Skip to main content

Division of Library Development: Home

COVID-19 Updates

All State Library buildings, including the Middletown Library Service Center, will be closed to the public and library patrons until further notice.

Public Health Related Issues Pertaining to Public Libraries:

The governance and organizational structure of public libraries in CT impacts how libraries should seek guidance. Public libraries should defer to local authorities on issues of public health emergencies. Libraries can also seek authoritative guidance from CT Department of Public Health, UCONN Health and ultimately the CDC.

Here is an article just published from American Libraries on how best to handle and sanitize collections.

 https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/blogs/the-scoop/how-to-sanitize-collections-covid-19/

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources

State of Connecticut COVID-19 Information:

https://portal.ct.gov/coronavirus

CDC Interim Guidance on Cleaning and Disinfecting:

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/cleaning-disinfection.html

In addition to the HHS Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Coronavirus (COVID-19) website, the following resources can help provide information and guidance on COVID-19:

 

DLD Guides

"Because DLD Values Your LIbrary as an Essential Service in Your Community" Libraries Transform

Contact DLD - Online Form

DLD Staff Directory

DLD Staff


Dawn La Valle
Division Director
860-757-6665
Fax: 860-757-6503
Dawn.lavalle@ct.gov


Lynette Baisden
Administrative Assistant
Division of Library Development
860-757-6665
Fax: 860-757-6503
Lynette.Baisden@ct.gov

Maria Bernier
Statewide Data Coordinator
860-704-2204
Maria.Bernier@ct.gov

Brad Bullis
Digital Content and Innovation Coordinator
860-704-2206
Bradley.Bullis@ct.gov

Grace Burchard
Library Technical Assistant
860-704-2212
Grace.Burchard@ct.gov

Steve Cauffman
requestIT CT Coordinator
860-704-2223
Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov

Judy Crooks
Circulation / ILL
860-704-2205
Judy.Crooks@ct.gov

Christine Gauvreau
LSTA & E-rate Coordinator
860-704-2224
Christine.Gauvreau@ct.gov

Gail Hurley
Library Development Consultant
860-704-2222
Gail.Hurley@ct.gov

Kymberlee Powe
Children's/YA Consultant
860-704-2207
Kymberlee.Powe@ct.gov

Melvin Resto
Supervisor of Transportation Operations
860-566-1100 x306
Melvin.Resto@ct.gov 

Diane Stielau
Library Aide
860-704-2208
Diane.Stielau@ct.gov

The Division of Library Development (DLD) provides leadership, funding, education, and statewide services that enhance a local library's ability to deliver high-quality library service to their community.

EXCITE program logo

Service Center Collections

Search Primo

Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, kits, puppets and more! On the search results page, narrow your search to MLSC or large print items at LBPH.

Reserve Discussion Sets and Equipment
You can now reserve book sets, book props, STEM kits, and musical instrument kits yourself!

Not sure how to use Primo. Follow the directions below.

Hours and Locations

Middletown Library Service Center
786 South Main St.
Middletown, CT 06457
860-704-2200, 800-437-2313 (toll free in CT)
researchIT CT: 860-704-2224

Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
860-757-6665

Facebook icon      Twitter icon      Pinterest Icon      Instagram logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.