LibGuides Home: Apportionment, Reapportionment, & Redistricting: By Date

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

By Date

These are a few selected items.

The Connecticut State Library (CSL) has resources for researching older apportionment and districting. These may be from federal, state, or municipal government organizations.

Search our catalog, digital collections, and databases for more. Ask a librarian.

2021 Redistricting

2021 Redistricting Project (CGA)
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) Reapportionment Committee page.
more...less...
Links to 2011 archived pages.
2021 House Redistricting Plan Maps (CGA)
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) 2021 maps for House. By town and by district.

State Senate Redistricting Plan, 2001 by Connecticut. Reapportionment Commission
Call Number: GIRS Ref Conn Doc G251rea 2001 pLdi sen map
Publication Date: 2001

2021 Senate Redistricting Plan Maps (CGA)
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) 2021 maps for Senate. By town and by district.
Legal Authority - CGA Redistricting Project 2021
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA)

2011

Connecticut General Assembly Redistricting Project 2011
This is archived page, from the CGA site, is about Connecticut redistricting and includes archive of Connecticut 2000 also.
more...less...
Links to: maps; legal authority; court cases; reports; archives; and much more

2011 Plan of Districting for the State Senate and the State House of Representatives. Part 1, Plan of Districting for the State Senate
Call Number: Online through our library catalog
Publication Date: 2012
Title variant : Plan of districting for the State Senate.
"February 15, 2012.".
Accompanying map issued as: State Senate redistricting plan 2011 / the Connecticut General Assembly, Reapportionment Commission. [Hartford : Connecticut General Assembly Redistricting Project, 2011].
2011 Plan of Districting for the State Senate and the State House of Representatives. Part 2, Plan of Districting for the State House of Representatives
Call Number: Online through our library catalog
Publication Date: 2012
Title variant : Plan of districting for the State House of Representatives.
Accompanying map issued as: State House of Representatives redistricting plan 2011 / the Connecticut General Assembly, Reapportionment Commission. [Hartford : Connecticut General Assembly Redistricting Project, 2011].
State Senate Redistricting Plan 2011
Call Number: Online through our catalog.
Publication Date: 2011
Shows state legislative district boundaries and numbers.
Also shows minor civil divisions.
Includes list of members of Reapportionment Commission.
State House of Representatives Redistricting Plan 2011
Call Number: Online through our catalog
Publication Date: 2011
Shows state legislative district boundaries and numbers.
Also shows minor civil divisions.
Includes list of members of Reapportionment Commission.
2011 Redistricting Plan - OLR Report 2012-R-0015
Call Number: Online through our library catalog
Publication Date: 2012
Discusses whether there are any steps a municipality can take to change the 2011 Plan of Redistricting for the State Senate or State House of Representatives after the Reapportionment Commission approves it.

CNB with Democratic Legislative Leaders on the Reapportionment Commission's Failure to Agree on a Congressional Map (CT-N)
CT-N Video. Date Recorded: 12/21/2011
CNB with GOP Legislative Leaders in Response to Redistricting Issues Raised by Democratic Reapportionment Commission Members (CT-N)
CT-N video. Date Recorded: 12/21/2011
CNB with GOP Legislative Leaders on the Reapportionment Commission's Failure to Agree on a Congressional Map (CT-N)
CT-N video. Date Recorded: 12/21/2011
CNB with the Chair of the Black & Puerto Rican caucus following the Reapportionment Commission's Failure to Agree on Redistricting the State's Congressional Districts (CT-N)
CT-N video. Date Recorded: 12/21/2011

2001

Connecticut General Assembly Redistricting Project 2001 Archives
Archived page from the Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) with links to maps.

Connecticut Congressional Redistricting Plan, 2001 by Connecticut. Reapportionment Commission
Call Number: GIRS Ref Conn Doc G251rea 2001 pLdi cd map
Publication Date: 2001
Scale not given. 1 map : col. ; 21 x 38 cm.
State Senate Redistricting Plan, 2001
Call Number: Online and GIRS Ref Conn Doc G251rea 2001 pLdi sen map
Publication Date: 2001
online through our library catalog.
Related title: Map of CT, all senate districts (with town boundaries)
State House of Representatives Redistricting Plan, 2001 by Connecticut. Reapportionment Commission
Call Number: GIRS Ref Conn Doc G251rea 2001 pLdi hou map
Publication Date: 2001
Information on Redistricting in Connecticut, 2001 by Connecticut. Reapportionment Commission, and Connecticut. Secretary of the State
Publication Date: 2001
Archived page from WayBack Machine

1991

1990 Census : Population and Housing Characteristics for Congressional Districts of the 103rd Congress. Connecticut.
Call Number: Online and GIRS Ref C 3.223/20:1990 CPH-4-8
Publication Date: [1992]
Online access through our library catalog.

Public Law 94-171 Data. Connecticut, District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island.
CSL Fed Docs CD-ROM C 3.281:C 76/990/CD; C 3.281:Al 1 b/990; C 3.281:C76/990/CD
Catalog record: "Provides census data designed and formatted for use in legislative redistricting. Census counts, for areas as small as blocks, census tracts, and voting districts, include totals for population, race groups, persons of Hispanic origin, population 18 years and over, and housing units."
more...less...
System requirements: Computer system capable of using a CD-ROM drive; 640K; if IBM compatible personal computer requires MS-DOS 3.1 or higher, DOS file manager software (e.g. Microsoft CD-ROM Extensions 2.0 or higher); CD-ROM drive.; Disk characteristics: CD-ROM.; Written in dBase format.

TIGER/line census files, 1990. Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania (Snyder-York), Rhode Island
Call Number: Fed Docs CDROMs C 3.279:C 76/990/CD
Publication Date: 1991
"Includes decennial census-relevant geographic information; data for all 1990 census map features and boundaries, the associated 1990 census final tabulation geographic area codes, and the codes for the Jan. 1, 1990 legal and statistical areas on both sides of each line segment of every mapped feature; final voting district codes and the 1990 census designated place codes; technical documentation."
1991 Senate CB2. MCD Boundaries 1991 Senate Reapportionment Plan
Call Number: Conn Doc G251rea 1991 pLdi sedi map
Publication Date: 1991
Related Title: Map of CT, all current senate districts (no town boundaries)
1991 Congressional Plan. MCD Boundaries 1991 Congressional Reapportionment Plan by Connecticut. Reapportionment Commission
Call Number: Conn Doc G251rea 1991 pLdi codi map
Publication Date: 1991
The Final Plan, 1991. MCD Boundaries 1991 State Assembly
Call Number: Conn Doc G251rea 1991 pLdi hodi map
Publication Date: 1991
under title: Map of CT, all current house districts (no town boundaries)

1990s

Project Plan by Task Force on Legislative Redistricting
Call Number: Online through our library catalog
Publication Date: 1995
Discusses constitutional procedures and schedules for legislative redistricting, technical information related to redistricting, judicial decisions in Connecticut Supreme Court cases on the state's redistricting plans, and federal Voting Rights Act and its implications for redistricting in Connecticut.
Redistricting Issues - OLR Report 95-R-0623
Call Number: Online through our library catalog
Publication Date: 1995
Discusses redistricting issues, other than those specified in HB 6291, that might be addressed by the proposed task force and what kinds of representation the task force might include.
Task Force on Legislative Redistricting : report to the Government Administration and Elections Committee
Call Number: Conn Doc G2595Lr rep
Publication Date: 1997
Report to the Government Administration and Elections Committee. Submitted pursuant to PA 95-318. February 18, 1997

1981

Supplemental Report Number 2 of the Reapportionment Committee
Call Number: Conn Doc G252rea pLdi suppL.2
Publication Date: 1981
"Corrections made in the compilation of the data in the final report of the committee for Senatorial Districts 27 and 36 and Assembly Districts 148 and 150 ... due to an error in the census data.".
Connecticut Senatorial Districts : (adopted July 31, 1981) by Connecticut. Secretary of the State, and Connecticut. General Assembly. Senate.
Call Number: Conn Doc Se25 cose
Publication Date: 1981
Connecticut Assembly Districts : (adopted July 31, 1981), by Connecticut. Secretary of the State ; Connecticut. General Assembly. House of Representatives
Call Number: Connecticut State Library Stacks
Publication Date: 1981?
No call number in catalog.
Connecticut Congressional Districts : (adopted October 28, 1981) by Connecticut. Secretary of the State, and United States. Congress. House.
Call Number: Conn Doc Se25 coco
Publication Date: 1981

1960s

Prop. July 6, 1960 (preliminary) by Connecticut. Bi-Partisan Committee to Study the Problems of Redistricting the Senate. Connecticut Development Commission Based on: Connecticut / Connecticut Development Commission. Rev. 1955. [Hartford] : Connecticut Development Commission, [1955]. Shows state legislative district boundaries and numbers. Also shows minor civil divisions and populations.
Call Number: ConnDoc Maps G252p map
Publication Date: 1960