Disasters in Connecticut

Views of the September 1938 flood and hurricane in Connecticut and Rhode Island, photographed by the 118th Photographic Section of the US Air Corps. Noteworthy are the numerous shoreline views.

This collection includes some Rhode Island photographs.

Consists of aerial photographs and b&w prints depicting scenes from a number of Connecticut towns. Aerial photographs make up the bulk of the collection and include mosaic, vertical and oblique views. There are 524 views of the 1936 flood photographed by the 8th Photographic Section, US Air Corps for the US Engineer Office in Providence, RI and 132 views of the September 1938 flood and hurricane in Connecticut and Rhode Island, photographed by the 118th Photographic Section of the US Air Corps. Noteworthy are the numerous shoreline views. Also includes 58 photographs of Naugatuck in the Flood of 1955 collectively titled "Black Friday", compiled by the Naugatuck Daily News, as well as several smaller collections. Photocopies of photographs in the Prescott Bush papers transfered to Archives & Special Collections at The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center, University of Connecticut in August 1991. Also includes approximately 444 digital photographs which document damage caused by Tropical Storm Irene on August 27-28, 2011.

Includes pictures of Colt buildings.
Consists of aerial photographs and b&w prints depicting scenes from a number of Connecticut towns.

See the box of icons which explain access.

previously https://www.courant.com/weather/hc-connecticut-weather-disasters-pictures-photogallery.html