Skip to main content

New Connecticut Librarians: Finding Things

A place to start for librarians who are new to working in Connecticut

Whom Do You Call?

DLD Staff Directory by Subject

Children's Services * Young Adult Services
Kymberlee Powe, Kymberlee.Powe@ct.gov
860-704-2207

Construction Grants * Public Library Statistics * State Aid * borrowIT CT
Maria Bernier, Maria.Bernier@ct.gov
860-704-2204
Construction Grants awarded prior to 2019: Dawn La Valle, Dawn.Lavalle@ct.gov
860-757-6665

deliverIT CT (Ccar)
Daily Operations: Melvin Resto, Melvin.Resto@ct.gov
860-566-1100 x306
Program Administration: Dawn La Valle, Dawn.lavalle@ct.gov
860-757-6665

LSTA Grant Program * E-Rate
Christine Gauvreau, Christine.Gauvreau@ct.gov
860-704-2224

Middletown Library Service Center
800-437-2313 in CT or 860-704-2200

Policy Development * Professional Materials
Dawn La Valle, Dawn.lavalle@ct.gov
860-757-6665

Professional Development and Continuing Education
Gail Hurley, Gail.hurley@ct.gov
800-437-2313 in CT or 860-704-2222

researchIT CT (iCONN) - Electronic Resources
Brad Bullis, Bradley.Bullis@ct.gov
800-437-2313 in CT or 860-704-2206

Statewide Library Catalog and Cataloging
Gail Hurley, Gail.Hurley@ct.gov
800-437-2313 in CT or 860-704-2222

Statewide Library Catalog Interlibrary Loan
Steve Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov
800-437-2313 in CT or 860-704-2223

Trustees & Friends of the Library
Dawn La Valle, Dawn.lavalle@ct.gov
860-757-6665

Find Stuff

The shared statewide catalog is called findIT CT. Not all libraries are included in the catalog, but any library CAN be included. Also, any library will be able to borrow items through requestIT CT. Take a look at this page of information for ILL staff.

The Middletown Library Service center houses a collection of children's and YA books, professional literature, storytime kits, puppets, and much more!

The collection of Large Print books for children, YA, and adults is located at the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped in Rocky Hill.

The Service Center houses a large collection of professional development books, which you can borrow for 90 days. Search Primo to find them.

This collection includes:

  • Neal-Schuman "How-To" series for librarians
  • Most ALA Publications
  • All the Wilson Core Collections
  • Other titles relevant to the library profession

Many databases and periodicals are freely available to Connecticut libraries and patrons through researchIT CT. This is where you find Consumer Reports, Hartford Courant, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and many other resources.

Email Lists

ACLB-Trustee Talk – Association of Connecticut Library Boards

To subscribe to this list:
Complete the form at: http://mylist.net/listinfo/aclb-trusteetalk and hit Subscribe.

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Dawn La Valle, at Dawn.Lavalle@ct.gov.


ALAWON - American Library Association Washington Office Newsletter

To subscribe to the list:
Complete the form at http://ala.informz.net/ala/pages/ALAWON, and click Subscribe.


CASL-L - Connecticut Association of School Librarians

Send an email to:
casl-l-join@mylist.net
Leave the subject blank
Do not include a signature
Type in the message:
Subscribe CASL-L yourfirstname yourlastname

For current subscribers to the list:
Post messages to: casl-l@mylist.net


CONNTECH - Connecticut Libraries

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl-conntech
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 
 
If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Stephen Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov


CT-AcademicILL - Interlibrary Loan for Academic Libraries in Connecticut

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl-academicill
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 
 
If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Stephen Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov


CT-ILL - Connecticut Interlibrary Loan list 

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl-ct-ill
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 
 
If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Stephen Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov


deliverIT CT - Connecticut statewide library delivery

This is an announcement-only list that we use to send updates about the delivery service. To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl_deliverlit
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Stephen Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov


eGO CT - Connecticut statewide eAudio and eBook project

This is a discussion list that we use to send updates about eGO the statewide library eAudio and eBook project. To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl-egoct
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Brad Bullis, bradley.bullis@ct.gov


FOCL-Forum - Friends of Connecticut Libraries

To subscribe to this list:
Complete the form at http://mylist.net/listinfo/focl-forum and hit Subscribe

For current subscribers to the list:
Post messages to: FOCL-Forum@mylist.net

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Dawn La Valle, at Dawn.Lavalle@ct.gov.


GOODNIGHTMOON - Connecticut State Library

To subscribe to this list:
Complete the form at http://mylist.net/listinfo/goodnightmoon and hit Subscribe

For current subscribers to the list:
Post messages to: goodnightmoon@mylist.net

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Kymberlee Powe, kymberlee.powe@ct.gov


researchIT CT – (formerly iCONN): Free Online Resources

To subscribe to this list, send an e-mail to listserv@list.ct.gov, with this text in the body of your message:
subscribe CSL-ICONN
You will receive an automated message to confirm your subscription request.

If you have any questions or comments, e-mail the list administrator, Stephen Cauffman, stephen.cauffman@ct.gov. This list is for outgoing announcements only.


SOAR – Services to Older Adults Roundtable

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl_soar
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Maria Bernier at maria.bernier@ct.gov.

SPEAK – Young Adult Services

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl_speak
in the body of the message, and send the message. You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Kymberlee Powe, kymberlee.powe@ct.gov


WELCOME - discussion of library services to multilingual populations

To subscribe to this list, send an email message to listserv@list.ct.gov, leave the subject line blank, type
subscribe csl-welcome
in the body of the message, and send the message. 
You will receive a subscription confirmation message when the list owner subscribes you to the list. 

If you have any questions or comments, please e-mail the list manager, Stephen Cauffman, Stephen.Cauffman@ct.gov.

Page Provided by DLD

This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us

CT State Library: Preserving the Past. Informing the Future. Logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.