Skip to main content

Welcome: Library Services to Multi-Lingual Communities in Connecticut: Collections in CT Libraries

Collections in Other Languages in Connecticut Public Libraries

The documents on this page contain lists of public libraries in Connecticut that have collections in languages other than English. These lists are extracted from the "Collections" worksheet of Connecticut Public Libraries: Statistical Profile, published by the Connecticut State Library. Libraries are included if they have what they consider 'substantial, active, non-English language print collections.'

The Excel spreadsheets below are set for filtering. You can click the arrow in one of the the grey boxes, check to select one of the text filters, and then click the OK button. The spreadsheet will filter to only show you libraries that have collections in a specific language. (Not sure how to limit a list using Excel filters? - Try this Office helppage on filtering data in Excel.) 

Full List - Most Recent Year

Collections in Other Languages in Connecticut Public Libraries - Past Fiscal Year

Search Collections in Other Languages Using findIT

findIT CT is Connecticut's Statewide Library catalog. It contains the holdings of more than 300 libraries in Connecticut. You can use the links below search library collections for items in other languages. Searching findIT may be useful if you are searching for a specific title in another language. Also, findIT includes some academic and school libraries in the state.

Note that you can use the facets or limiters that appear in the left-hand column in findIT to refine your search. 

Don't see a language above? Try findIT's Advanced Search where you can choose a language.

Welcome: Services to Multi-Lingual Communities

Welcome is a discussion group for Connecticut library staff serving multilingual populations. The group is facilitated by Steve Cauffman and Maria Bernier from the Division of Library Development at the Connecticut State Library.

Quick fact: 22% of the people in Connecticut speak a language other than English at home.*

*Source: 2013 American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates via American Fact Finder

Welcome - Items from the Service Centers

Page Provided by DLD

This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us

CT State Library: Preserving the Past. Informing the Future. Logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.