Skip to main content

Genealogy Indexes

Learn about the genealogy indexes available here or request a search of our indexes.

Family & Bible Records

Statewide Slip Index/Abstract

This slip index of approximately 25,000 entries transcribed from Bibles and other family records covers the 1600s to the early 1900s.  Each alphabetically-arranged slip contains an abstract of an event (birth, marriage, death, etc.) from a particular record and citations to volumes and page numbers of a 26-volume set of Bible and Family Records transcriptions.  The bound volumes often give information on other members of the family.

Bound Volumes

The bound volumes contain information transcribed onto set forms which indicate the original source, name of its owner and location at the time the material was deposited with the State Library, name of the individual transcribing the record, and date of transcription.  Each volume also contains an index to that specific volume.  Volume 27 of this set is not included in the Bible and Family Records slip index, so it is necessary to consult the index in the back of that volume.

In many cases either the original record or a Photostat of the record is housed at the State Library, either in the Special Genealogical File in the History and Genealogy Reading Room or in State Archives Record Group 074: Genealogy Materials.

See also the Personal & Family Vital Records Collection.

 

 

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.