Woman's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU)

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

These are just some items on prohibition and Woman's Christian Temperance Union.
Sometimes Woman's is used, and sometimes Women's is used. Try searching both.
Search our catalog for many more items than listed.
Suggested terms: Temperance ; Prohibition ; 18th Amendment

Connecticut - WCTU

These are a few examples.

The White Ribbon Banner by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: Stacks HV5235.C8 C6

See library catalog for details of years.
"Official organ of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut.".
Report of the ... Convention of the Connecticut Woman's Christian Temperance Union by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut.
Call Number: Stacks HV5235.C8 C6 Item does not circulate

Check library catalog record for years, as well as previous and later titles.
Connecticut Woman's Christian Temperance Union [minutes and reports bound together] by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: CSL Stacks HV5235.C8 C6 (years)

Minutes and reports of annual conventions are bound together by year. Several volumes in stacks, other material in Special Collections.
Connecticut Counselor by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS SpecColl HV5235.C8 W45

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS - must be used in Secured Collection Area.
See library catalog for date range.

National and Outside of CT - WCTU

National Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Site for the current WCTU organization

The Union Signal; A Journal of Social Welfare by Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Call Number: CSL Special Collections HV5285 .U65 oversize Secured collection

A journal of social welfare that may contain useful articles.
Online available in - Hathi Trust and - Internet Archive https://archive.org/search.php?query=Union%20signal%20a%20journal%20of%20social%20welfare
The Union Signal; A Journal of Social Welfare by Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Call Number: Special Collections HV5285 .U65 oversize - must be used in secured collections area

Check library catalog for date range.
Several early issues online in Internet Archive and/or HathiTrust
Glimpses of Fifty Years : The Autobiography of an American Woman by Willard, Frances E.
Call Number: online and Stacks HV5232.W6 A3 item does not circulate

Publication Date: 1889

Online access through our library catalog
Woman and Temperance : or, The work and workers of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union by Frances E. Willard (Frances Elizabeth), 1839-1898. Mary A Lathbury (Mary Artemisia), 1841-1913
Call Number: CSL Stacks HV5227 .W6 1886

Publication Date: 1886

Full text available at
- Internet Archive https://archive.org/details/womantemperanceo00willa
- Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/5036278.html

Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection from Brown Digital Repository
Site description: "The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications.
The items have been collected at Brown for over three centuries for researchers and scholars at Brown and worldwide interested in American history, including the history of alcoholism, how the media was used for spreading ideas and information, and in how the arts presented various movements."