Ready Reference

See the box of icons which explain access.

Some volumes available through our paid subscriptions to HeinOnline and ProQuest.

Earlier Title: Prisoners released from state and federal prisons and reformatories

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) site: "Using information gathered from these data series, BJS regularly publishes reports and statistical tables of prison population counts, prisoner characteristics, state and federal prison facility characteristics, capital punishment, deaths in custody, and special topics, such as recidivism, substance abuse and treatment, mental health, education, and incarcerated parents."
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) maintains several data collections on prisoners and prison facilities using administrative records maintained by each state's department of corrections, the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP), and personal interviews with inmates in state and federal prisons (see Data Collections for a summary of these collections). State and federal prisoner populations differ from the jail inmate population in terms of conviction status, offense distribution, and average length of stay. The federal prisoner population is also unique from the state prisoner population, most notably in offense distribution. Similarly, prison facilities differ from local jail facilities in average size, treatment and programming resources, and crowding, among other characteristics. For more information, see Terms and Definitions.

HathiTrust note: "Title varies slightly.
Some issues also available via Internet from the FBI web site (PDF file only) with title, 1995- : Crime in the United States (Online).
Issued also in a CD-ROM ed. with title: Crime in the United States.
Vols. for Oct. 1933-Oct. 1934 issued by: Dept. of Justice, Division of Investigation; 1935-1997 by: Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation."

Site: "The National Institute of Justice’s CrimeSolutions.gov is comprised of two components — a web-based clearinghouse of programs and practices and a process for identifying and rating those programs and practices."

Site: "An annual publication in which the FBI provides data on the number of incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim’s perceived race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity/national origin, or disability."

Later Title: United States Attorneys' Offices statistical report

Earlier Title: Prisoners released from state and federal prisons and reformatories

site: "COVERAGE Data are collected from all fifty States and the District of Columbia. Census depends entirely upon the voluntary participation of State Department of Corrections and the Federal Bureau of Prisons for NPS data.
CONTENT National information on the populations confined in correctional institutions. The NPS distinguishes between prisoners in custody and prisoners under jurisdiction. To have custody of a prisoner, a State or Federal system must hold that prisoner in one of its facilities. To have jurisdiction over a prisoner, a State or Federal system must have legal authority over the prisoner. The surveys also collect data about the facilities and the race and gender of the inmates.
FREQUENCY Begun in 1926 under a mandate from Congress, the National Prisoner Statistics program collects statistics on prisoners at midyear and year end."

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) site: "Using information gathered from these data series, BJS regularly publishes reports and statistical tables of prison population counts, prisoner characteristics, state and federal prison facility characteristics, capital punishment, deaths in custody, and special topics, such as recidivism, substance abuse and treatment, mental health, education, and incarcerated parents."
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) maintains several data collections on prisoners and prison facilities using administrative records maintained by each state's department of corrections, the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP), and personal interviews with inmates in state and federal prisons (see Data Collections for a summary of these collections). State and federal prisoner populations differ from the jail inmate population in terms of conviction status, offense distribution, and average length of stay. The federal prisoner population is also unique from the state prisoner population, most notably in offense distribution. Similarly, prison facilities differ from local jail facilities in average size, treatment and programming resources, and crowding, among other characteristics. For more information, see Terms and Definitions.