LibGuides Home: Preservation Basics for State Agencies and Municipalities: Home

Life Expectancy of Paper and Records

If properly made and properly stored:

Microfilm -- 300-500 years
Paper -- Several hundred years
Color photographs & Digital prints -- Noticeable fading in 35 years
Magnetic media (video, cassettes, etc.) -- 10-30 years (if equipment is still available)

Standard Paper for Permanent Records for Connecticut Municipalities, Towns, Vital Records, and Public Records
From the Office of the Public Records Administrator
Permanence of Paper for Publications and Documents in Libraries and Archives" ANSI/NISO Z39.48-1992 (R2009)
From American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
Standard for Fire-Resistive Vaults and Safes
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, from the Office of the Public Records Administrator.

Temperature and humidity extremes can increase the rate of chemical reactions that lead to deterioration. Even a short time away from a good environment can cause damage. In a poor environment, researchers learned that a paper would last:

29 years at 72° and 55% rH
54 years at 67° and 45% rH
101 years at 62° and 35% rH

New Tools for Preservation : assessing long-term environmental effects on library and archival collections
by James M. Reilly, Douglas W. Nishimura and Edwin Zinn. Washington, D.C. : Commission on Preservation and Access, Nov. 1995. ERIC number: ED389324

Control the Environment

Collection materials deteriorate naturally. Keep the temperature below 70° year round. Keep relative humidity between 35% to 50% with gradual changes as the seasons change. Mold will begin to grow if the relative humidity is over 50% and the temperature is over 70°.

Environmental Guidelines for the Storage of Paper Records, NISO TR01-1995
By William K. Wilson, from National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
Dew Point Calculator
From the Image Permanence Institute
Low-cost/no-cost improvements in climate control
From the Northeast Document Conservation Center

Conservation and Reformatting

Some items will need to go to a Conservator, who should use materials and techniques that are reversible and durable. Use acid-free folders, stainless steel paperclips (when permitted) and the like.

Choosing and working with a Conservator
From the Northeast Document Conservation Center
How to choose a conservator
From American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC)
Library Binding Z39.78-2000 (R2018)
From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the Library Binding Institute (LBI)

Reformat, when appropriate, with materials and methods that meet the standards for permanence and to ensure the creation of accurate and authentic images. Be sure to check record retention schedules for disposition requirements.

General Letter 96-2 (revised), Required Minimum Microfilming Standards for Public Records; Disposition of Original Records
From the Office of the Public Records Administrator
Preservation Facsimile
From the Library of Congress, Preservation, Collections Care
Public Records Policy 04 : Electronic Records Management
From the Office of the Public Records Administrator
Public Records Policy 04-1 : Electronic Records Standards
From the Office of the Public Records Administrator
Digital Imaging Standards, 2022
From the Office of the Public Records Administrator

Preservation planning

Preservation Planning

Survey your building and your collection for general preservation needs or hire a consultant to do this work. For preservation planning, see AASLH Basics of Archives ,Course 4, lesson 1, section on "Assessing and improving your building" with a link (at the bottom of the page) called Your Building's Bio. Also, "Records storage equipment" has a link to a Facilities Assessment Questionnaire.

Assessing Preservation Needs: A Self-Survey Guide
By Beth Patkus, from the Northeast Document Conservation Center
The Needs Assessment Survey
By Sherelyn Ogden, from Northeast Document Conservation Center

Consider which of the survey recommendations will have the greatest impact and are both feasible and urgent. Consider improvements to your building, environment, emergency response, security, storage and handling procedures as well as which items need repair, reformatting or conservation. Make a long-range plan. Also use the priority list to create salvage priorities in case of an emergency.

NEDCC Preservation Leaflets
The Northeast Document Conservation Center has leaflets with information on a wide variety of preservation topics and links to additional resources

Project Planning

A project work plan is aimed at one specific problem or collection. A project can be part of a larger preservation plan.

Handbook for Digital Projects : a management tool for preservation and access
From the Northeast Document Conservation Center

The techniques for managing a preservation project are the same as for digital projects. In the Handbook, go to the section called "Project planning: creating a plan of work and Budget" in Chapter 3: Considerations for Project Management by Stephen Chapman.