Skip to main content

Connecticut Libraries Help Center: Library Boards and Friends Groups

Helping with management, legal, technical, and other issues faced in running your library

Library Trustees in Connecticut

Library Trustees and the Connecticut State Library
The Division works closely with the Association of Connecticut Library Boards (ACLB) to provide consulting assistance to local boards on topics including board development, legal issues, library governance, policy development, recruiting a library director and many others. The Division of Library Development also maintains a collection of professional development materials that contain resources for library trustees.

Below are links to helpful resources for Connecticut library trustees.

Important Trustee Resources
Association of Connecticut Library Boards
ACLB is Connecticut's library trustee organization representing public library boards throughout the state. This site offers resources for boards.

The Connecticut State Library and ACLB offer an electronic discussion list for Connecticut library trustees. To subscribe go to Scroll down to "Subscribing to aclb-trusteetalk" and enter your e-mail address in the "Your email address:" box. (The "Your name:" and password-related boxes are optional.) Click the Subscribe button.
Then you may post messages to: aclb-trusteetalk at

Public Library Trustee Manual: A Template for Use by State Library Agencies and Public Libraries from Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA)

United for Libraries (Division of the American Library Association)
Helps Trustees and Friends work together at the local, state, and national levels to effectively promote and advocate for libraries.

Public Library Construction Grants
Helpful resources when your library is beginning planning for new or renovated space.

Public Library Statistics
The Connecticut State Library publishes extensive statistics about public libraries in Connecticut from the data collected each year on libraries' annual reports.

Sample Connecticut Library Job Descriptions
Examples of a wide variety of job descriptions used by public libraries in Connecticut.

Sample Connecticut Library Policies
Is your library revising or creating new policies? Look here for a wide range of sample policies from Connecticut public libraries. Also includes links to other sample collections and policy development resources.

Continuing Education for Trustees
The Division of Library Development and the Association of Connecticut Library Boards work together to provide training to Connecticut trustees. They co-sponsor a workshop at the Connecticut Library Association Annual Conference and will be presenting a series of "trustee basics" workshops each year.

Friends of the Library in Connecticut

Friends of the Library and the Connecticut State Library
The State Library provides a number of resources to library Friends groups. The Division works closely with The Friends of Connecticut Libraries (FOCL) helping local communities start Friends, providing information and resources to established groups, offering advice and consulting assistance to Friends and maintaining an extensive collection of resources for Friends at the Middletown Library Service Center.

Important Friends Resources:
FOCL is a non-profit organization consisting of local Friends groups, organizations and individual members who believe that libraries are an essential resource for the citizens of Connecticut. Some of their activities include a quarterly newsletter FOCLPOINT, FOCL-Forum electronic discussion list, workshops on subjects of value to Friends and their libraries, a directory of local Friends groups and their activities, and cooperation with other library organizations (Connecticut Library Association , Association of Connecticut Library Boards, United for Libraries.) to advance the cause of libraries throughout the state and on a national level. There are 150 local Friends groups in Connecticut.

Handbook for Connecticut Library Friends Groups. This handbook, created with the help of LSTA funding, shows how to start and run a Friends of the Library. Groups wishing to copy and distribute this document are free to do so.

Directors, Friends, Trustees - Helpful Resources

  • United for Libraries - Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations
    "Provides resources, services, and networking opportunities for Friends, Trustees, and Foundations across the country to increase and enhance their efforts on behalf of libraries of all types."
  • Friends of Connecticut Libraries
    Statewide organization supporting Friends of the Library groups in Connecticut.
  • Association of Connecticut Library Boards
    An association of public library governing boards in Connecticut established to assist boards in developing and and improving library servies for the citizens of their communities.
  • Disposal of Weeded, Discarded, and Unwanted Books
    From the Friends of Colorado Libraries

Page Provided by DLD

This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us

CT State Library: Preserving the Past. Informing the Future. Logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.