Review Journals & Websites
- ALAN Review -Published 3 times yearly, in fall, winter & spring. Hardcopy with ALAN membership.
- Booklist* - Published twice monthly by ALA. Only one issue in July and August, by ALA. Hardcopy subscription $. Online subscription varies (e.g. $350 for 1 school building). Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books* - Published monthly by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Print subscription $55 per year. Online subscription $55 per year.
- Flamingnet Book Reviews -
- Horn Book* - Published bi-monthly. Subscription price $49 per year. Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- Horn Book Guide* - Hardcopy published twice per year, subscription price $49. Online version (login) claims "more than 75,000 reviews published between 1989 and 2008." One week subscription $7.00. Libraries $150-$300 per year. Guide lists six months of titles, rating them from 1 (best) to 6 (worst). Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards.
- Kirkus Reviews - Published bi-weekly. $450 per year for print and online subscription. Some free reviews. Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- Kliatt* (ceased publication as of November - merged into CLCD). Indexed in iCONN.
- Publisher's Weekly - Published bi-weekly. $249 per year. Online version available. Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- Reading Rants - Review blog by Manhattan middle school librarian, Jennifer Hubert.
- School Library Connection - Published bi-monthly. Print and Online, $89 per year, per site.
- School Library Journal* - Published monthly. 15 issues for $136.99. Online subscription available. Best lists published in December. Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- Science Books & Films* - Yearly Best Lists.
- Teacher Librarian* - Published 5 times a year. $62 per year. Indexed in iCONN and EBSCO.
- Teenreads.com - "Part of The Book Report Network, a group of websites founded in 1996 that share thoughtful book reviews," etc.
- VOYA* (Voice of Youth Advocates) - Published every other month. $62 per year. Focuses on articles and book reviews for teen services.
Collections of reviews:
- Follett TitleWave - (school library staff access) Includes reviews from: Booklist, Horn Book, Horn Book Guide, Kirkus, Library Media Connection, Publisher's Weekly, School Library Journal. Citations only for: The Bulletin, Kliatt, VOYA. Reading level information available. Many other features available.
- Barnes & Noble - (anyone can access) Includes reviews from: Booklist, Children's Literature, Kirkus, Kliatt, Publisher's Weekly, School Library Journal, VOYA.
- Amazon - (anyone can access) Includes reviews from Audiofile, Booklist, Kirkus, Kliatt, Publisher's Weekly, School Library Journal.
- ResearchIT CT - (anyone with a CT library card can access) Includes reviews from: Booklist, Horn Book Magazine, Kirkus, Kliatt, Publisher's Weekly, and School Library Journal.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) - Huge database of reviews. Subscription $295+ depending on library size.
School Association Booklists:
Professional Association Booklists:
- Click on the "new books" tab for each publisher to find out what's forthcoming.
Sites That Announce New and Forthcoming Books:
TEEN COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT Collection Development Policies for the Teen Collection:
Teen Collection Development:
Lists for Teen Collections:
ACQUISITIONS from the Arizona State Library Vendors
GIFTS AND DONATIONS from the Arizona State Library
WEEDING from the Arizona State Library
PRESERVATION from the Arizona State Library
INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM AND CENSORSHIP from theArizona State Library
COLLECTION ASSESSMENT & MAPPING from the Arizona State Library Resources
COMMUNITY NEEDS ASSESSMENT from the Arizona State Library
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICIES from the Arizona State Library
MARKETING from the Ohio Library Council