Skip to Main Content

Collection Management

Learn to manage you library collection, everything from acquisitions to weeding.

From Diversity to Inclusion: How to audit your collection and why

Hyperlink to Niche Academy Blog. From Diversity to Inclusion: How to audit your collection and why.

From Diversity to Inclusion: How to Audit Your Collection and Why resources

WHERE IS THE DIVERSITY IN PUBLISHING? THE 2019 DIVERSITY BASELINE SURVEY RESULTS
Reflection Press Infographic
Black Girl in a Big Dress Episode 5: The Interview
Don’t Just Read About Racism—Read Stories About Black People Living
Nic Stone, author of the best-selling young adult novel Dear Martin, explains why your anti-racist reading lists aren’t enough.
Nic Stone Instagram
Nic Stone has multiple IGTV interviews with authors we know and love about such as "Let's Talk About Race" and "Decolonize Your Classroom."
Brookings Institute: Less than half of US children under 15 are white, census shows
DEI Audit Report Hopkins School

Diversity Audits

Classroom Library Questionnaire
Developed by Lee & Low, this tool is designed to help educators find out how culturally responsive and diverse their classroom library collections are.
A Diversity Audit on our Toys, Books and Materials
Doing a YA Collection Diversity Audit: Understanding Your Local Community (Part 1)
Doing a YA Collection Diversity Audit: The How To (Part 2)
Doing a YA Collection Diversity Audit: Resources and Sources (Part 3)
Diversity Considerations in YA: Doing a Diversity Audit
Outline and sources from the Teen Librarian Toolbox series on collection diversity audits.
Diversity Audit: A Practical Guide
Diversity Audit 2 – Sci-Fi
Diversity Audit 3 – Mystery & Horror Genre
Library Collection Shelf Audit for Diversity & Inclusion
chool librarian Julie Stivers developed this simple tool to help librarians determine how diverse and inclusive their book collections are.

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.