Skip to Main Content

Locating Connecticut Legislative History: Home

About this Research Guide

The official record of legislative history in Connecticut is comprised of House and Senate proceedings as well as Committee hearing transcripts.  Other helpful material associated with a bill's advancement through the legislative process are bill files and occasionally documents and reports issued by various State agencies.  The State Library has physical bill files dating from 1911-2021. Select previous years and 2022-present are available digitally

Contact Us

Law Reading Room

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Legislative History Transcripts Available at CSL

 

  • Complete House and Senate transcripts in our print collection begin in 1953. Public hearings extend further back to 1899 but some pre-1953 committees are unavailable.
     
  • Our Digital Collection contains transcript volumes of select earlier years as well as 2008-present.
     
  • All legislative history transcripts in both our print and digital collections can be legally cited and certified.
     
  • Note: In 2018, only House, Senate, & several committee hearings were transcribed. Compiled histories marked with “not transcribed” means nothing is available.  Questions regarding this situation should contact Legislative Management at (860) 240 0100.
     

Locating Compiled Legislative Histories at CSL

 

  1. *Search our compiled histories by act number* (In addition to previously ordered histories, 2008-present is completely available)
    ​​​​​​​
  2. If you don’t find it in our database, please contact us via email, phone or chat to place your order. Or visit us in person. This gives you the advantage of reading through material and determining what you really need. Please see our policy on scanning/photocopying.

Special Legislative Histories at CSL

Connecticut Constitutional Amendment Legislative Histories
Landmark Legislative Histories

Separately prepared volumes contain compiled legislative histories on select landmark Connecticut legislation.  In addition to the complete official transcripts, these volumes include:

  • Act summaries
  • Glossary of terms
  • Relevant supporting material from the Permanent Bill File Archive and the State Documents Collection.
Digital versions currently available:

Legislative History Available Outside CSL

 

  • The State Library and Judicial Branch Law Libraries have legislative history transcripts from 1980-2010 on microfiche.
    ​​​​​​​
  • The Connecticut General Assembly search page offers full-text transcripts of House and Senate proceedings and Committee public hearings from 1988 to the present. The Connecticut Judicial Branch has a step-by-step tutorial on how to effectively access them.  *Please note that these documents are not paginated, indexed, and may not include submitted testimony.  Submitted testimony for the public hearings is not available prior to 1999. 

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.