Skip to main content

Digital Literacy: Webinars: Social Media for Libraries

Social Media

The Merriam Webster Dictionary defines social media as “forms of electronic communication (such as websites for social networking and microblogging) through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages, and other content (such as videos).” ALA's Social Media Guidelines says that libraries "participate in social media for many reasons but primarily to communicate information about library services and resources, and to engage with their communities. Social media sites may have their own terms of service, privacy, acceptable behavior, and stated consequences for violating those terms of service. Users can post their own content or respond to what has already been posted."

Worth noting are the following: 

This page primarily contains a list of free, archived webinars on the topic of social media for libraries. This page also contains a set of links to the Goodwill Community Foundation's self-paced tutorials on specific social media platforms. On the right-hand side of the page,  you'll see a list of books available for loan from the Middletown Library Service Center. 

Free Archived Webinars: Social Media for Libraries

This list below links to free, archived webinars on the topic of social media for libraries. 

(Note: Some recordings are made available only for a limited time. If there is something on the list below you wish to watch, you are best off viewing it sooner rather than later.)

Title Presenter(s)

Date Recorded
(Most recent first)

Host/Sponsor of Webinar Other info
Picture This: Using Instagram to Connect With and Engage Your Users Meghan Kowalski Jun 2019 Georgia Libraries

Slides
Handout 1
Handout 2

Using Reddit and NextDoor to Engage with Your Library's Local Community Jason Massey

Lauren Dodd
Mar 2019 Texas State Library & Archives 1 hour, 1 minute
Requires name and e-mail address to view
Using Social Media as a Tool to Advocate Diversity and Inclusion

Kimberly Crowder

Feb 2019 Infopeople

1 hour
Requires name, e-mail address, and library name to view

How to Drive Social Media Engagement with Nonprofit Storytelling Julia Campbell Feb 2019 TechSoup 58 minutes
Using Facebook and Email to Build Support Patrick "PC" Sweeney Apr 2018 Florida Library Webinars 58 minutes
Social Media Goals for 2018 (Library Link Up)

Taylor Shutt

Cierra Earl

Charlotte Blakeman,
Carrie Green,
Kelly Little

Leah Rudder, Kevin Bowman

Jan 2018 Kentucky Dept. for Libraries and Archives

1 hour
Requires AdobeConnect

"You'll lean how to
- create a fun and inspiring Facebook Live page,
- incorporate Periscope into your posting routine, and
- use YouTube to start a community oral history project."

Going Deeper with Social Media Lisa Bunker

Cesar Garza
Dec 2017 TechSoup 1 hour, 21 minutes
Social Media Analytics: What to Measure and Why Molly Bacon

Cherise Mead
Nov 2017 TechSoup 1 hour, 25 minutes
Social Media for Small Libraries William Ottens Nov 2017 Florida Library Webinars 40 minutes
Getting Started with Social Media for Your Library: Tips for Beginners Jess Bacon

Amy Hitchner
Oct 2017 TechSoup 1 hour, 22 minutes
Analyze This: Using Web and Social Media Statistics Veroincs Potenza

Morgan Taylor
Aug 2017 BCCLS 28 minutes
Requires AdobeConnect
Instagram for Public Libraries: Good Practices for Social Media Ray DeLara

Amanda Zuccarelli
Apr 2016 TechSoup 59 minutes
Visual Content: Level Up Your Social Media Laura Solomon March 2016 Infopeople 1 hour
Requires name, e-mail address, and library name to view
Pinterest for Libraries: Building Community Through Social Media Lauren Drittler Oct 2015 TechSoup 59 minutes
Marketing with YouTube Videos (Library Link Up)

Mike Blum

Liza Turner

Kevin Bowman

October 2015 Kentucky Dept. for Libraries and Archives 1 hour, 10 minutes
Requires AdobeConnect
Your Digital Footprint: Managing Your Online Identity Denise Harders Sept 2015 NCompass Live 57 minutes
Using Twitter for Professional Development Opportunities Francisca Goldsmith May 2014 InfoPeople 1 hour
Requires name, e-mail address, and library name to view
Writing a Social Media Policy for Your Library Laura Solomon Apr 2014 Infopeople 1 hour
Requires name, e-mail address, and library name to view
Fine-tuning Facebook for Libraries Laura Solomon July 2012 InfoPeople 1 hour
Requires name, e-mail address, and library name to view

Social Media for Libraries: Tutorials from GCF

The following are self-paced 'social media' tutorials from the Goodwill Community Foundation (GCF):

Articles and eBooks from OneSearch via researchIT

Use the search box below to search for articles and eBooks on "social media for libraries" in OneSearch via researchIT CT. If you are outside of the library, OneSearch will ask for your Connecticut public library barcode number. 

For Public Libraries
 

Books on Social Media from MLSC's Professional Collection

The following is a sampling of books that are available from the Middletown Library Service Center's Professional Collection. 

Interested in borrowing one of these titles? Contact Judy Crooks at the Middletown Library Service Center, judy.crooks@ct.gov or 860-704-2200. 

Page Provided by DLD

This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us

CT State Library: Preserving the Past. Informing the Future. Logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.