LibGuides Home: Native American Research: Native Americans

Researching Connecticut Native Americans

Connecticut circa 1625 : its Indian trails, villages and sachendoms
Map of Connecticut circa 1625
The Bulletin, 1888-1890
The Indian Bulletin, 1890-1901
Native Northeast Research Collaborative
The aim of this massive project is to bring together materials from a number of participating archives about New England Native Americans. Included in this ongoing effort are many papers from the Indian Series of the Connecticut Archives, New London County Court Records, Land records and more. In many cases digitized images of the documents are available as well as a transcription.
more...less...
Site: "The Native Northeast Research Collaborative (formerly The Yale Indian Papers Project) is an inclusive digital humanities endeavor that engages tribes, scholars, educators, students, and the general public in the study of the Native presence in the Atlantic Northeast."
Indian & Colonial Research Center, Inc.
The Institute for American Indian Studies
Mashantucket Pequot Museum

Electronic Resources

American Indian History Online
Biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, tribes and culture areas. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
American Indian History Educator's Guide American Indian History Educator's Guide – Infobase Database Platform (zendesk.com)
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas (HeinOnline)
It also features Statutory Compilation of the Indian Law Survey. A Compendium of Federal Laws and Treaties Relating to Indians, Pts. 1-46 (1776-1938), a rare compilation edited by Felix S. Cohen, as well as Cohen's 1940 Temporary Edition of the Handbook of Federal Indian Law. This is a very rare (and apparently unpublished) edition that appears to have been circulated by Cohen only to his colleagues within the Department of the Interior. Here is the description from the Foreward to the 2005 edition of the Handbook:"...the Handbook was first issued in 1940 as a temporary edition with limited circulation in the Department of the Interior. The first printing available to the public in 1941, but the press run was small. The 1942 printing was the first edition widely available." Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/indigenous-peoples-of-the-americas
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
This Readex database provides reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional or U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for studying American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, and much more. The Serial Set began publication in 1817 with the 15th Congress, 1st session.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/us-congressional-serial-set