Additional Resources - Patents - U.S. - LibGuides Home at Connecticut State Library.

Resources

Connecticut Invents!
A program offered by the Museum's Education Department
more...less...
Connecticut Invents! is a standards based hands on education program for children who are entering the 4th or 5th grade. The program celebrates Connecticut inventors and inventions while letting the kids become inventors themselves. Connecticut Invents! highlights the numerous inventors and inventions that have come from our state over the past 200 years. Students will be introduced to many famous and not so famous Connecticut inventions including the Colt revolver, the toothpaste tube, Frisbee, tape measure, Wiffleball, can opener, submarine and many more.
The museum has created the Connecticut Patents Database; a searchable record of over 20,000 patents granted to Connecticut inventors between 1790 and 1890. Using this database the students will discover unique inventions from all over the state including their hometown. Hands on activities will allow the young inventors to create their own Connecticut invention using simple materials such as straws, tape, pencils and paperclips.
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
America Invents
US Patent Office's guide to the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act
Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs)
Site Description: "A Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) is part of a nationwide network of public, state, and academic libraries designated by the USPTO to support the public with trademark and patent assistance."
Index to the United States Patent Classification (USPC) System
Especially helpful for those not familiar with patent searching and patent classification system.
Connecticut Patents Project
A database of patents issued to residents of the state of Connecticut, ranging from 1800 through 1890.
Patent Indexes - Hathi Trust Collection
Collection in Hathi Trust: "Contains patent indexes from Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents from 1842-1921 and Index of patents issued from the United States Patent Office from 1920-1974" University of Michigan
Patent Law: A Beginner's Guide (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC): "Patents protect the rights of an inventor of certain items, including “any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter,” among others. This guide provides a foundation for researching patent law and the patent process."
Historical Roster Books (USPTO)
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO): "Search a register of active patent practitioners who are eligible to represent others before the USPTO in patent matters."
more...less...
Government Publishing Office (GPO): "U.S. Patent & Trademark Office offers historical roster books dating back to 1883, which could be used to determine which years an attorney or agent was registered to practice before the U.S. Patent Office."
Colt's Patent Fire Arms Manufacturing Company
This collection includes images of company administrators, employees, visitors to the Armory, interior and exterior factory views (including from the fire of 1864 and floods of 1936 and 1938), other Colt properties, events, promotional materials, and many firearms. Another exhibit of Colt firearms can be found at the State Library`s …

NOTICE: Access to CT Digital Archive (CTDA) is temporarily unstable and you may encounter outages. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Patents - U.S.

Resources