LibGuides Home: Disasters in Connecticut: Weather Guide

Weather and Climate in Connecticut

Disasters in Connecticut
by GIS Government Information Reference Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 8098 views this year

Other NCDC publications available at the State Library include Climatological Data Publication ; Hourly Precipitation Data Publication/Database and some titles are available for free at the NCDC web site.

The library also houses historical issues of Local Climatological Data for Hartford (Bradley Airport), Bridgeport, and New Haven as well as other cities throughout the United States, in paper and/or microform formats. In addition to Local Climatological Data, other historical resources available include Climatological Data. New England ; Forecasts ... for Hartford and Vicinity ; Hourly Precipitation Data. New England ; New England Weather Service Bulletin ; and U.S. Monthly Weather Review.

U.S. Local Climatological Data
Summarizes temperature, relative humidity, precipitation, cloudiness, wind speed and direction observations.
Quick Links - link to Climatological Data Publication
Daily and monthly climatic data for hundreds of locations within a U.S. state

Local Climatological Data. Hartford, Connecticut, Monthly Summary
Call Number: GIRS Reference Fed Doc C 55.287/10-2:
See catalog record for older call numbers.
Local Climatological Data. Bridgeport, Connecticut, Monthly Summary
Call Number: GIRS Reference Fed Doc C 55.287/10:
See library catalog record for older call numbers.
Climatological Data. New England
Call Number: Online and GIRS Ref Fed Docs C 55.214/26:
Online access through our library catalog.
See catalog record for older call numbers.
Continues: United States. Environmental Data Service. Climatological data, New England.
Forecasts ... for Hartford and Vicinity
Call Number: Stacks QC984.C82 H3 oversize
Publication Date: 1909:25Mar.-1919:11Jan.
Hourly Precipitation Data. New England
Call Number: Federal Documents C 55.216/24:

National Climatic Data Center

Certification of Data (NOAA)
A detailed description of the types of certification offered by the National Climatic Data Center with information about ordering certified copies.
Climate Data Online (NOAA)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) : "Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals. Customers can also order most of these data as certified hard copies for legal use."
Disaster Declarations for States and Counties (FEMA)
Site: "This page contains an interactive tool to allow you to explore historic federal disaster declarations by state, county, hazard, and year."

Other Institutions

Connecticut State Climate Center
Offers links to current weather sites, climate data resources and some statistics.
more...less...
Site: "The Connecticut State Climate Center (CSCC) disseminates high quality climate data, information and expertise to UConn, Connecticut agencies and law enforcement officials for research and decision-making purposes. Climate records, obtained from 22 stations throughout the State, include temperatures, degree-days and precipitation amounts. The current statistics are from 1981 to 2010."
Precipitation Totals
compiled by the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, including data for Mount Carmel, Hamden, Connecticut from 1931-1960 and 1993 to present.
Weather History Archive
From the Old Farmer's Almanac, daily weather history for Hartford and other Connecticut weather stations, generally from Jan. 1, 1973 to the present, within 10 days.

Resources

All-Hazard Preparedness Tips (DEMHS)
Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security: "There are variety of weather based hazards that impact Connecticut residents every year. The following resources provide tips to help you and your family stay safe before, during and after a disaster or emergency situation in Connecticut."
Connecticut Weather Center
The CT Weather Center in Danbury provides facts about past, present and future weather events.
Historic Weather
Weather Underground provides historic weather information back to 1945.
NOAA Weather - National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administraation
Main page for weather-related resources at NOAA
National Weather Service
Watches, Warnings or Advisories for Connecticut
Active weather alerts for Connecticut from NOAA
Climate.Gov
NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate.

Tides & Currents

Where Do I Get NOAA Tides and Currents Data?
Site: "The Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS) and its predecessors have gathered oceanographic data along our nation's coasts for over 200 years to protect life, property, and the environment. Serving both the public and other government agencies, CO-OPS is the authoritative source for accurate, reliable, and timely water-level and current measurements that support safe and efficient maritime commerce, sound coastal management, and recreation."

Climate

Resources

Federal

American Climate Corps
Climate.Gov
NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate.
Extreme Events - Climate.gov
Site: "Access records of heat waves, droughts, tornadoes, and hurricanes. Explore weather records tied or broken for each day of the year, disasters that cost a billion dollars or more, and special reports and indices that characterize extreme events."
Teaching Climate (Climate.gov)
Climate.gov has a variety of resources for teachers including information on teaching climate literacy as well as a variety of lesson plans.
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit
Extreme Weather Records by State - Data Table (NOAA)
Site: "What were the highest and lowest temperatures in your state, and when and where were they measured? This site shows records for every state in categories such as temperature, total amount of rain or snow in 24 hours, weight and diameter of hail-stones, and highest wind gusts."
NOAA Weather - National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administraation
Main page for weather-related resources at NOAA
Weather Station Locator (NOAA)
View a list of weather observation stations in Connecticut.
National Weather Service Glossary (NOAA)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) National Weather Service.
more...less...
Site: "This glossary contains information on more than 2000 terms, phrases and abbreviations used by the NWS. Many of these terms and abbreviations are used by NWS forecasters to communicate between each other and have been in use for many years and before many NWS products were directly available to the public. It is the purpose of this glossary to aid the general public in better understanding NWS products."
Climate Data Online (NOAA)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) : "Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals. Customers can also order most of these data as certified hard copies for legal use."
Ocean Service Education (NOAA)
NOAA Education Resources (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration)
more...less...
Description from GODORT research guide "Education resources are distributed across many websites and program offices at NOAA and on NOAA partner websites. This portal is designed to assist educators in accessing these materials from one centralized interface. The content here is a sampling of NOAA's education resources and more can be found at each linked location."
El Niño and La Niña Explained (NOAA)
U.S. Greenhouse Gas Center
Site: "The U.S. Greenhouse Gas Center opens up access to trusted data on greenhouse gases. This multi-agency effort consolidates greenhouse gas information from observations and models to create a unified source for U.S. government and other datasets. The goal of the US GHG Center is to provide decision makers with one location for data and analysis."
Earth Information Center
Site: "The Earth Information Center consolidates data and insights on how Earth is changing from across the US federal government. Earth.gov is also the gateway to other interagency cooperative efforts for our planet, like the U.S. Greenhouse Gas Center. Discover how these data are being used to prepare for climate change and mitigate, adapt and respond to environmental challenges across the country."
Climate Change & Environment Supreme Court Cases
Short overview and "a selection of Supreme Court cases involving climate change and the environment, arranged from newest to oldest."

Disasters in Connecticut

Contact Us

Search

Weather and Climate in Connecticut

National Climatic Data Center

Other Institutions

Resources

Tides & Currents

Climate

Resources

Federal