Military Records

Published service records were created by the Connecticut Adjutant General's Office for World War I. The three volume set is called:

Service Records: Connecticut Men and Women in the Armed Forces of the United States during World War, 1917-1920. There is an index to people in back of volume three. A key to the abbreviations used can be found at the front of volume one. Online access through our library catalog.
Call # ConnDoc Ad44 sr.
 

State Archives Record Group 012: Records of the State Library War Records Department, Military Service Questionnaires. The Questionnaires were mailed out to Connecticut veterans and deceased veteran's families after the war and document the service of Connecticut people. Some Questionnaires were returned with photographs of the veteran. Digitized in partnership with Ancestry.com,  the Military Census Records are free for Connecticut residents to use. They are also available through a regular Ancestry.com subscription. An index by name can also be found in the World War I Veterans Database:

• Users must sign up for a free account at Ancestry.com  https://www.ancestry.com/ai/collections/CT/StateLibrary. The database gives the name of the individual, whether there is a photograph, and any Foreign Service, i.e. if the person served in a Canadian or British Regiment.

•  World War I Veterans Database ( https://ctstatelibrary.org/ww-1-veterans/) 

State Archives Record Group 029, Military Census Records. In February 1917 the Connecticut General Assembly directed Governor Marcus H. Holcomb "to procure certain information relative to the resources of the State," especially about "men and materials available for use in the event of war." Known as the Military Census, the most significant part was a census of all male inhabitants over the age of sixteen taken in 1917-1918. Digitized in partnership with Ancestry.com the Military Census Records are free for Connecticut residents to use. They are also available through a regular Ancestry.com subscription.

• Users must sign up for a free account at Ancestry.com  (https://www.ancestry.com/ai/collections/CT/StateLibrary)
• Connecticut Nurses Census, 1917

CT in World War I -  Remembering World War One: Sharing History/Preserving Memories is a three year project. Explore the website for digitized materials and information about additional archival collections:

• CT in World War I http://ctinworldwar1.org/