LibGuides Home: Children's and YA Services: COVID-19 Online Resources

Online Programming Resources

Community of Learning
CILC and our wonderful content providers have come together to provide core curriculum every day of the week for homebound students in grades K-6th. Beginning March 23rd we will offer, free of charge, interactive, live-streamed programs from 9:30am to 3:30pm Eastern time. The programs are delivered by our highly professional content providers.
more...less...
Thank you Carrie Seiden for sharing this resource.
DPL Children's Authors - Read Alouds and other FaceTime live events
Explore a selection of FaceTime Live and YouTube live children's events. Resources for Teachers, Families and Children. Thank you to Paige Bentley-Flannery of Deschutes Public Library for sharing these resources.
Girls Who Code at Home
This past week, we were so proud to launch a free at-home activity series, accessible online: Girls Who Code at Home. At a time when we’re all navigating a new normal, working from home and practicing social distancing, these resources provide much needed support for caregivers, options for educators and—of course— critical continued education and inspiration for girls.
Junior Library Guild
FREE access to the JLG Digital online reading platform!

With JLG Gold Standard eBooks for Elementary, Middle School and High School students, JLG Digital gives you and your readers unlimited access to read books online from any device. Now with no passwords necessary, it's even easier for your students to log on and get reading in no time.
Kate Messner
Kate Messner has compiled a library of resources for kids, families, teachers, and librarians to make sure that reading & learning can happen anywhere this spring.
Little Free Library Map
Don't forget to check for a Little Free Library in your area!
Picture Books Read Aloud Videos for Lesson Use
Pernille Ripp has compiled as many lists as they could find here featuring the creators reading aloud. Perhaps the list will be helpful to you?
Scholastic
Even when schools are closed, you can keep the learning going with these special cross-curricular journeys. Every day includes four separate learning experiences, each built around a thrilling, meaningful story or video. Kids can do them on their own, with their families, or with their teachers. Just find your grade level and let the learning begin!
Teen Book Cloud
A collection of eBooks and educator resources perfect for your middle school, high school, or public library. Find a robust selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audiobooks.
Storyline online
Celebrities read stories!
Virtual Learning and Engagement Resources for Educators and Parents
The COVID-19 pandemic has led to school closures to keep teachers, staff, and students safe. Authors and publishers are providing educators and parents with a variety of tools for engaging with kids—everything from storytime hours to art lessons.

• Youth Services Programming During a Time of Crisis
A printable toolkit designed to help public libraries in times of crisis plan programming that creates a sense of normalcy for youth and teens in times of disaster or upheaval. This toolkit is the Capstone Project designed and written by Jamie Gilmore, Grace Morris, Erica Trotter, and Alexandria Wardrip through the University of Washington's Information School. It was also featured (8/30/17) in The Conversation's article, "Public Libraries can (literally) Serve as a Shelter from the Storm," by Grace Morris.

MoMath, the National Museum of Mathematics
MoMath, the National Museum of Mathematics began online math activities sessions. Sessions are offered by grade level and there are various times throughout the day where some of the sessions are noted as free.

Virtual Storytimes

Virtual Storytime for Beginners
Are you hoping to start a virtual storytime for your library but don't know where to start? Join local library staff, Andy Gallegos, Dani Duran and Retha Russell as they share their experiences and tips for beginning a virtual storytime. There will be time for questions and answers at the end of the presentation.

Share with us by Donna Throckmorton, the Youth Consultant from Arizona.
Webinar Archive: Virtual Storytimes: Filming Before, During and After COVID-19
2020 Summer Planning Webinar
Join April Mazza and Christi Showman Farrar, MLS Consultants, for a brief overview of things to consider in trying to plan your summer program with so much uncertainty.
Streaming Storytime
Join us for a Streaming Storytime “How-To” where we’ll hear from Danielle Masterson, Head of Children & Teen Services at the Flint Memorial Library in North Reading and Jessica Phillips, Head of Children's Department at the Duxbury Public Library on how they are connecting with their youth community virtually using Facebook and Instagram.

Articles

Tackling Copyright Concerns When Taking Storytime Online
More and more teachers and librarians want to reach their students and young patrons after hours by recording themselves reading books and posting them online for students to watch from home. They are concerned, however, about copyright law. Is it legal to publicly post these recordings? Can only certain books be recorded and posted?
Publishers Adapt Policies To Help Educators
As educators move to remote learning, many are worrying and wondering about reading books aloud online and possibly violating copyright laws. In response, many children's publishers have temporarily altered policies.

Virtual Escape Rooms

Hogwarts
You can complete this escape room as a family or individual, you can compete against friends and try it multiple times. Just make sure you have fun!
Dog Man
I am but a humble School Library Media Coordinator! Dav Pilkey and Scholastic are the true creative geniuses behind Dog Man. My ONLY goal in creating this digital escape room was to empower the love of reading!

Publishers

With schools and public libraries in Connecticut closed (or closing) due to the COVID-19 pandemic, most of the learning and teaching experiences have already moved to a virtual learning environment. We want to make sure everyone has access to online resources during this crisis.

With that in mind, Infobase is offering a FREE login and password to 4 Custom Collections of our databases and streaming video products.

If you would like access please just email me, Jim Swartz (jimswartz1@outlook.com) or my colleague Bridgette Wong-Stewart (bwong@infobase.com) and let us know which package(s) you would like.

We will send you the URLs along with the User Names and Passwords. Temporary Access will be open through April 30, 2020*. *We will revisit this date as we learn more on how COVID-19 continues to impact us*

Custom Collections

Middle and High School Virtual Classroom Package

• World Almanac for Kids

• American History

• Modern World History

• Bloom’s Literature

• Health Reference Center

• World News Digest

• Chelsea House Bios

• Science Online

• World Geography and Culture

Middle and High School Virtual Classroom with Video Service Package

• World Almanac for Kids

• American History

• Modern World History

• Bloom’s Literature

• Health Reference Center

• World News Digest

• Chelsea House Bios

• Science Online

• World Geography and Culture

• Classroom Video On Demand

I have attached a link to our online catalog for detailed information on the individual products: https://www.infobase.com/schools-2/

Please contact me if any questions.

Thanks,

Jim Swartz

Thank you for your patience as we monitor high-volume usage. We have increased our server’s capacity to handle the large increase in access, and invite you to utilize these resources.

Please share these links, QR code images, and our COVID-19 Resources webpage with your school community and social media. ABDO is committed to providing free educational resources to all during this unprecedented event.

abdobooks.com/covid-19-resources

FREE DISTANCE LEARNING

Your Wellness Matters to Us

To help stop the spread of COVID-19, schools and libraries are closing across the country. ABDO wants to ensure that readers everywhere continue to have the opportunity to learn and grow during this unprecedented event. Our digital products are available for free now through June 2020.

Instant Access to Free Resources

Scan* or select the QR codes for instant access to these free resources.

Share these resources with librarians, educators, and readers.

Digital content is available for free through June 2020.

Elementary Digital Bookshelf

abdodigital.com/?tk=414F33301B8E136DEE3F0A93BF1795E1

Username: ABDO Elementary

Password: 2020

Secondary Digital Bookshelf

abdodigital.com/?tk=840BC558E6676AB1F4C9FA29D8EC6D69

Username: ABDO Secondary

Password: 2020

*Scanning QR codes requires a web-enabled smart device with a camera and a QR code reader app.

Many ABDO titles include free weblinks on abdobooklinks.com where readers can learn even more about the subjects that interest them.

Learn more about our additional FREE online resources.

Find all of these free resources in one place on the ABDO website, along with the latest COVID-19 updates and links.

View as Webpage

More Free ebooks = Distance Learning Success

A Big Thank You to our publishing partners Abdo and Mitchell Lane who have donated a combined 250 titles, building our platform to over 700 FREE multi-user ebooks. They share in our commitment to ensure student success
Multi-user ebooks across all reading levels, both fiction & nonfiction
Instant Access! The use of these free eBooks will be available through 6/30/2020.

How To Access the FREE ebooks

If you would like to take advantage of this offer, simply click on the FREE eBooks link and enter the following credentials:

User Name: keepreading | Password: sebco | ID#: 1

Questions? Contact our office

800-223-3251 | sebco@sebcobooks.com

FREE eBooks

Complete ebook Collection

Build a robust distance learning collection! Sebco has over 60,000 multi-user ebooks, both fiction and nonfiction, across all reading levels. Adding more ebooks to your library collection will enable your learners to follow their prescribed curriculum while working from home. Check out our complete ebook collection today!

Why Sebco?

Virtually any title in print
Pre-K to Adult
Newest Fiction
Quality Nonfiction
Multi-user ebooks
Spanish!

Makerspace Products!
Collection Analysis
Professional Cataloging
97% Avg. Fill Rate
Exceptional Service

March 15, 2020

TumbleBooks, a world leader in online children’s book databases, announced today it will make its family of online libraries available for free to all public libraries until at least August 31.

Its flagship product, TumbleBooklibrary ( www.tumblebooklibrary.com<https://TumbleBooks.us14.list-manage.com/track/click?u=b9b5a287e83a7c8bee9265c2c&id=0f8e9af43c&e=409fccd02b>) is a collection of animated talking picture books, read-alongs, ebooks, quizzes, lesson plans, and educational games which is used by thousands of schools and public libraries in over 100 countries across the world.

It is inviting public libraries across North America to email info@tumblebooks.com<mailto:info@tumblebooks.com> with subject line Free TumbleBooks in order to recieve free links to all three TumbleBook databases so they can be shared and accessed by their patrons from the comfort and safety of their homes.

If you are a school or individual wishing to take advantage of this free access we urge you to contact your local public library. Tumblebooks is being made available to every public library.

President and CEO Ron Zevy issued this statement:

“During these difficult times we, like you, are only concerned with the safety and well being of our children. We put business concerns aside and work for the greater good of the community. We hope and pray our content can provide much needed entertainment, distraction, and education.”

TumbleBooks, based in Toronto, Canada owns and operates TumbleBookLibrary, TumbleMath, and TeenBookCloud.

For more information contact: Rz@tumblebooks.com<mailto:Rz@tumblebooks.com>

www.TumbleBookLibrary.com - K-6 children's ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.tumblebooklibrary.com/auto_login.aspx?U=tumble735&P=books
Username: tumble735
Password: books

www.TumbleMath.com - K-6 math ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.tumblemath.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

www.TeenBookCloud.com - gr 7-12 ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.teenbookcloud.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

www.AudioBookCloud.com - all ages audio book database
Direct Link: https://www.audiobookcloud.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

www.RomanceBookCloud.com - a huge collection of steamy Romance novels for the older crowd!
Direct Link: https://www.romancebookcloud.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

Info

Below are a collection of free resources that have been offered by various individuals and companies. Items included on this list do not constitute a recommendation by the Connecticut State Library. Please seek legal and/or professional advice whenever you deem it appropriate.

Additional Resources

Libraries

Library Journal: "Science-Based Reopening Plans in Everyday English"
Published May 28
CLC Clearinghouse of COVID-19 Resources
Resources from CLC vendors, partners, and others that will help you serve library users who are working and learning from home.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) and Massachusetts Libraries
Like this guide, but MORE
A Mini Clearinghouse on Coronavirus, Created by Two School Librarians, from SLJ
COVID-19 & Libraries Coverage, from Library Journal
Library-Related Special Event Cancellations and Changes Due to COVID-19 Concerns, from Library Journal

Webinars/Online Trainings

"Libraries and COVID-19: Managing Strategies and Stress" webinar from American Libraries
View recording from Friday, March 20. Also see the resources and links mentioned in the webinar. Please note: Due to a bug Cisco Webex is experiencing, you’ll see a message in the recording that says “content not available.” You can ignore that and push the “play” button arrow at the bottom and the screen and the content will still display.
"How to Combat COVID-19 Related Misinformation" webinar from EveryLibrary
View recording from Friday, March 20.
"Responding to COVID-19: A Science-Based Approach" webinars from APHA and NAM
From the American Public Health Association and the National Academy of Medicine, this webinar series is exploring the state of the science surrounding the current outbreak of COVID-19 in the United States and globally, with a focus on the emerging evidence on how to best mitigate its impact.
"Libraries and COVID-19: Providing Virtual Services" webinar from AL Live
View recording from Thursday, March 26. Also see the resources and links mentioned in the webinar. Please note: Due to a bug Cisco Webex is experiencing, you’ll see a message in the recording that says “content not available.” You can ignore that and push the “play” button arrow at the bottom and the screen and the content will still display.
"Public Libraries Respond to COVID-19: The Current Landscape" webinar from PLA
View recording from Thursday, March 26
"Libraries Stepping Up! Serving the Needs of Communities in Crisis" mini-conference from Library 2.0
View recordings from Thursday, March 26. Must be logged in as a member of Library 2.0 (free) to get access.
"Mitigating COVID-19 When Managing Paper-Based, Circulating, and Other Types of Collections" webinar from IMLS
View the recording from Monday, March 30. The materials and links mentioned in the webinar have been added to the IMLS coronavirus page under "Official Government Information and Resources."
"Public Libraries Respond to COVID-19: Successful Ways to Work Remotely" webinar from PLA
View the recording from Thursday, April 2.
"Public Libraries Respond to COVID-19: Managing Stress and Anxiety" webinar from PLA
View the recording from Thursday, April 9.
"Public Libraries Respond to COVID-19: Innovative Solutions in Times of Crisis" webinar from PLA
View the recording from April 16.

Connecticut

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the State of Connecticut
You can also call 2-1-1 or text “CTCOVID” to 898211
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information from Yale New Haven Health
Yale New Haven Health has opened a call center for those concerned about COVID-19. The number is 833-275-9644. For more information, click the link.
Coronavirus COVID-19 Information from Hartford HealthCare
Hartford HealthCare has set up a COVID-19 Clinical Command hotline staffed with professionals To reach the 24-hour hotline, call 860-972-8100 or (toll-free) 833-621-0600. For more information, click the link.
Coronavirus closings and cancellations in CT, from CT Post
Connecticut Law About Quarantine, from the CT Judicial Branch Law Libraries

Other resources

Credits

This project is funded by the State of Connecticut and the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Connecticut State Library.