Skip to main content

Access Archives & Secured Collections

This guide provides information about using archival records at the Connecticut State Library.

Rules and Procedures

Obtaining a Pass:

  • Complete a researcher application and submit with a current photo ID to the History & Genealogy staff member.
  • The staff member will review the application and ID; please wait while the pass is produced for you.
  • Persons 10 and older, without a photo ID, may obtain a pass if accompanied by an adult passholder.

Requests for Retrieval:

  • You may request up to four items, e.g., a box, volume, or envelope, ten editions of Connecticut's Register and Manual or sixteen aerial photographs per retrieval. Please see the link to the State Archives Finding Aids to determine what original records we hold. In addition to the finding aids, researchers can also search the State Archives holdings by topic at the Connecticut Archives Online website.
  • Complete one request slip for each item.
  • Refer to the Archives Retrieval Schedule to determine the next archives retrieval time.
  • Incomplete, incorrect, or illegible slips may result in no retrieval, or retrieval of the wrong item. Corrected slips may be resubmitted for the next retrieval, which may not be the same day.

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.