The following books are available from the Middletown Library Service Center's (MLSC's) Professional Collection.
Interested in borrowing one of these titles? Contact the Middletown Library Service Center, 860-704-2200.
Augmented and Virtual Reality in Libraries by
Augmented and Virtual Reality in Libraries is written for librarians, by librarians: understanding that diverse communities use libraries, museums, and archives for a variety of different reasons. Many current books on this topic have a very technological focus on augmentation and are aimed towards computer programmers with advanced technology skills. This book makes augmented reality, virtual reality, and mixed reality applications much more accessible to professionals without extensive technology backgrounds. This innovative title touches on possible implementation, projects, and assessment needs for both academic and public libraries, museums, and archives.
Defying Reality by
No longer just a mainstay of science fiction, VR has seen recent success with companies such as Oculus, Sony, and HTC. But little is known about its history, which reaches back decades. Ewalt chronicles its origins in Cold War military laboratories, and traces it through decades of hype and failed products, to a teenage gamer whose advancements made the recent breakthroughs in VR possible. Writing for a mainstream audience as well as technology enthusiasts, Ewalt offers a unique perspective on how VR got here, where it's going, and how and why it will change the way we live.
Learning Transported by
Teachers nationwide are adopting immersive technology -- devices and software that provide augmented, virtual and mixed reality experiences -- to enable students to go on virtual field trips, manipulate 3D objects and augment the world around them. Immersive technology resources can be far less costly than many believe, but there are issues school districts should resolve before making purchases and implementing this technology. Learning Transported provides practical insights and classroom examples to help educators plan and establish goals so that their investment in immersive technology benefits the greatest number of students. Topics covered include definitions and examples of augmented, virtual and mixed reality; comparison of devices and platforms, and tips for selecting the best one; lesson plans mapped to standards and content areas and ideas for using immersive technology tools in the classroom.Immersive technology has great potential to transform learning and create engaging experiences for students. Before bringing it to the classroom, educators must consider the most important factors: that the instruction addresses student outcomes and standards, and that the mechanism for delivering this learning (no matter the device) is safe, affordable and suitable for the situation.
Teaching and Learning in Virtual Environments: Archives, Museums, and Libraries by
Useful to school librarians, teachers, and faculty, this book explains the range of possibilities for creating immersive learning experiences through the use of virtual worlds, virtual simulations, virtual collections, exhibits by libraries and museums, and archives. * Explains how using virtual worlds in teaching and outreach can better motivate, engage, and reach more students with diverse learning styles than traditional text-based methods * Updated with information on the latest technology and newest library applications * Enables readers to make more informed decisions about which latest virtual reality platforms to use
Virtual and Augmented Reality by
An easy-to-understand primer on Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) are driving the next technological revolution. If you want to get in on the action, this book helps you understand what these technologies are, their history, how they're being used, and how they'll affect consumers both personally and professionally in the very near future. With VR and AR poised to become mainstream within the next few years, an accessible book to bring users up to speed on the subject is sorely needed--and that's where this handy reference comes in! Rather than focusing on a specific piece of hardware (HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, iOS ARKit) or software (Unity, Unreal Engine), Virtual & Augmented Reality For Dummies offers a broad look at both VR and AR, giving you a bird's eye view of what you can expect as they continue to take the world by storm. * Keeps you up-to-date on the pulse of this fast-changing technology * Explores the many ways AR/VR are being used in fields such as healthcare, education, and entertainment * Includes interviews with designers, developers, and technologists currently working in the fields of VR and AR Perfect for both potential content creators and content consumers, this book will change the way you approach and contribute to these emerging technologies.
Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality by
Virtual and Augmented Reality have existed for a long time but were stuck to the research world or to some large manufacturing companies. With the appearance of low-cost devices, it is expected a number of new applications, including for the general audience. This book aims at making a statement about those novelties as well as distinguishing them from the complexes challenges they raise by proposing real use cases, replacing those recent evolutions through the VR/AR dynamic and by providing some perspective for the years to come.
ACADEMIC
Implementing Augmented Reality in Academic Libraries
Augmented Reality in the Library - Gaming Welcome Week
Augmented Reality: Practical Applications for Libraries
PUBLIC
Libraries Can Use New Visualization Technology to Engage Readers
Virtual Reality in the Library: Creating a New Experience
Oculus Virtual Reality Tech Rolls Out in California Libraries
Virtual Reality at Evergreen Branch Library and Teen HQ
SCHOOL
Virtually There: Kids Are Using VR to Explore Worlds and Create New Ones
SPECIAL
Facing Reality: The Growth of Virtual Reality and Health Sciences Libraries
Apps for AR
8 Best augmented reality SDK for AR development for iOS and Android in 2018
Apps for Google Cardboard
25 Best Google Cardboard Apps for iOS and Android in 2018
Note: This is not a recommendation by the CT State Library
Kathy Schrock’s Guide to Everything: Augmented, Virtual, and Mixed Reality in the Classroom: http://www.schrockguide.net/augmented-reality.html
CLASSVR http://www.classvr.com/
Google Expeditions https://edu.google.com/expeditions/#about
Note: This list is not a recommendation by the CT State Library
Google Cardboard https://vr.google.com/cardboard/
HoloLens https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/hololens
Oculus https://www.oculus.com/
Samsung VR https://samsungvr.com/
Note: This list is not a recommendation by the CT State Library
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
