Skip to Main Content
Library Building Resources
Recordings of Library Construction case study webinars on DLD's Construction Playlist on YouTube
-- E.C. Scranton Library. Focus: working from a temporary space while managing a major renovation and expansion.
-- Stonington Free Library. Focus: big changes in a small footprint.
-- Park Street Library @ the Lyric, Hartford. Focus: designing and building a library from scratch.
Library Redesign: Working with the space you have
Presentation by Karin Taylor, Library Services Director, Beardsley Library, Winchester; and Kate Byroade, Library Director, Cragin Memorial Library, Colchester, for the Division of Library Development, September 15, 2021.
LJ Design Institute 2020
Registration is free and required for access to the recordings.
Who Are We Designing for and Why? Service Design Techniques for Responsive Libraries
This Webjunction session from November 2020 introduces design principles that can be used to enhance and improve future library services.
Getting to the Heart of the Community Through Discovery
In this Webjunction webinar from 2019, hear about the real experiences of two project participants who transformed drab, underused spaces into hubs of activity and energy.
Activate the Library Space with Learning
During this 2018 webinar from Webjunction, learn from libraries that have reimagined and reconfigured "smart spaces" for active learning, using a combination of placemaking and design thinking principles and strategies.
Americans with Disabilities Act
Architect and Interior Designer Information
Connecticut Construction Projects
Contractor Pre-Qualification for CT
For library furniture for state agencies, towns and association libraries
Massachusetts Higher Education Consortium (MHEC)
Consortium pricing for library supplies and materials. Open to all public and private institutions of higher education, municipalities, schools and educational organizations throughout Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Connecticut.
CLC's Discounted Furniture Vendors
Contracts for furniture, shelving and related accessories, available to CLC members.
Historic Restoration Fund (HRF) Grants
If the properties are listed on the State Register of Historic Places and owned by non-profit organizations or municipalities, you can apply for a Historic Restoration Fund (HRF) Grants from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Offices of Culture & Tourism. It may be used for the restoration, rehabilitation or purchase of historic buildings, structures, and objects as well as the investigation of archaeological sites.
NEH Infrastructure and Capacity Building Challenge Grants
National Endowment for the Humanities Challenge grants may...provide capital directly supporting the purchase of equipment and software; the design, purchase, construction, restoration, or renovation of facilities needed for humanities activities; and collections sharing.
USDA Community Facilities Direct Loan & Grant Program
Provides grants and loans to rural libraries in United States. Community Facilities grants and loans may be used to construct, enlarge or improve public libraries. To see if your library is in a rural community, and to find our more about this program, contact your local RD Service Center
CT Green Building Council
A non-profit 501(c3) organization that seeks to improve the quality of life in Connecticut through the promotion of intelligently designed and constructed high performance energy efficient buildings. It is a chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC).
Going Green@Your Library
Environmentally Friendly Practices for Libraries and Beyond, a blog.
A website dedicated to documenting the greening of libraries in the United States and beyond.
International Living Future Institute
The institute's mission is to lead the transformation toward a civilization that is socially just, culturally rich, and ecologically restorative. They encourage healthy workplaces through their Living Building Challenge.
U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
A 501(c)(3) non-profit community of leaders working to make green buildings accessible to everyone within a generation. USGBC is dedicated to expanding green building practices and education, and its LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Green Building Rating System™.LEED Green Building Rating System for New Construction. The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System is a voluntary, consensus-based national rating system for developing high-performance, sustainable buildings. LEED addresses all building types and emphasizes state-of-the-art strategies in five areas: sustainable site development, water savings, energy efficiency, materials and resources selection, and indoor environmental quality.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-conditioning Engineers
A good professional source for standards, guidelines, and other technical resources, including their site on High Performing Buildings
WELL Building Standard
Guidance to help you deliver more thoughtful and intentional spaces that enhance human health and well-being. Looks at air, water, nourishment, light, movement, thermal comfort, sound, materials, mind, and community.
Library Journal's Design Institute
Summary of May 2019 Design Institute, Columbia, SC
Article from Library Journal, Jul2019, Vol. 144 Issue 6, p30-34.
Summary of April 2018 Design Institute, Salt Lake City, UT
Article from Library Journal, Jul2018, Vol. 143 Issue 12, p24-29.
Summary of October 2017 Design Institute, Vancouver, WA
Article from Library Journal, Jan2018, Vol. 143 Issue 1, p36-41.
Summary of October 2016 Design Institute, Charleston, SC
Article from Library Journal, Jan2017, Vol. 142 Issue 1, p42-48.
Books from the Service Center
You can place a hold on these books in our catalog, or call the Middletown Library Service Center at 860-704-2200. We can send the book to your nearest public library.
Public Library Buildings by Lisa Charbonnet This go-to guide covers the entire process of building or renovating a public library—from initial planning, to maintaining the completed space, to measuring success. * Provides you with an informal, easy-to-read, practical guide that addresses the specific needs of public librarians looking to reimagine their library space * Takes a holistic approach that covers every step from initial vision to evaluating success * Offers practical, nuts-and-bolts advice from an experienced veteran of the process * Helps you to claim a seat at the table—and shows you why the input of librarians is so important
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook by Donald A. Barclay; Eric D. Scott The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook is a one-stop, easy-to-understand resource that will guide you through the often complicated, jargon-filled arenas of building construction and renovation, so that you can effectively advocate for your ideas about how form supports your library's functions. Authors Donald A. Barclay and Eric D. Scott draw on their extensive experience to provide a wealth of accessible and practical advice for creating functional, attractive, and long-lasting library spaces. They introduce readers to the major stages of construction and renovation, explain details like building codes, reading plans, and building systems, and even provide a handy glossary of key construction terms. This helpful guide outlines all of the vital steps for building or renovating library-specific spaces, including coverage of interior design, signage, safety and security, and what it means to build a green library. You'll find tips for daily and emergency maintenance, as well how to protect and manage a library during a renovation. The companion CD-ROM makes the glossary searchable, gives you digital blueprint symbols to help you learn about reading plans, features digital images illustrating major construction methods discussed in the book, and includes many useful forms and checklists to customize for your library. Unfortunately, they don't teach building renovation, maintenance, and construction in library school. Whether you're building or renovating a public, academic, school, or special library, this accessibly-written new guidebook will equip you with the fundamental knowledge and tools you need.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Construction Grant Contact Information
Dawn La Valle, Construction Grant Administrator
Middletown Library Service Center
786 South Main St.
Middletown, CT 06457
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478