History of the Connecticut State Library

The State Library provides a variety of library, information, archival, public records, museum, and administrative services to state government, libraries and library organizations, town government officials, students, and the general public. The Library began as two law collections at the two state houses (New Haven and Hartford) and was placed under the oversight of a legislative committee in the 1840s. It was not until 1854, however, that the General Assembly created the post of State Librarian. The most important State Librarian in the agency's history was George Seymour Godard (1900-1936), who was of critical importance in getting the building at 231 Capitol Avenue constructed and occupied. He also expanded the library's services into new areas. Records include such formats as letterpress books, paper files, sound recordings, films, discs, photographs, architectural drawings, ledgers and logs, and ephemera. The group also includes materials of the Connecticut Friends of the Library organization, 1979-1984. Records document the work of the State Librarian and division heads, the State Library Board, the Library's many divisions, and defunct units such as the War Records Department. One of the largest series of this record group documents grants assistance given to public libraries through the Division of Library Development.

Finding aid: "The State Library provides a variety of library, information, archival, public records, museum, and administrative services to state government, libraries and library organizations, town government officials, students, and the general public. The Library began as two law collections at the two state houses (New Haven and Hartford) and was placed under the oversight of a legislative committee in the 1840s. It was not until 1854, however, that the General Assembly created the post of State Librarian. The most important State Librarian in the agency’s history was George Seymour Godard (1900-1936), who was of critical importance in getting the building at 231 Capitol Avenue constructed and occupied. He also expanded the library’s services into new areas. Records include such formats as letterpress books, paper files, sound recordings, films, discs, photographs, architectural drawings, ledgers and logs, and ephemera. The group also includes materials of the Connecticut Friends of the Library organization, 1979-1984. Records document the work of the State Librarian and division heads, the State Library Board, the Library’s many divisions, and defunct units such as the War Records Department. One of the largest series of this record group documents grants assistance given to public libraries through the Division of Library Development."

Finding aid: "The Commission was established by the General Assembly in 1903 to make repairs to the State Capitol and to “investigate and ascertain the necessity of erecting an additional building.” In 1905, the Commission was asked to purchase land, to procure plans and specifications for a new State Library and Supreme Court building, and obtain bids for its construction. The new building was opened in November 1910. Records include correspondence, meeting minutes, arbitration agreements and contracts, financial records, and photographs documenting the construction of the new State Library and Supreme Court Building (see Picture Group 220)."

Finding Aid: "Governor John Dempsey appointed a nine-member committee in December 1963 to recommend action to improve library services to the state. The Committee adopted a report with recommendations for action. Recommended legislation, which was passed in June 1965 (Public Act 490), provided for reconstituting and expanding the State Library Committee and combining the Bureau of Library Services (then in the Department of Education) with the State Library. The collection includes correspondence, meeting minutes, notes, newspaper clippings, and reference materials pertaining to the work of the committee and the preparation of its report."

Finding Aid: "Interior and exterior views of the building, grounds, exhibits in Memorial Hall, ceremonies from the laying of the cornerstone in 1909 to the east wing addition open house and reception 60 years later. circa 1,000 photographs, drawings, negatives and slides."

"Overview Formed in 1912, the Ex Libris Club was a social organization of employees of the State Library and the Supreme Court. The Club held parties and picnics, sent cards and flowers, attended weddings and christenings, published an internal newsletter entitled the State Library Echo, and kept scrapbooks of members and activities. In 1951 employees disbanded the club and formed the State Library and Supreme Court Club, 1951-1986.
Dates: 1912-1951"

Overview The State Library and Supreme Court Club formed in 1951 as a successor to the Ex Libris Club. It disbanded in 1986.
Dates: 1971-1987