Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assessing and Selecting for your Collection
Classroom Library Questionnaire- Lee and Low
Educators, how culturally responsive and diverse is your
classroom library? Use the following questions as a guide to
analyze your classroom library book collections and determine
where there are strengths and where there is room to grow.
Visit our collection development page for book lists, articles, blogs, and websites
Diverse Book Resources
Visit our Diverse Book Resources page for lists of websites that may help your curate your collection.
Diversifying Your Classroom Book Collections? Avoid these 7 Pitfalls
This KQED article by Kara Newhouse gives both practical tips as well as specific book recommendations.
Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books
The visual and verbal messages young children absorb from books (and other media) heavily influence their ideas about themselves and others. Depending on the quality of the book, they can reinforce (or undermine) children’s affirmative self-concept, teach accurate (or misleading) information about people of various identities, and foster positive (or negative) attitudes about diversity.
Multicultural Picture Books: A Deeper Look at Your Collection (WebJunction)
Do you feel it is important to have a diverse children’s collection, but don’t always know where to start? The Diverse BookFinder Collection Analysis Tool (CAT), funded by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, is specifically designed to help you diversify your picture book collection. This free, online resource allows you to upload a single file and get a snapshot of WHO is (which racial/cultural groups are) represented—and how—in your collection.
Reading Racism in Dr. Seuss
Atlantic interview with Philip Nel, scholar and professor of children's literature at Kansas State University, which addresses what to do about problematic classic children's literature in light of racist imagery and content.
Where To Find Diverse Books
Extensive list of book lists from the editors at We Need Diverse Books.
Diversity/ Inclusivity in Publishing
Mirrors, Windows, Sliding Glass Doors- Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop
The danger of a single story | Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Tackling Racism in Children's Litrature
Book Review Websites
Antiracism Reading List- Penguin Classroom
A curated book list that explores multifaceted identities of People of Color
(of the Global Majority) and provides context and calls for action
"The Brown Bookshelf is designed to push awareness of the myriad Black voices writing for young readers. Our flagship initiative is 28 Days Later, a month-long showcase of the best in Picture Books, Middle Grade, and Young Adult novels written and illustrated by Black creators"
Diverse Book Finder
Search Collections: Curated Lists. You can identify and explore multicultural picture books. Their collection focuses on depictions of racial and cultural diversity published in the U.S. since 2002.
Diverse Books Need Us- The Westport Library
It is our hope that these lists of fiction titles that feature characters that have been historically underrepresented in children’s literature will provide windows and mirrors for the children of Westport and help to develop the empathy our society needs.
Diversity in Graphic Novels
Teaching for Change carefully selects the best multicultural and social justice books for children, young adults, and educators.
I'm Your Neighbor
I’m Your Neighbor is a project which promotes the use of children’s literature featuring “new arrival” cultures and groups to engage the entire community in a discussion of commonalities and differences.
This is a blog done by a group of Florida Natives, ages 12-20, who are passionate and children's and young adult literature.
For over 30 years, Lambda Literary has championed LGBTQ books and authors. No other organization in the world serves LGBTQ writers and readers more comprehensively than Lambda Literary. We believe that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published, and read.
Latinxs in Kid Lit
Exploring the world of Latinx YA, MG and children's literature.
Mighty Girl Books
A Mighty Girl's book section features over 2,000 girl-empowering books starring stellar Mighty Girl characters.
We Need Diverse Books
Where can you go to find diverse books? Right here. Each of these sites offers lists of diverse titles.
From Diversity to Inclusion: How to Audit Your Collection and Why resources
This project is funded by the State of Connecticut and the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Connecticut State Library. And by the Connecticut State Library
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478