Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources in Spanish
Alzheimer’s Association in Spanish
The Alzheimer's Association is a voluntary health organization that supports Alzheimer's care, support, and research.
American Cancer Society in Spanish
The American Cancer Society website has information on types of cancer and treatment as well as other information that may be helpful for patients and families. There are listings of support programs and services as well as resources to lower cancer risk.
Arthritis Foundation in Spanish
The Arthritis Foundation website offers information and resources on the various types of arthritis in Spanish.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) in Spanish
This website contains reliable and up-to-date information from the CDC in areas such as diseases and conditions, environmental health, travelers' health and much more.
Healthfinder in Spanish
Managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website contains consumer health information and tools including how to find nearby health services.
Kidshealth in Spanish
From the Nemours Foundation, this health information website, with sections for children, teens, parents and educators, focuses on physical, behavioral and emotional issues that affect children and teens.
Lung Association in Spanish
The American Lung Association website contains information on resources available through the Lung Association to improve lung health and prevent lung disease through education, advocacy, and research.
MedlinePlus in Spanish
From the National Institutes of Health, and produced by the National Library of Medicine, this consumer website contains authoritative and up-to-date information on wellness, diseases and conditions.
Mouth Healthy in Spanish
Created by the American Dental Association, this consumer website contains information for about a healthy mouth and teeth throughout the lifespan.
National Diabetes Clearinghouse in Spanish
This site, from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), contains links to diabetes information and publications including easy-to-read booklets.
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institutes in Spanish
Part of the National Institutes of Health, the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute's webiste has resources for the public, and health professionals as well as information on funding, research, training, and careers.
National Institutes of Cancer in Spanish
The National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health, is the Federal Government's primary agency for cancer research and training. In addition to responsibility for the national network of cancer centers, it also disseminates information about cancer.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research in Spanish
Part of the National Institutes of Health, the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research website contains health information on research, training, funding opportunities and educational resources.
Resources in Multiple Languages
Provides information in several languages on the Affordable Care Act and the health insurance marketplace.
MedlinePlus in Other Languages
From the National Institutes of Health, and produced by the National Library of Medicine, this consumer website contains authoritative and up-to-date information on wellness, diseases and conditions. There are links to more than 45 languages.
Consumer Health Information in Multiple Languages
A list of many resources in several different languages, maintained by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine
ECHO (Emergency and Community Health Outreach)
Provides life-saving health and safety information in multiple languages.
SPIRAL (Selected Patient Information in Asian Languages)
Provides information in Cambodian, Chinese, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese
Health Information Translations
Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.
Multilingual Health Information
Information in many world languages.
Health information in many languages, from the US National Library of Medicine.
Culture, Health and Literacy
Most of these materials are intended for health care practitioners working with patients with limited English literacy skills, or adult literacy practitioners.
The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
American Heart Association provides some fact sheets in
Resources in Plain English
What Did My Doctor Say? This resource from the Medical Library Association provides glossaries of medical terms translated to plain language, with low literacy versions too.
Plain Language Thesaurus [PDF]
This list of medical terms allows you to find easy-to-understand alternatives to words that patients might not comprehend.
Page Provided by DLD
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478