Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) is a service of the University of Connecticut Libraries, developed in collaboration with the Connecticut State Library. The focus is to provide digital preservation services to Connecticut based non-profit cultural and memory organizations, including libraries, archives, galleries and museums. The CTDA launched in 2013 with one collection from the University of Connecticut's Archives and Special Collections. Now there are digital assets in the CTDA from libraries, art galleries, museums, and historical societies, making the CTDA the largest aggregator and preserver of digital cultural heritage in Connecticut. Digital assets from Connecticut History Illustrated are also included in this collection.
Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections materials come from the Connecticut State Library, and the State Archives, and include court documents, law and legal materials, photographs of buildings and structures, farms, roads and bridges, and more. The documents and photographs are representative of the history and genealogy of Connecticut, and the business of state government and range from 1631 to the present day.
Newspapers of Connecticut is a sample collection of historical newspaper titles originally covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut. Included in this collection is the Connecticut War Record from 1863-1865. This collection now also includes a selection of local newspapers from around Connecticut from the 19th and 20th centuries. This collection is included in the Connecticut Digital Archive.
Treasures of Connecticut Libraries was a joint project of the Connecticut State Library and the Library Connection Inc. network. The collection includes approximately 1800 items from Connecticut libraries and their partnering institutions. Items include Civil War letters, historical photographs, postcards, pamphlets, films and more.
Archive-It captures state agency websites as they appear over time. Most agency websites are captured monthly.
We have a collection of subscription and freely available databases and indexes.
Please see the legend of icons on the A-Z page for remote access availability and requirements. For subscription databases with remote access as part of CSL license, you must start on the A-Z page and have a card from the CT State Library.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.