of twenty five years.”
This project is made possible through funding from the Historic Documents Preservation fund of the Office of the Public Records Administrator. We also recognize the past support of the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC).
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
0 Comments.