LibGuides Home: Indexes for State and Federal Collections Research: Overview

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Indexes

Index to CT Department of Health Bulletins, 1887-1990
The Connecticut Health Bulletin is a series of monthly publications published by Connecticut's State Board of Health and later Connecticut's Health Department. The series begins in June 1887. The first issues included a Monthly Mortality table, a brief remarks page and meteorological table for New Haven. In January 1914 a new format began and included additional vital statistics and health information. The library stopped receiving the bulletin in 1990.
CSL Conn Doc H342m

Index to CT Department of Health Circular Letters, 1941-1984
Contains a collection of Public Health circular letters sent out between 1941 – 1984. A circular letter is typically a formal or official written document or communication that is addressed to a group of individuals.
CSL Conn Doc H342

Current circular letters (2011-2021) may be found on the Department of Public Health website.

Index to CT Department of Heath Miscellaneous Pamphlets
Contains a collection of miscellaneous pamphlets published by individual bureaus within the CT Department of Health in the 1920s thru the 1960s. Each bureau or division had its own identification letter/numbering system. Bureau/Division names were also modified over the years.
CSL Conn Doc H342

Index to CT State Board of Education & State Department of Education, Connecticut School Documents 1884–1972
Publications produced by the Connecticut State Board of Education and the State Department of Education covering the years 1884 through the 1971-72 school year.
CSL Conn Doc Ed83s
Index to CT State Board of Education & State Department of Education, Bulletins 1940-1974
Publications produced by the Connecticut State Board of Education and the State Department of Education covering the years 1940 through the 1974 school year.
CSL Conn Doc Ed83bu
Index to CT State Board of Education & State Department of Education, Connecticut Bulletin Series 1917/18-1937/38
Publications produced by the Connecticut State Board of Education and the State Department of Education covering the years 1917/18 through the 1937/38 school year.
CSL Conn Doc Ed83cbu and Conn Doc Ed83 CB
Index to CT State Board of Education & State Department of Education, Curriculum Laboratory Bulletins 1940-1948
Publications produced by the Connecticut State Board of Education and the State Department of Education covering the years 1940 through the 1948 school year.
CSL Conn Doc Ed83cu

Index to Hospital Reports
Hospital Reports is a 112-volume set of official reports from psychiatric hospitals in the United States, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and South Africa, covering a period from roughly 1830 to 1896. Forty-one U.S. states and five Canadian provinces are represented.
CSL Stacks RC443.H6

Index to University of Connecticut Cooperative Extension Service Publications, 1955-1991
The Connecticut State Library has a collection of publications and pamphlets produced by the University of Connecticut Cooperative Extension Service. These publications and pamphlets covering a range of topics from agriculture to home economics start in 1955 and run through 1991.
ConnDoc Ag83 pub
Wooden Nutmeg
The Nutmeg also known as The Wooden Nutmeg was published irregularly from 1923 to 1947. The purpose of the publication was to give the fire wardens of Connecticut an opportunity to become acquainted with each other. As noted in issue number 1 (October 1923) it is the purpose of the publication to collect the wisdom and experiences of the fire wardens in Connecticut in order to make them available to all. The content of the publication is varied and includes information and updates about forestry, forest fires, conservation and general news items.
ConnDoc F761wn

Index to WPA Press Releases, 1935-1939
The Works Progress Administration (WPA) was established in 1935 by executive order of President Franklin D. Roosevelt and funded by Congress through the Emergency Relief Appropriations Act of 1935. Headed by Harry L. Hopkins, the WPA offered work to millions of unemployed to construct public buildings and roads, operate arts and literacy projects and much more. In 1939 the Works Progress Administration became part of the new Federal Works Agency and its title was changed to Work Projects Administration. It was abolished on June 30, 1943.

Print resources:
The Works Program
no. 4-3 - no. 4-1250
no. 4-1252 - no. 4-1646
CSL Fed Doc Y 3.W 89/2:62/4-

Works Progress Administration: [press release].
no. 4-1650 - no. 4-1973
CSL Fed Doc Y 3.W 89/2:62/4-

Below are links freely available of Works Progress Administration press release available online in HathiTrust. Please take note of our link disclaimer for any links outside of the CT State Library website. Please ask a librarian for assistance if the issue number you need is not listed as additional issues may be added to these resources in the future.

For additional records and information, please see Connecticut Work Projects Administration, 1935-1944 (RG 033) and WPA Art Inventory Project.

Indexes for State and Federal Collections Research: Overview

Indexes to State & Federal Government Collections

Contact Us

Search

Indexes