Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Day

Suggested resources based on topics sent to us.

World War II (WWII)

World War II (WWII)

See also: the page for Demographic Groups in the Military section; Genocide under Civil & Human Rights page; and History Day Previous Topics guide.

Archives at CSL

Archives at the Connecticut State Library (CSL)

Connecticut Digital Archive

Books, Documents, etc.

Books, Documents, etc.

This is only a very small sample of resources. See specific topics too.

Many of the federal documents highlighted by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) may be available at the Connecticut State Library or other FDLP libraries.

Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Other Libraries

These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library may have many of the federal documents listed on these guides. Most likely you will not have access to most of the subscription databases listed. A library card from the Connecticut State Library (CSL) is required to access our subscription databases that offer remote access through our use license.

There may be useful links to freely accessible web information.

Connecticut State Defense Council

Connecticut State Defense Council

Active in WWI mostly.

Office of War Information (OWI)

Office of War Information (OWI)

Created by President Franklin D. Roosevelt for World War II (WWII) on June 13, 1942 by Executive Order 9182 and in existence until 1945. It consolidated several government organizations into one. Journalist Elmer Davis was tapped to head the OWI. Like the Committee on Public Information (CPI), the OWI had both foreign and domestic divisions. OWI established Voice of America (VOA) and the Bureau of Motion Pictures (BMP) worked with Hollywood film makers.

Other Institutions

Submarines - WWII

Submarines - WWII

Scientific Advances - WWII

Scientific Advances - WWII

Many scientific advances came out of WWII. Some projects are better known than others, such as the Manhattan Project or Bat Bombs.

Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor - WWII

These are just some of the resources available. Also search our catalog and databases.

Books, Documents, etc.

The library has extensive resources, search our library catalog.

Other Institutions

Other Libraries

These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library (CSL) may have the U.S. Government Documents listed, but most likely would not have access to subscription databases listed. Other libraries in your area may, or may not, have access to subscription databases. A CSL library card is required for remotes access to our subscription databases.

Japanese American Internment

Japanese American Internment

See archived research guides.

  • United States v Korematsu (The Japanese-American Exclusion Case)

African Americans in WWII

African Americans in WWII

See other sections of this guide as well. These are only a few examples of resources available.

Women - WWII

Women - WWII

See the section of this guide on Women in the Military.

Books, Documents, etc.

Government Communications/Propaganda

Government Communications/Propaganda

Kindertransport - Jewish Children and Germany

Books, Documents, etc.

Online only

For items in subscription databases, a card for the Connecticut State Library is required.

Suggested Items

First is a link to the entire database. Then there is a link to specific items, if that is possible. You will need to enter your CSL library card to access these online. Most congressional documents are available in the library and at other FDLP libraries near you. Contact us for help.

Other Institutions

German Medical Experiments (Holocaust)

Books, Documents, etc.

These are only a few suggestions. It is always recommended to search our library catalog.

Search Terms

These are only a few suggested search terms that might help you find information in our library catalog.

Medical ethics
Medicine, Experimental -- Law and legislation
Human experimentation in medicine
Human experimentation in medicine -- Moral and ethical aspects
Human experimentation in medicine -- Social aspects
Social control

Articles

These are only a few suggested sources. It is always recommended that you search our library catalog and databases.

Other Institutions